We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting smells!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Inn
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting smells!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I visited here for one night on our way down to Key West last year. So things may be a little different now. When we first arrived were shown a room that was ok. We soon noticed a strong smell of cannabis. It was coming from the adjoining room occupied by a large family with young children. To be fair when we mentioned this to the owners we were given another room overlooking the pool. The family continued to smoke pot all the time we were there. That room was much bigger but tired looking. It was ok for the price but we were glad we were only here for one night. I suppose you get what you pay for. It was only a short walk across the road to the beach which was nice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BambiDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    108
    35
    13
    7
See reviews for
107
185
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Much better than i thought... the room is clean, the full kitchen is very good and has all basic stuff, the bathroom its old and too small, but ok..., the TV its big and new but there s not much channels available to watch, just few... the pool area its very good, the beach its across the street but the sand part is a little long then its a little far to get in the ocean... the back of the property has a BBQ and a nice canal for boats.... the place its very quiet, has 2 friendly and adorable cats around... ;o)

Room Tip: i got the room closed to the entrance, very quiet but I think the rooms closed to the pool its very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myamana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I visited Fort Myers Beach for the second time in late May 2014. I stumbled across Dolphin Inn online and was attracted by the very reasonable prices. The rooms had kitchens and out back by the bay was a gas grill available for use. The pool is crystal clear and refreshing. The room was very clean and nice. The owners are always on site and are very friendly. They even offer kayak use for free. For our anniversary I cooked NY Strip on the the grill, and lobster tail in the house for a very special celebration. We live only about an hour and a half away in Ft Lauderdale and have already made reservations for August. We used to go to the Keys several times a year, but we have decided that this is our place. David L

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redskins1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

LOVR LOVE LOVE THIS PLACE. It is an older small beachside motel with effeciecy type rooms. Clean and quiet. The pictures do not do the rooms justice (Rm #5, poolside). It is a very short walk to the beach down a grass path. The pool is very nice and large considering the size of the propery. Even on the weekend with the pool just outside our door it was quiet. The room had a 'beach bungalow' feel and was very roomy. Although only myself & wife, we got the 2-queen sized room (because it was the only room available when we reserved), so we had a larger room than the 1 queen room would have been. We wanted a bayside room, however poolside was the 1 room available; I really enjoyed having the pool just steps from my door as I had my morning coffee and dip in the pool each morning. I believe I enjoyed more than I would have bayside. The kitchen was fully furnished with the basics. Rent a bike while you are here and toodle around the island at your leisure.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I have been coming here for several years this place is awesome !!!
The staff are friendly the rooms are clean an nice .
I will never stay any where else .we once booked another hotel for the second leg of a longer vacation upon arrival the place was a nightmare we called the dolphin inn and in five min we had a room at the dolphin and were taken care of .
Five stars from me hands down

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rwpike69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in June 2014 and booked the room from Germany.
When we arrived in the early evening, the office was closed. There was an envelope at the office door with our name. Inside were some instructions to find the right room. The room was unlocked and the key laid on the table.
It was a room at the backside of the hotel. The room was old and had a kitchen in it with toaster, stove and microwave.
You can sit outside, have a BBQ and look to the boats and animals on the backside of the hotel.
There is no breakfast offered.
Across the street you reach the wide white beach.
Overall the room was simple but a good deal. We would stay here again.
The neighborhood is very calm and safe.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Wauw beach is a two minutes walk with one road between you, its white and beatiful, the owner is very nice not always on location but dial 0 and he will be there in minutes, its a small room but we had a big bbq in the back also they had a pier and enough chairs to relaxe on, the only tip i have for the hotel is the water pressure in the shower. Conclusion go there its very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R4ytje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#14 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#26 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Outrigger Beach Resort
Outrigger Beach Resort
#15 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Neptune Resort
The Neptune Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Inn

Property: Dolphin Inn
Address: 6555 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-4499
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#18 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolphin Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Dolphin Inn Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing