We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view”

Matanzas on the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Specializing in fresh local seafood, choice Angus steaks, Seed to Table produce and Dave's famous Dockside Pizza, we are Southwest Florida's best waterfront restaurant. Live music and Happy Hour daily!
1 review
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was very nice. We were seated at a table looking directly on the water. The view was beautiful. Our waitress Debbie was very good and made sure we had everything we needed. She brought our son a carafe of soda. He loved that he could serve himself more soda and it saved the waitress time! The meal was delicious and plentiful. I would highly recommend this spot.

Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your visit and I will personally thank Debbie for a job well done. We hope to see you soon! ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    447
    305
    79
    40
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect view, perfect service, perfect food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My son and I were in Ft Myers Beach and had heard good things about the restaurant "Mantanzas on the Bay" at the Mantanzas Inn. We were dressed very casually after a day on the beach, so we decided to eat on the upper deck instead of the indoor restaurant downstairs. Our waiter's name was Bill and he was excellent. He was knowledgeable, and extremely patient as we asked questions about different seafood dishes. He must have gotten the feeling that we really weren't finding what we wanted, at which time he said 'just a minute' and he brought us the menu from the downstairs restaurant and said we could order from that if we preferred. We both decided on the stuffed grouper with coleslaw and sliced tomatoes. The food came out very quickly and it was one of the best seafood dishes either one of us have ever had. All the flavors blended together perfectly while still allowing the wonderful taste of the grouper to come through. It was a wonderful experience to be able to sit on the deck, on the water, and be able to eat a fantastic meal that one would usually only expect from a 'fine dining' establishment. The price may seem a bit higher to some, but I did not have any problem with it, considering the view, the service and the food, which were all perfect. Thanks Bill, you rock!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you so much for coming in and taking the time to write such a thoughtful and wonderful review. I have shared this with Bill and the entire staff and thanked everyone for their hard work and attention to detail. Always nice to know we have accommodated our guests with a personal touch. Please ask for me on your next visit. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere
1 review
“Awesome pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I miss Dockside,they were great! I just gotta say that I love the fact that Matanzas still serves the best pizza ever made! :-) Dockside pizza!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgypsy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dave has mastered this recipe and we are glad you enjoy it! We are offering 10% off all pizza orders in the month of July for being voted Best Pizza on Fort Myers Beach the second year in a row, hope to see you soon. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Love that we can pull up in the boat and enjoy a delicious meal! Glen made sure to have tuna for us when we called ahead for seared tuna, which was wonderful. Debbie is a wonderful server and friendly. The hostess Debbie is welcoming and gracious. We felt right at home and love coming in and being greeted as old friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLRUDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Debbie and Debbie are fantastic, they appreciate being mentioned in your review. We are more than happy to accommodate you with the tuna and look forward to seeing you on your next boat trip! Thank you so much for coming to Matanzas. Lemon drops? ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful water view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We sat on the upper deck to watch the boats and wildlife and the storms in the distance. Ordered some beers and the Crab, Lobster, and Artichoke Dip. YUM! A great appetizer with a lot of flavor and seasoned chips. We watched the lightning in the distance and saw a lot of birds and even a dolphin in the bay. The early evening breeze felt great and the harbor view is excellent. A nice place to enjoy the views.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelPlayEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrarca828, General Manager at Matanzas on the Bay, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Wow, thank you for the great review. We sure appreciate your visit and you taking the time to share. ~Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Matanzas on the Bay also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Matanzas on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing