We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic value”
Review of Beach Shell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beach Shell Inn
Ranked #21 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic value”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just returned from a three night stay at the Beach Shell Inn. I will just be echoing other reviews, but the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The location is great, close to the beach, market, and eateries but away from noisy crowds. We like to walk and we never moved our car during our stay.
Very very nice, helpful, friendly staff.
Not a fancy resort but an extremely well maintained property, an excellent value.
We would certainly book another stay at the Beach Shell Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimR55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    65
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The hotel has a look and feel of a by-gone era, but don't let it fool you, it is well taken care of. The location was perfect for what we wanted. 2 minutes to the beach, 2 minutes to the grocery store, 2 minutes to the liquor store. Beach chairs, coolers and other handy beach items were available free of charge. The pool was perfect for a quick dip - couples can take advantage of privacy in the evening.

Due to flight issues, we arrived in the middle of the night and the owner was still able to get us in the room. Overall, they were warm, inviting and made us feel like guests, and not merely customers. We will go again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eazydp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway Twp, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

A terrific hotel with a wonderful and friendly owner, gave us chairs, towels, and went the extra mile to accommodate us! The pool was sparkling clear, the bed comfy and the room spotless. All this for a fair price considering the location. We will return next time in Fort Myers Beach you can count on that. The Hotel is away from the downtown area but only a short walk away. The evening was quiet and our stay was comfortable. Nothing more to want at the price and location!!

Room Tip: Great pool for evening dip, no breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vtpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Sinai, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is an older motel but it is meticulously maintained by the owners. Excellent value and location for the beach goer. Step off the property and walk about 200 feet to the public beach without crossing the street. The rooms are immaculately clean and the owners are very personable and helpful. A fancy resort it isn't but a cozy, clean and affordable place in a great location it is.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1obiwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, mi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This is a small older place, but was extremely clean and comfortable. The couple that owns it do a great job of providing for your every need. About a mile from the main shopping and dining area, but easy to get to or going to the harbor at the other end was simple. There is a short walk to the beach or a pool right outside your door. I would definitely stay again. Only nitpick is having to go outside the room for coffee but found out you can get a room coffeepot on request.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Unfortunately, we had to leave early due to a medical emergency at home, but I certainly would have liked to stay longer. If anyone has something bad to say about this place, it's only because they are looking for something bad to say. It's a charming little gem that I would stay at again in a heartbeat. If you are looking for a spotless room in a great location, book here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Chosen at random. Walked in without a reservation on Friday, Nov 29, and they had one room left. It was #14, an efficiency unit with two beds. Wow, we were lucky! Private patio, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, very clean, assigned parking, comfortably heated pool, VERY short walk to the beach without crossing the street, beach towels available, and beach chairs provided. Previous guests had even left floats and Styrofoam coolers behind. All for $109 per night. The only potential downside for unit 14 is that it does face the main drag. The noise didn't bother us, but light sleepers might want to choose a different unit. Hosts were gracious and quick to meet any need. Top notch for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janelmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#1 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shell Inn

Property: Beach Shell Inn
Address: 2610 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#14 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach Shell Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Beach Shell Inn, a Superior Small Lodging situated on Estero Island in the lively town of Fort Myers Beach, Florida. Only steps away from the pristine beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, the Inn provides the comfort of home in a small, intimate setting. Choose from a selection of guest rooms with refrigerators and microwaves, efficiencies, and one or two bedroom apartments - by the day, week, or as long as you'd like! All units overlook the heated pool, have cable TV, and reserved parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Shell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shell Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Beach Shell Fort Myers
Beach Shell Inn Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing