We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed our stay, will definitely come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Huntingintion, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“enjoyed our stay, will definitely come back”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

The Pink Shell Resort is on Gulf Shore Beach, was just what we were looking for! The rooms smelt fresh and were very clean. We stayed at the beach villa, which was absolutely beautiful, each room has 2 bedroom, 2 full baths, full kitchen, livingroom, washer/dryer and a screened in patio overlooking the beautiful beach and free parking. The resort had a Disney like feel to it, Our vacation was so relaxing, we all had a great time. If you chose to come to Pink Shell, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,521
    703
    211
    79
    53
See reviews for
1,674
1,203
46
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

NON SMOKERS BEWARE!

While I have rated this location on Appeal, Facilities and Service as Good, I
was very disappointed to find out that after Checking to Make for sure that all
of the Rooms are NON SMOKING Rooms, that they actually allow the guests to smoke
on the Balconies.

My wife and I searched and paid a premium for a Beach Front Room with a Balcony,
so we can sit out on the Balcony and enjoy the view, sounds and smells.

Much to our surprise while sitting out, Cigarette Smoke came rolling up from the
floor below. We had our Balcony doors open as well and the smoke from below came
straight up into our balcony and rolled right into our room.

We Hate Cigarette Smoke and it makes us sick.

So we called the front office to ask again about their smoking policy and was
informed that while smoking is not allowed in the rooms, Smoking IS ALLOWED on
the Balconies.

I have stayed in quite a few 4 star Hotels recently and none of the others
allowed smoking anywhere on the property. I am very disappointed that The Pink
Shell allows this. This is promoted as a Family Resort and why not go one step
further and NOT allow Smoking on the property or at least give the smokers a
smoking room, where their 2nd hand smoke does not have to ruin another guest
stay.

We thought the folks below might not use their balcony much, but they appear to
be like us and like to sit out and view the ocean and hear the sounds, but they
also like to smoke and it Stunk us out, so we continually just had to go back
inside and close the doors. Very disappointing to pay hundreds of dollars a
night for a 8 night stay and have this happen.

I was told that those were the rules, so there is nothing that they will do
about it.

Because of that reason, I will go out of my way to let others know about this,
as I know that there are many others that do not like smoke and don't care to
breath others 2nd hand smoke.

There are many other very nice locations on Estero Island and if we ever come
back, it will NOT be to the Pink Shell, unless they change their smoking policy.

If smoke does not bother you, then this may be a good place for you. If smoke
does bother you, then be Forwarned, or like us, you just may get Stunk Out.

Also, if you like to sleep in, you will need some ear plugs, as all of the doors in the Sanibel Building have these very heavy springs that cause them to close very loudly and with the master beedroom being located on the side of the building where the doors are, by 9:00am, you will of heard around 20 to 30 door slammings. As we were leaving on our last day, we got up around 8:00am, so we could get on the road to our next location and the person staying in the room next to us, opened his door and gave us a dirty look because of the noise our door made when closing. We told him we were sorry, but he had better get used to it, as it is an every day thing. When asking the hotel about it, two different people there say that everyone complains about it and there is nothing they can do, because they are heavy fire doors and have to be up to hurricane code. However, in the hotel we are now staying in at Panama City Beach, has the same type of doors, but a different closing mechanism and they do not slam and make very little noise.

One other thing that was annoying, is the toilet would not flush, unless you stood there and held the handle down and waiting for the water to go down.

So while the hotel was nice, for us, it was certainly not the best.

I am glad for the others who really like it.

All of the help we talked with were very nice.

Rick Caylor

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ted Y, Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences on this forum. One of our goals at the Pink Shell is to treat our guests like family. In fact, it is part of our mission. Therefore, we choose to govern ourselves with this philosophy at our Resort.

We are proud that our guest rooms and suites are 100% smoke free, but we do allow smoking in designated outdoor areas and on the lanais, because that is how we would treat our own family. However, when the smoking of one guest in a permitted area is unsettling to another guest, we are typically able to solve the problem by providing other accommodations for the guest who is inconvenienced.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay and that you found our staff to be very nice. However, I truly wish we could have made your stay perfect. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Perfect choise for a family holiday at the Gulf Coast beach. Employees at the lobby explain a lot when we checked in, we were offered an upgrade for a decent extra amount of money. We got an apartment, with kitchen, two bathrooms and two bedrooms, with nice beach view. Parking lot was complementary. Breakfast was OK, but breakfast room was not so clean. The hotel is situated on the north top of one of the keys and quiet and safe.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyfourGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Square, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Pink Shell is a beautiful resort with wonderful staff. This is the first time that my husband and I have been on the gulf side of Florida for vacation and we are so happy that our travel agent directed us to stay at the Pink Shell. We were greeted by a very upbeat staff member that told us all about the resort and beyond. I wish I could remember his name, but if you choose this wonderful resort for your vacation you will be greeted by a very upbeat guy that is originally from NJ and happy with his current job.
The room was gorgeous, with incredible views of the ocean and it also overlooked the pool. The really cool part about the view from the living room area is that the window goes all the way down to the floor. The rest of the room was really nice as well. My husband and I were joking about how we could just live in a place like that - little kitchen, nice sitting area with big flat screen tv, big bedroom with another flat screen tv, and the bathroom is also very large with a separate shower sink area from the toilet. Room was very clean, we had absolutely no complaints what so ever. Service was excellent - all you had to do is pick up the phone and ask and it happened.
The pool and bar area are great, convenient, and the staff are very friendly. This place is definitely family orientated, so if you like to be around kids and families then this is the place for you. If you are looking for romance and a quiet place, then this is not the place for you.
We took advantage of the water activities and went on a morning tour on the wave runners - a group of us went and saw dolphin's and manatee. We had a blast!!!
The Pink Shell was exactly what we were looking for in a fun vacation with beautiful views of the ocean. I can't wait to go back there, it was just awesome. We would recommend that you go there if you want a fun vacation with lots to do and a beautiful resort with all the amenities along with happy staff that are there for you any time you need anything.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor (9th) and it was a great view over the pool area and out to the ocean. We c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Echo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Pink Shell is a beautiful place with "Disney " like theme with comparable quality in the facilities and service. A resort that the kids and adults can enjoy and I have some picky teenagers.
The location is extremely beautiful and peaceful. Pink Shell is located in Funky town Ft Myers beach, a unique laid back beach town w/o the horrendous commercialism so many beach resort areas have.
In case you get initially confused like I did the Pink Shell is a group of 5 separate buildings right next to each other. I went with other families there as a group and we were spread out in separate buildings as we all made separate reservations. I would HIGHLY recommend staying in the main building that overlooks their beautiful although somewhat small pool. Ceiling to floor windows offer a beautiful view not only of the pool but especially when it comes time for that west Coast Florida sunset. The food and drinks were moderately and reasonably priced which was a relief.
Only time I got frustrated was during the breakfast peak; lazy didn't get to breakfast till 10:30am. The buffet lacked the standard scrambled eggs so we had to wait in line with the omelet hungering crew for 15 minutes just to get the scrambled. Irritating oversight. I wasn't the only one a little ticked.
Breakfast despite the wait was delicious bar none.
Would I stay again? Highly likely. Prices are not cheap so I was glad to see the quality of the hotel rooms and service on par with the prices charged.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vipermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Have been here now (3) times in a row for the past (3) years and every time we enjoy every minute of it. Great place! My girls ages 3 & 7 have an absolute blast; time of their lives; make friends every time when they are at the pool and beach. The staff and facilities here are fantastic. This is a treasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieTinMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We just came back from our FIRST visit to the Pink Shell. We will definitely go back again as soon as possible. My husband and I went alone for this visit. It is a wonderful place for couples. Our next visit will include our children and grandchildren as it is a wonderful family place as well. Everyone was so nice and the resort amenities were extreme. The white beach, luxurious room, and resort amenities were everything we could have wanted and more. The Pink Shell is the place to visit for a happy, fun beach vacation.

Room Tip: Stay in a room on the mid-level. We had a room with a front balcony overlooking the beach and a bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thirty-Flitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers Beach
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,805 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,345 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,135 reviews
15.6 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 275 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Top Florida Resort, Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina was voted the #2 resort on the Gulf coast of Florida by Conde Nast Traveler. Book on our website and you get more than a great room or suite at our beachfront resort. Every time you reserve and stay with us, and with every hotel deal we offer, you receive two breakfasts each day, two drinks, two in-suite bottles of Voss water, a Pink Shell Resort beach bag, and daily beach lounge chair and umbrella rental. The only thing we overlook is the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Pink Shell Beach Resort And Marina
Pink Shell Beach Hotel
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing