We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yeah.... what they all said!!”
Review of Beach Shell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Shell Inn
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Yeah.... what they all said!!”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Unfortunately, we had to leave early due to a medical emergency at home, but I certainly would have liked to stay longer. If anyone has something bad to say about this place, it's only because they are looking for something bad to say. It's a charming little gem that I would stay at again in a heartbeat. If you are looking for a spotless room in a great location, book here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    65
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Chosen at random. Walked in without a reservation on Friday, Nov 29, and they had one room left. It was #14, an efficiency unit with two beds. Wow, we were lucky! Private patio, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, very clean, assigned parking, comfortably heated pool, VERY short walk to the beach without crossing the street, beach towels available, and beach chairs provided. Previous guests had even left floats and Styrofoam coolers behind. All for $109 per night. The only potential downside for unit 14 is that it does face the main drag. The noise didn't bother us, but light sleepers might want to choose a different unit. Hosts were gracious and quick to meet any need. Top notch for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janelmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo, Oh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We only stayed one night at the Beach shell. My husband and I were in Fort Myers one day and was taking the ferry to Key West the next day. This was a very nice place to stay. It was without a doubt the cleanest room we have EVER stayed in. We had one large room containing a double and a single bed. The room also contains a microwave and small refrigerator, but no coffee makers. Cheryl, the manager, informs you that in the morning by the office she has coffee ready to go for the guests. We went to the 7-11 nearby for more coffee. This is not a high end hotel, but is very comfortable, clean, personable, and they have WIFI and a pool. It is located on the ocean side, so walking to the beach is easy to do. We could stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia21toledo_Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We booked this hotel on Expedia for only one night, after driving from Orlando to see the Edison/Ford museum in Fort Myers (the Banyan tree alone is worth the trip)… did not want to drive back the same day. We are from Vancouver BC staying in Orlando for the attractions. I've been in Fort Myers' Beach before, but my wife has not….showing her the area.

This is an older "motel" but in excellent shape, newly refurbished, very clean (spotless, no sand on the carpet despite being right on the beach and on the ground floor), market right across the street, flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, lots of towels and pillows, WiFi good, etc. can't complain about anything and an excellent price point (important as I am carrying 2 hotel rooms on this stay, Orlando and anywhere else we travel to). King size bed was great. Owner asked if we wanted a coffee machine and she brought it in right away. Very friendly owner, had a nice chat about the economy.

The only reason it has lower star ratings is the lack of restaurant and other high end facilities…no need here as there are plenty of nearby restaurants. We had supper at the Red Parrot Carib Grill? a 5 min. drive back across the bridge…. very atmospheric, tropical look with a Key West feel to it. Excellent food, great table service.

We are retired mature seasoned travelers with over 40 years travel experience and would stay here again, no problem. They also have longer stay larger condos down the street, so we would certainly check that out as I would expect the same quality for a longer stay.

Room Tip: There are no ocean view rooms here, it is 2-3 buildings from the actual beach, a 5 min. walk. I thin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

What a find, if your looking for small and VERY friendly, this is the place. An older property but extremely clean and well maintained. Cheryl the owner was wonderful, and couldn't do enough to make our stay memorable. It's location, coud'nt be closer to a lovely quiet part of the beach. Beach towels, chairs,umbrellas, all available at no charge, and free parking. Couldn't have been better, just wish we had had more time to stay here on our recent trip to Florida.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas and Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

the reception was very friendly and helpfull and there is private parking for the hotel guests, good location to visit the pier of Fort Myers and the see is only a few steps away. Rooms are of a good size and clean, the only thing i would change are the keys to the door(or the doorlocks). Our door could only be locked manualy from the inside so if you forgot the key inside you locked yourself out, but thats the only remark i can give on this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were happy to see this motel was very very clean, bed was very comfortable. The woman who checked us in was extremely nice and helpful. This a small, clean and comfy motel. Although it is not directly on the beach, it's just steps away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosey058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,568 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#11 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shell Inn

Property: Beach Shell Inn
Address: 2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Beach Shell Inn, a Superior Small Lodging situated on Estero Island in the lively town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Only steps away from the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn provides the comfort of home in a small, intimate setting. Choose from a selection of guest rooms with refrigerators and microwaves, efficiencies, and one or two bedroom apartments - by the day, week, or as long as you'd like! All units overlook the heated pool, have cable TV, and reserved parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beach Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shell Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Beach Shell Fort Myers
Beach Shell Inn Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing