We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to our expectations - and then some.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Smuggler's Cove Condo
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lived up to our expectations - and then some.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We chose SC because relatives had their annual trip planned (and had stayed there the past 5 years), and were pleased with the 6A5 unit we booked, with a king bed and shower in the master, 2 twins (with a full bath just outside the door and a door separating the living area from this bedroom area), dated but serviceable kitchen, 2 recliners, and a dining table for 6-8. The view is spectacular from the screened balcony, which had spacious seating for 6. Plenty of chairs & loungers for the grass area, but only 3 palapas and a few trees to provide shade. The wi-fi was unusable in this unit, but we were able to tap into the neighbor's, which worked just fine. Loved how this building was right on the beach - we saw dolphins and plenty of seabirds while enjoying coffee in the morning. The pool was small but never crowded, and used mostly by the few children/parents staying there. 4 propane grills are provided in a shaded area with bar seating and 2 picnic tables. Groceries and liquor are less expensive off the island, but plan your trip so as to miss the Saturday rush to get to the beach. It may take 30-60 minutes to get across the north bridge. Overall, we were very pleased with the accomodations, and have already made a deposit for next year!

Room Tip: All units in both A & B buildings are very similar, with corner units having an additional windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldtraveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    23
    4
    4
    7
See reviews for
38
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
149 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

For our first trip to FMB (just after peak spring season), we found Smuggler's cove to be an older, well maintained, very reasonably priced location for a week's stay. Condos of course are individually owned, so there is variability in appointments--check with the web site first to make sure a given condo has what you want. Smuggler's Cove has a nice gas grilling area, small pool, free laundry, decently-sized grass area just off the beach, chairs/loungers for grassed-area use only (you have to provide your own for beach use), grocery two blocks away, free WiFi, and plenty of uncovered parking. The two elevators (one for each of the blocks of units) are slow, but seem to provide adequate disabled access. Of course, the beach is white sand, good for walking, with typical beach amenities close by. We had no problems at all with the front office and plan to come back!

Room Tip: All suites have beach-view; check website to evaluate beds, kitchen, etc for units available for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Homepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

My family of 4 stayed in Unit 3A2 in Smugglers Cove Condos. The kitchen has been updated and was well equipped with pretty much any pot, pan or appliance anyone might need. Furnishings throughout the unit were fine, but maybe a bit dated in the bedrooms, not that this was an issue. The main bathroom shower has been updated but the master bathroom is older but clean and in good working order.

Because we did not rent directly from an owner, we missed having some of the essential kitchen basics such as salt and pepper, sugar, oil and other items you might not want to have to buy for a week's stay. The condo does provide a starter kit with a little bottle of dish soap, 2 packets of dishwasher powder and some small bars of soap. You may wish to bring small supplies from home if you want to avoid buying these items (I packed a few dishwasher soap pods and a little bottle of dish soap). Towels and linens are also provided.

The location of this condo is great, unless you like the pace of the Times Square area which is further north and quite busy. We weren't looking for the "spring breaker" experience so it was perfect for us. The beach is not busy but there are always people around, and there is really only one business nearby and that is the Publix grocery store. This was perfect because we could walk to get groceries at any time and this place has pretty much all you might need, including beer and wine.

The only downside with the location is the heavy traffic getting on and off the island at certain times of the day. This was likely because it was spring break, but it was frustrating at times. It was worst around dinner time if you were trying to leave the island, or if you are trying to get on the island in the morning. However this wouldn't prevent us from staying here again during spring break.

The beach itself is beautiful. Soft white sand but hard and level enough near the water to make for a great running, biking or walking surface for miles.

The condo facilities are good. The pool is a nice size and is one of the warmest we've ever had in a beach condo. There is a paved, covered area with 4 gas grills available. The laundry area serves both buildings so it can get busy at times but we didn't have any problems. It would be nice if it stayed open later than 8 pm. There are more than enough beach loungers available but these can only be set up on the grass and not on the beach. The grounds were well kept and spotless. The building has an elevator.

When we first checked in our dishwasher wasn't working properly. We put in a call before leaving for the day and it was fixed by the time we got back. The maintenance man actually came back the next day to make sure it was working properly.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay here and loved the location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChocAHolic10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Smuggler's Cove at Ft. Myers Beach can be a great place to stay, however, dealing with the office staff is quite unpleasant. Customer service does not exist even to loyal visitors of 10 years (contrary to what their website says). There is no accountability when mistakes are made to reservations and their office manager is just plain rude. If you desire to go there, book online to avoid the painful experience of dealing with unprofessional, unreliable employees.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
4 Thank PwolfieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed here for two weeks and wished we had stayed longer. A beautiful view can be seen from the balcony and master bedroom. A lawn is in the rear, Gulf side, which has loungers and chairs for residents use. Short stairs lead down to the beach.

The condo had good high quality furnature. It had a master bedroom which was en suite with shower and supersized double bed. The other bedroom had twin single beds with a bath room with bath & shower and toilet adjacent. The kitchen area had oven, microwave, dish washer and fridge freezer. There were accessories of every type you would need in the kitchen. The condo had free high speed wi-fi. There is a laundry room in the complex.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nauvoo, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at this condo unit for two weeks and were very pleased. The location on Ft. Myers Beach was exceptional-right on the beach and close to city restaurants, etc. Our condo was very clean when we arrived and offered all the amenities of home. The kitchen was well equiped to cook anything you want with a grocery store right down the street. The grounds were maintained adequately with regular cleaning and manicuring. The visitors staying on this section of the beach were relatively more subdued from the hectic and exciting pier area to the north. Our unit was on the first floor, just above the carport area and we felt it was a great location for us to walk to the pool or beach. We enjoyed the lanai and could sit in our unit and hear the surf. Other residents were friendly and very respectful of others. The unit was decorated like you would expect a unit on the beach. We loved this area and loved walking along the beach daily and seeing the passing dolphins. This was our first visit to the Ft. Myers area and since we had such a positive and wonderful stay would like to return and stay longer next winter at the Smugglers Cove Condos.

Room Tip: Visit their website and look at the various decorating schemes of the different units to pick one th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ron868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

First, let me say, once you open your door be prepared for the beautiful Gulf view. The view makes you feel like you're floating on water. Our condo was decorated in a beach decor that was simple and clean. The kitchen had everything you could ask for when preparing a light meal. We were surprised the condo provided beach chairs, beach umbrellas, and beach towels. There's a Publix grocery store within walking distance to the condo, so we were able to pick up food and essentials very easily.

I've stayed on Ft. Myers Beach many times, mosty near Time Square. This condo is about 4 miles south of Time Square and is directly on the beach. They have BBQ grills, laundry facility, as well as a pool available for you. Everything about this complex is clean, which was very important to me.

I loved sitting on the lanai in the moring watching the dolphins swim as well as people enjoying a
nice walk on the beach while "shelling."

I really can't say enough about his complex. It's in a nice quiet location, very clean, and the pricing in the summer is less than you'd find at a hotel. There are also plenty of dining choices on the island. We had no problem getting on or off the island in July, however, during Spring Break, you may have to give yourself extra time getting on or off the island in either direction. I will most definitely come back...

Room Tip: All rooms have a direct view of the Gulf, so you won't be disappointed. You can check online th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank flipflops1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN PLUS Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#7 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
1.0 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smuggler's Cove Condo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smuggler's Cove Condo

Property: Smuggler's Cove Condo
Address: 5100 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4006
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Smuggler`s Cove Condo Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Smuggler's Cove Condo Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing