We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A major disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one nite prior to catching the express ferry to Key West. Location and beach was fine, but that is where it ended. This is not a resort, but a family oriented middle budget hotel on the beach. Given a musty outdated studio room w no bath and cobwebs on the screened porch in an adjacent building, and then after complaining being upgraded to a nice one bedroom in the tower where I listened to the building AC and mechanics all night, I was not happy. The final straw was being charged for the wristband to make purchases and access the room , which was not disclosed. I was always taught if u have nothing nice to say don't say it, but there are always exceptions to every rule.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, General Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

I do apologize for not meeting your expectations during the recent overnight stay at our resort. When providing accommodations, we work to ensure our guests have a memorable stay and depart feeling rested and refreshed. The majority of guests choosing to spend their time with us have a very positive experience. We spoke briefly the other day and you had requested I forward my contact information. At your convenience, please let me know when is a convenient time to speak as our goal is to deliver an enjoyable and memorable visit.

Kind regards,

Steve Contes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,867 - 1,873 of 3,664 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed in the Sanibel View, two adults one 11 year child. The room was nice just enough room for the three of us. The elevator was small, slow and hot. We were on the 4th floor and took the steps, faster and safer. The breakfast was great plenty of food all very good, not to crowded. Ocean was a little ruff, liked the pool in front of Sanibel better not as many people and we didn't see any children. They have happy hour at the main pool but didn't know about it until we were on our last day so check out the times and drinks. The largest wristbands came in large, my husband needed xl which they don't have so his was a little tight. We took the trolly to town just make sure you have exact change (50 cents) we walked home at night, nice walk, we didn't want to be on a schedule to get home. Ate at a pizzeria near the beach food was very good had pizza and baked ziti. We also ate at Nervous Nellie's nice view on the water we ate inside where it was cooler. We were there in July but I heard in the winter months its over one hour wait for table also very good food. Very happy free chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Ate at Bongo for lunch and dinner one night, food was good. Would be nice if Jacks had dinner so you could eat inside and not leave the hotel it has a very nice view. We had a nice vacation and I would recommend Pink Shell, staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jlamb723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Pink Shell Beach Resort and Marina. I am glad that you enjoyed our resort and the surrounding area. Thank you for your compliments of our friendly staff. We would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

After our visit last year, we said we would return and come January I booked our weekend. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade to a Captiva Villa and it was wonderful!! Liked having the hot tub to relax in and the big walk-in shower. We felt spoiled.The weekend we come is quiet and not crowded. The food from the pool bar/restaurant is VERY good. Breakfast buffet is EXCELLENT. Another good experience for us and would easily say yes to a visit again next year!

Room Tip: Sanibel View Studio is sufficient since you spend most of the time out in the sun at the beach or by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IllinoisMrsZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for coming back to the Pink Shell for a second visit! I am delighted that you enjoyed your upgraded villa and our restaurants, Bongo's and Jack's. We would love to have you back again next year.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had a very good experience at the Pink Shell Resort. I stayed in a two-bedroom apartment style room which was LUXURIOUS. We had an awesome view of the beach and pool, and although we didn’t spend a ton of time in the room, we had enough space to accommodate the whole family to play cards in the evening.

The location is great, the staff was friendly and helpful, and the food at Bongo’s restaurant far exceeded my expectations (wasn’t sure what to expect from a resort restaurant, and it was yummy!).

We were an all adult family group, but the resort appears to be very family friendly- many patrons came with kids and were having a good time.

If you’re looking for a nice place to stay in the Fort Myers Beach area, I’d recommend checking out the Pink Shell!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

I am so delighted that you will be recommending the Pink Shell to your family and friends. Thank you for your wonderful comments on our restaurant, Bongo's. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next Fort Myers Beach vacation.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great pool, good breakfast, beautiful beach. The hotel is huge but the service is nice and friendly. It was very crowded on Memorial Day weekend but afterwards it was fine. Our room was large and clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Birgit U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Pink Shell for your family vacation. I am glad you enjoyed interacting with our associates and found them to be friendly. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We are fans of the Pink Shell!! My one year old and three year old were right at home at this amazing resort! We had the best time!

We just returned from seven nights at the Pink Shell, we are so happy that we chose this resort. The staff was SO friendly and helpful. From the front desk, concierge, bellman, housekeeper, to restaurant greeter, EVERYONE was nice!

We stayed in the Captiva Villas and were thrilled with our room on the 7th floor. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. The room was kept clean, we enjoyed the benefits of daily housekeeping services. We were never short on clean towels.It was so nice to have a full kitchen to prepare meals. Although, be aware that there is not an oven, but a convection microwave. It sounds silly but, my favorite perk of our room were all of the hooks on the walls! It was great to be able to hang beach towels, wet swimsuits, bags, and p.j.'s.

Our package included daily breakfast buffet at Jacks. It was awesome!! Omelet station, waffle station, you name it for breakfast, they had it.

The pools were clean and abundant. My young kids had a blast in the kiddie pool.
The beach was well kept and beautiful. We never had to compete for a beach chair or umbrella.

We love the Pink Shell!

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view. Try for a corner room in Captiva Villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We are extremely pleased to know that you had a wonderful family beach vacation at the Pink Shell. Thank you for spending your valuable time with us and thank you for sharing your exceptional experience with other travelers. We would love to have you back on your next vacation.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had our honeymoon here and couldn't have been happier with everything. The room was great and very clean. The view was awesome. The food was good; especially the free breakfast everyday. The location was nice as it was the last resort on the beach. Sunsets were beautiful too see each day and the celebration they do there was fun too. Definitely will be going back there for an anniversary at some point.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeniorPSR, Public Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Congratulations on the celebration of your wedding. We are so happy that you choose to stay with us on your honeymoon. We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary, if not before.

Kind regards,

Maredith Rizzo
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers Beach
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,853 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#12 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,685 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers Beach / Sanibel Gateway
Hampton Inn & Suites Fort Myers ...
#10 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,435 reviews
1.4 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,168 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
Sandpiper Gulf Resort
#8 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina

Address: 275 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £178 - £457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Top Florida Resort, Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina was voted the #2 resort on the Gulf coast of Florida by Conde Nast Traveler. Book on our website and you get more than a great room or suite at our beachfront resort. Every time you reserve and stay with us, and with every hotel deal we offer, you receive two breakfasts each day, two drinks, two in-suite bottles of Voss water, a Pink Shell Resort beach bag, and daily beach lounge chair and umbrella rental. The only thing we overlook is the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Splitty, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Pink Shell Beach Resort And Marina
Pink Shell Beach Hotel
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing