We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterfront view and food!”

Matanzas on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specializing in fresh local seafood, choice Angus steaks, Seed to Table produce and Dave's famous Dockside Pizza, we are Southwest Florida's best waterfront restaurant. Live music and Happy Hour daily!
Ft myers
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great waterfront view and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Went for Anniversary dinner, had a perfect table with a view of the water, the key lime colada's are definitely my favorite! The calamari was excellent, stuffed grouper was amazing, hubby had the blue cheese crusted sirloin, so flavorful and delicious! The service and ambiance were fabulous. Definitely will go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilKerinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your Anniversary! Great to know you enjoyed your visit, I personally love the stuffed sirloin too. Also, thank you for taking the time to share you comments. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    303
    79
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is for the restaurant. Ate here on recommendation of friends. Had their "Killer" Grouper sandwich. Better at Palm Pavillion in Clearwater or BEST at The Hurricane in Pass-a-Grille. Good enough for a one time visit to check it out. Will not go back.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jslingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments and coming to Matanzas on the Bay. In a constant attempt to improve our restaurant, I am curious to what makes the Grouper sandwiches better at these locations. Please write me at Glen@matanzasinn.com. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
473 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Just Average at Best, Maybe a Little below Average but not Poor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Six of us went out to eat on our weekly night out together. We try a different restaurant each week, but this will be our only try at this restaurant as we will not return, or at lest I will not return. First the building was very warm, we saw the thermostat and it registered 85 when we got there, 83 when we left. We were told it was warm in there because of all the windows, problem was not the windows, it was the unit, the filter looked like it needed a change from what I could see. Going to the Food part, the food was not served hot, just luke warm like the temperature of the restaurant. The Grouper sandwich was ok, but not worth the $16.99 they charged. My wife had scallops, fair portion but they were not hot when served. My good friend had Salmon, it said it was just ok!! I think there are a lot better choices in the area to depart with our monies so we will not return, even if they fix the A/C. The waiter was fine, he did a great job waiting on us, that was the highlight of the evening. Service was great, food ws a very low average at best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WPEVLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
I am sorry that you were not totally satisfied with your experience with us. In the process of continuous improvement your comments will be taken into consideration, thank you for taking the time to share. We exclusively source local Grouper for our sandwich (a vast majority of local restaurants do not) which justifies our price. I would like to give kudos to your server, perhaps you could pass along his name to me. Glen@matanzasinn.com. Thank you for your time. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
178 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best Conch Chowder in my opinion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This restaurant is newly renovated with very nice seating inside and out on the water. The food (except for the conch chowder) is just average and the prices have been bumped up. Must be to pay for the renovations, I think too high for the quality.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for your note on our Conch Chowder, Chef Dave has been making this soup for years with minced conch, local bell peppers and a kick of spice. While our prices have increased over the last few years it is only a reflection of rising costs to us. We will only buy and serve local Grouper and Shrimp which are staples on our menu and this puts us at the mercy of local market conditions. Please write me at Glen@matanzasinn.com. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Top of my list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveled to FMB and was recommended to try Matanzas restaurant. We were glad we did. The spinach salad with strawberries was by far the best ever. The fish platter was good very fresh. I ordered blackened which was a little too spicy on the scallops. If you like spicy you will like it, the flavor is good. Service was excellent and location very nice. Worth a try

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lindat131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are ecstatic that we are at the top of your list! Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matanzas on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing