We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation property on Estero Island, not a hotel.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Myers Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Estero Island Beach Club
Reviewed 29 August 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with 24-hour amenities, somebody to make your bed every morning, a gym/spa, etc, this is not the place for you. If you are coming to Fort Myers and you want your room to be 30 steps from the beach, this is the place.

I have been here 5 times, my parents come here every year for multiple weeks, and my grand-parents have came here since the 60's. It's an older property, but each time I leave I am already planning my next visit. My favorite part is that I can swim in the pool while watching my young children play on the beach.

The units themselves are small, but they are sufficient. I have 4 kids and it fits us fine, there is a king-size bed and bathroom in the back with two couches in front that fold out into beds with another bathroom. The kitchen is basically a small hallway with just enough fridge, dishes and stove to get the job done. Nothing in these rooms is 5 star, but hopefully you're not coming to the beach to spend time in your room.

Within walking distance to shopping, restaurants, grocery store and there are several scooter rental places within walking distance. If you're on a budget, they have 4-5 propane grills that are available at no cost.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maddogmadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

There are two places to stay on FMB that sound alike.
These reviews are of the Estero Island Beach Club.
There is also a DIFFERENT condo complex called the Estero Island Beach and TENNIS Club.

The Estero Island Beach and TENNIS Club is three buildings of individually owned condos that owners rent out themselves. The grounds are beautifuly landscaped and have a large beach, the pool and tennis courts are wonderful and many of the condos are completly updated. Check it out!

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
14  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We just came home 5 days early from this terrible place. We love vacationing on Estero Island and this has been our worst experience yet. The pictures on this web site look much better than the real thing.The floors felt like they have never been mopped. While walking barefoot, the bottoms of our feet turned black. There was a pubic hair in the bathtub when we arrived and our refrigerator and freezer were not cooling properly. There is not a designated smoking area, so people are smoking EVERYWHERE (literally chain smokers)! We could even smell cigarette smoke while attempting to relax on the balcony. It was also very loud. People would scream down the hallways and also leave trash bags outside their room doors rather than walking it down to the dumpster. We were just so disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 338.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jesakuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is a FAMILY timeshare! We have stayed in MANY timeshare resorts but this was our first Fixed Week resort experience. It was fun to see that almost all of the families, from young to old, had known each other for years, some of them for generations! The resort is an immaculately kept older facility on one of the most fabulous beaches we have experienced. Right in the middle of the famous Fort Myers Beach area, this resort is just a gem within walking distance to great restaurants and shopping. Oh, and did I mention the GREAT beach? Luxurious it's not, but it is a great place to kick back, relax and let your tensions disappear.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hammer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

As an owner, I am amazed that some people do not understand the concept that this property is not a hotel therefore does not provide daily maid service, hair dryers, etc. We do however provide the guests with linens, soap, toliet paper, paper towels, and dishwashing detergent. I would suggest to those that are concerned that there is no safe in the unit, to secure their valuables in the trunk of their car. I have owned at this property since it started and have never had nor known of anyone having their apt broken into.
I headed there in a week for a three week stay. Woo Hoo!!!!!!!

Room Tip: I prefer the one bedroom ground floor units since you have a private bedroom and two baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bchlvr48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have owned this unit since the time share started, it is right on the corner of the top floor of the south unit. There have been many changes to the room decor over the years, all wonderful improvements! I love staying here and look foreword to our week. This place is not upscale and fancy, but family friendly and lots of friendly people and a wonderful, knowledgeable staff.
It is only a little over a block from the pier and foot traffic only shopping area, there is a Publix grocery store just a few blocks south on the left side. Many,Many shops and restaurants on both sides of the street. Always something going on! Free washers and dryers in both buildings, if one is too busy you can use the other building, bring your own soap. weekends see more traffic from locals, there are para sail rentals on the weekends by several different companies, and seadoo rentals from different companies on the weekends too. The Big M casino docks close by also, if you want to try your luck! So many things to do here, or just relax on the beach pick up shells and get your tan on!

Room Tip: corner room on south building has better access to beach, great sunsets on the public balcony! Less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Stayed in South building. 1 bedroom with master bath. Kitchenette with stove, refrigerator, dishes, pans etc. No daily maid service. Free washers/dryers. You supply detergent. No hair dryers in room. Unit in good repair and clean. 2 nice pools and large hot tub. Front pool is cooler, back pool nice and warm.. Grounds are well kept. Security on property. Public beach assess and parking behind south unit. Doors have old fashioned key entry. No safes in room. This could definately be a problem If you leave your room unlocked or one of the people accessing the beach uses a credit card to unlock your door and rob you. Better find a good hiding place for your purse or wallet. Very unusual to stay in a resort with no in room safes in this day and age.
Could definately add more tables with umbrellas, and umbrellas between lounge chairs at beach. The Florida sun is brutal. Also not enough chairs for tables on patio. One of the tables on the beach patio had no chairs. As chairs break they are not being replaced. When resort manager asked for chairs to use with beach table she said to take chairs from someone's room front. All rooms in south unit have 2 chairs with small table in front of them. Someone did this and when an elderly gentleman came back to his room he had no chair to sit in.
Sometimes people from the beach sneak up and use the pool and pool restroom if it is not locked. With no in room safes this makes one very nervous about being robbed. I do remember this happening one year when a renters wallet was
taken from his room.
All in all a nice resort but does have room for improvement!

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank ladybugthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
3.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,704 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Flamingo Inn
Flamingo Inn
#28 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
279 reviews
5.4 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estero Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estero Island Beach Club

Address: 1840 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2893
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Fort Myers Beach
Hotel Class:3 star — Estero Island Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Estero Island Beach Club Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Estero Island Beach Club Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing