We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, well run accommodation”
Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #16 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This was our 2nd visit to Dolphin Inn and we enjoyed it as much as last time.

The Dolphin is on Estero Boulevard, the main (mostly one lane each way) road through Fort Myers Beach and Estero Island area.

Accommodation is self catering, with 3 room options. The Dolphin is situated at the top of a waterway, with its own fishing dock and the ground floor rooms facing the dock are quite small but still have limited cooking facilities. The ground floor rooms facing the pool (on the road side) are larger but the upstairs rooms go the whole width of the building and are well worth the extra. We opted for an upstairs one again. They are reached by an outside staircase and have a wooden verandah, which stretches the whole length of the building and overlooks the fishing dock. Each room has its own outside chairs and table. Inside is firstly a double bedroom with bathroom attached, through to the living/dining/kitchenette area which is a good sized room. The kitchenette is to the side of the dining area and feels separate from the living area. There is then a small room facing the pool which was probably originally a lanai, and has just room for a double bed lengthwise and a single widthways. No room for anything else but would be great for a family with 3 or 4 children. Not really suitable for 2 couples as the bathroom door is located in the double bedroom,

The apartment is very comfortable, clean and well furnished. The kitchenette has all the necessary pots, pans, cutlery etc needed for self catering with a full cooker and large fridge freezer. When we first went in we were disappointed in the kitchen as it appeared to need refurbishing but during our stay discovered that they were all being done in turn - we saw a finished one and it was very nice indeed - roll on next time when we should get one of those!

The Dolphin is run by the owners, who are very friendly and helpful, as are the rest of the staff. There is car parking outside the building and bicycles can be hired. If you have your own boat there is also moorage on the deck. Outside is nicely planted with barbecues available and the pool is a good size and complete with pool beds - pool towels are available from the front office.

It is little way from Fort Myers centre, which must be visited, and access to the beach is just across the (usually) quiet road. It's a lovely beach, really wide with lovely soft sand and if you like shelling there are plenty available. There is a trolley runs regularly along the road right along the island. A short walk away there is a row of shops, including a pharmacy, and restaurants with a marina just behind.

All in all, a good place to spend a holiday and probably worth 3.5 stars (especially if you get a refurbished kitchenette!)

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

A bit late, but I stayed here in October with 5 other biker-buddies. If you want a comfortable,clean, roomy place, at a reasonable price, to stay on Ft Myers Beach.... away from the hustle and bustle of overly-congested beach traffic, this is the place. Friendly staff and management. Not directly on the beach, but close enough for me.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCUSwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I spent three days in Fort Myers Beach to visit relatives and attend the Sand Sculpture Event. We chose this place based on reviews and location (within walking distance from the event). We were not disappointed. We were right across the road from the beach access. The beach area in this location is the widest beach along Fort Myers Beach. This area of Fort Myers Beach is also much less commercialized. The motel is an older one, but is well maintained and very clean. We had a smaller ground floor room on the backside right up against the marina. It was very basic (nothing spectacular), but met our needs very well. They had kayaks that you could take out if you wanted and also could rent bicycles for a VERY reasonable price. Our room had its own beach chairs that we could enjoy a book and watch the water. The people who own the place are very nice and helpful. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the area who is not looking for a "big name" motel.

Room Tip: Room on the backside are quieter and face the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billes49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have been 16 days in Florida, visiting many places and changing several hotels.
This was by far the worst one, I cannot understand the good reviews. Maybe I got the worst room. We asked to change room but they told us it was fully booked. However, the shield vacancy was still there. The room was dirty, the bed old and definitely unconfortable. Also furnitures outside were broken and dirty. Very bad choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The pro's
Position, beach just across the road. 100yds max
Bay rooms, quiet virtually no traffic noise and your own sitting area with sun until mid-day.
Staff and owner very helpful.
Excellent WiFi
Clean, everything worked
Comfortable bed, clean linen and towels.

The con's
Room 5A Bayside.

Very small room, bed takes up half living area.
Dining table, wall mounted, not large enough for 2 15" laptops.
Very little hanging space.
No drawer space for clothes etc.
Small fridge.
TV can only be viewed from the bed.
Furniture, fittings and appliances, all well used/tired.

We got what we paid for.
Double the price would have got much better value.
We spent 3 nights here, and would be happy to use it again for a short stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff is very nice and helpful. Unfortunately, the amenities are subpar. The bed was too soft and very uncomfortable. Everything, from the fabrics to the furniture to the privacy to the interior design is greatly outdated and dingy. If you're looking for a room that you will only use to sleep in because you plan on being out and about most of the time, it may be--at most--tolerable, only because the beach is within a couple of minutes walking distance. However, if you plan on spending any time in your room and on waking up to a nicely-scented, sunny, comfortable environment with a view, you will be disappointed. Even at under $100 per night it is not a bargain; expect the quality of your stay to be in line with what you're paying for it, if not lower. It's not very different from a sleezy motel room anywhere else; when I woke up it wasn't until I stepped outside that I remembered I was in Florida. You would be well advised to spend some time looking around at other places first before settling on this one because you will find that a little more money elsewhere will likely get you alot more satisfaction. We did.

Room Tip: Rooms behind and connected to the office are noisy because the sound travels easily. They are dark a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We've stayed here the last 3 times visiting fort myers beach, and we'll be staying here again! Travis and the entire staff are great, they are all very informative and helpful in making our vacation a blast! A++

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,701 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
415 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#28 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
279 reviews
3 mi away
Beach Shell Inn
Beach Shell Inn
#23 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4499
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £71 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Dolphin Inn Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing