We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Key West Express

Key West Express
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Get away to Key West, America's Caribbean Paradise, aboard Key West Express, where getting there is half the fun! What are you waiting for? Climb aboard our sleek, clean, modern, air-conditioned high-speed ferries - Features sundecks, snack bar, cocktails, and big-screen TVs - and we'll have you there in just a few hours!
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Ok let's get something straight....its a fast moving twin hull cruiser. If you think it's a cruise line you are mistaken. Bar available, some food. Parking extra. You get on....you ride 4 hrs. You arrive in the Keys. Pretty cut and dry. Its a high speed passenger ferry, professional staff, kind and catering. It takes a ton of fuel and maintenance to run a ship this size that fast. So food is a little pricey...hint...bring your own. The cabin was cool...chilly for some, comfortable for me. The ride can be cancelled do to weather and you can be stranded...its a ship folks...they're not out running storms to suit your plans..so plan accordingly. Bring a book or magazine and something to do for your screaming kids that nobody else will think is cute but you. The staff asks for tips at the end. Dont be a jerk pass them a few bucks, afterall the prices at the keys will leave your head spinning. I read some pretty unfair selfish things on here. ...but know this...plan plan plan and know that this is a highspeed passenger ferry that does an excellent job catering an alternative way to get to the Keys. So hang on and enjoy yourself......

Helpful?
6 Thank Capt_Bleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
You are right. We offer high speed passenger ferry transportation. It is a fast easy way to travel from Fort Myers Beach and seasonally from Marco Island to Key West.

While our galley offers a variety of concession type fare and full bar service, guests may certainly bring their own food on board.

We appreciate you acknowledging our professional and kind staff.

Just like any other form of public transportation weather can influence travel. Passenger safety is always first and foremost in the decision of whether or not to sail. Your comments are very appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    478
    181
    66
    106
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun way to Key West”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Friendly staff helping you every step of the trip.... Fun way to get to Key West!

Bill Foley was so helpful and nice. He is just one of the awesome service agents for this trip.

How can you beat 3 hours in front of a bar TV while the big boat glides thru the water ? Sure beats driving....

Take a trip and let the Key West Express work for you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We all agree, Bill is a gem! Glad that your experience was enjoyable....and we cannot agree more....leave the driving to us. Relax and enjoy the ride! We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best vacation attraction we've experienced!!!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Best thing we've ever did. We went down Thursday with plans to head back the same day but ended up getting a room at a local bed and breakfast- the Mango Tree Inn. The boat ride to Key West was a little rough at first but once you get used to it it's not too bad. The boat ride back was really smooth and we slept most of the way back. The crew was extremely nice and the bar/snack bar was great. It wasn't difficult to get our tickets switched to the next day when we changed our plans but there was a small fee.

Helpful?
2 Thank Adamsb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are delighted that you found Key West to be the best vacation attraction! Key West is a charming, historical, quirky, tropical paradise. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our favorite destination and glad that you were able to extend your stay! Thank you for your lovely review. We hope you have the opportunity to sail with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Key West Ferry worth the price”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

John Barry arranged a trip for our neighborhood group to key west. He helped us along during the weeks prior to the trip keeping us informed of our status and options. He was there at the ferry to greet us when we arrived and followed up with a thank you note asking if everything was all right, and it was. In fact the whole experience with the ferry was a very pleasant one. All the staff was friendly. The ship was clean and well maintained. Food and drinks were good and priced right. Would have been nice if groups were given more consideration in boarding to insure they got good seats. We were there early and got what we wanted but you needed to get there early. Overall the experience was a pleasant one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stoshfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KWE_Mgr, Manager at Key West Express, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
So happy to hear that you had a great group experience. We take many bachelor/bachelorette groups as well as destination wedding, retirement, birthday, reunion and business groups.
You are right about early arrival particularly with a large group so that you are able to select seating close to one another. Your review is appreciated...please come sail with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

John Barry arranged a group trip for our networking group last weekend. John was professional and knowledgable and ensured that we were prepared and had a good time. The boat was clean and the ride was pleasant. I would definitely take my friends and family on the Key West Express. I do agree that a day trip does not allow one to truly explore Key West.

Thank you John and the Key West Express!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Key West Express also viewed

Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
Fort Myers Beach, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Key West Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing