We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pink Shell Beach Resort was excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Pink Shell Beach Resort was excellent”
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed at the Pink Shell Beach Resort over the 2010 Memorial Day weekend and my wife and I had an excellent stay. This resort is great for both families and couples. The resort is very family oriented, with a host of activities to keep kids happy. We really enjoyed the Crabtona 500 where the kids picked out their favorite hermit crabs, which were numbered and placed on a circular table. The first 6 crabs to reach the outer ring of the table earned the child that selected the crab an ice cream sundae. There were a lot of other activities as well for kids.

There are 4 pools at the resort, so there is plenty of room for everyone to swim, not to mention the Pink Shell is on a beautiful strip of Fort Myers Beach. The main pool has a lot of action as there are kids and adults at either ends of the lagoon shaped pool. There is a large pool, beachfront at one of the other buildings, and is more adult oriented and quiet. So whatever you choose....it's there.

The food was great as well - the restaurant at the pool served some very good food, including an excellent Caribbean Jerk Chicken sandwich. For breakfast, we ate at the buffet, and again everything here was very good. On our trip, we were given 2 buffet tickets for each of our 3 days at the resort.

The room we stayed in was very nice, comfortable, and very clean. We had a small kitchenette that we did not use except for coffee. If you wanted to prepare or keep any food, everything was there for you. The room had a nice tv and free internet service.

The staff at the resort was also very friendly and helpful. Everyone was very nice and polite, and it was nice talking to some of the employees as they were from various countries around the world.

On this trip it was my wife and myself, and we really enjoyed everything about the Pink Shell. You are just a short walk to the Times Square area of Fort Myers as well as many restaurants within walking distance. If you have transportation, there are many additional restaurants within easy driving distance. You didn't have to leave the Pink Shell if you didn't want to, restaurants on property, a store on property selling everything from towels, to floats, to sunscreen. They have a fitness center and a spa, which we did not get to use. On the beach, there is a watersports company renting out various equipment like Seadoos, chairs, umbrellas, and Hobies.

In a nutshell, this resort is set up to provide you a relaxing vacation. We are already looking at making a return trip to Fort Myers Beach and the Pink Shell Resort.

Ed

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emw114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,521
    703
    211
    80
    53
See reviews for
1,675
1,203
46
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We originally had 3 nights reservation at this hotel but we cant not put up with it thru the first night so we check out the next day. The room in the sanabel building are old and not updated yet. There was a lot of calking in the bathroom and the room itself smell terrible. The beach had lot of sea weeds and the water was very muddy. Nobody swimming at the beach. The octo pool is small and lot of people packing in it. Back to the room, we had flee bites and lot of it so for you and your family safety, please dont come here unless you dont mind the flea and the smelly old room then this is your perfect hotel. We told the front desk about the fleas problem, and their reponse was "oh really" and that was it.....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacationer34515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDirectorPSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry that your stay at the Pink Shell Beach Resort and Spa did not meet your expectations. Our Sanibel View studio guest rooms are one of our most popular accommodation types based on their location, room size, lanai size and in-room amenities, which include a kitchenette. Within the last two years, we have updated these rooms with new beds and carpet, and we currently are in the process of installing new, flat panel televisions. I regret that you found the Octopool too crowded and I hope that you explored the other pools we have available to our guests. As to the condition of the beach, we go to great lengths to rake our beach regularly when needed, but are often constrained from doing so when sea turtle nests are present or when weather and tide conditions do not permit it. And yes, one can feel the discomfort of sand flea bites from time to time, and we encourage our guests to rinse off when leaving the beach. I’m sorry that you were not offered more constructive advice when inquiring about this matter. I can assure you that, on your next visit to our Resort we will strive to exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I've never had hotel reservations not honored when i checked in,until i experienced the Pink Shell.On check-in date we were to have 2 bed suite,plus 3 more 1 bed suites for a family reunion.Desk clerks seemed confused or undertrained.Kept telling me i had 5 one bed suites i kept telling clerk no,finally mgr came out of his ofc,to tell me guests that were in 2 bed suite the night before wanted to stay an extra night,so they gave them my suite!! Mgr seemed to think i would be fine with their poor decision,of course there were no other 2 bed suites available.We paid extra for a larger suite,so my elderly parents could be with us & living space for extended family to visit.We ended up having to stay one night in 1 bed suites,than changing rooms Saturday morning.This was offered by the night mgr Bonnie,she also comped the rooms for the first night.This was delayed good management.We were upset for several hours,the daytime mgr should have done this to appease what was their mistake in judgment.The day mgr did tell us we could use a vacant conference rm all weekend,however the next night when we asked for access to the room,the desk clerk said it was for the previous night only.Besides the reservations horror,there were no luggage carts & no luggage handler in sight.The elevators were broke down half the time.My brother was stuck on one for about 15 mins,another time had to walk two flts of stairs up a stairwell in 90 degree heat.JoJo's restaurant had below average food,no ac(i knew beforehand),but paddlefans that were on slow & slower.Waiter quoted wrong price on one meal to 2 different people,than charged the higher amt when the bill came after a very long wait in a sweltering room.I also noticed not one employee who appeared to be hotel security..after i saw 5 children on seperate occasions alone on elevators between the ages of 5-10(parents what are you doing???)I was very disappointed with the resort**

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ldk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDirectorPSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
On behalf of the management and staff of the Pink Shell Beach Resort and Spa, we sincerely regret that your family reunion was marred by our inability to house you in the correct accommodation type. While compensation was extended to you for the mix-up, the unpleasant memories associated with the experience are the greatest loss, both for you and the Pink Shell. Your comments regarding the service at JoJo’s will be reviewed with the appropriate individuals so that corrective action can be taken and no future guest suffers the same frustration that you and your family did. While we generally do not have any trouble with our elevators, the occasional power surge or outage can disrupt service, and this can certainly happen during this time of year. Again, I offer my sincere apologies for the less-than-perfect experience at Pink Shell Beach Resort and Spa. If you choose to visit us in the future, I can assure you of an experience that will exceed your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The location of the hotel was great, it was located along the beaches and surrounded by gulf waters. Our 12 year old loved the octopool.The rooms were clean, Room service was O.K it took them about 40 minutes to bring us an extra towel. Overall the hotel stay was great. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_mee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDirectorPSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
Thank you for posting your comments. We’d love to have you come and stay with us again (and we’ll certainly work on getting those extra towel requests handled more efficiently)! Hopefully, you provided us your e-mail address before leaving, for you’ll soon be receiving our tantalizing special offers reserved only for those guests who have stayed with us before. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Nice, Clean, Affordable. Large pools. Nice restaurant. Very good for family travel. And it is very affordable with the forida recident specials!!! Just $ 160. the night.
I realle recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDirectorPSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
Families are our specialty! Our large guest rooms, large pools and terrific activities for the kids make us a very desirable beach-front destination for families from all over Florida as well as those from the Northeast and Midwest. And our special low summer rates make us very affordable as well. Thank you for pointing these things out. Come back and see us soon! And thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streamwood, IL
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2010

A wonderful resort for families--very clean, spacious, friendly staff and more. The pool is outstanding. It is zero depth-so everyone can enjoy from little kids to adults. The beach is beautiful and the resort is on the "Quiet" side of Ft. Myers Beach island. There are also lots of of activities and crafts for kids, when you need a break from the sun. Fun, make your own sundae bar, too. Also, great for adults and couples, too. They have a nice bar and great food at the restaurants and Beautiful spa, for those who like to indulge. Even the guests were very friendly--it seems everyone was having a wonderful time! GO and ENJOY.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoomsDirectorPSBR, Guest Relations Manager at Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 1 July 2010
I certainly had a wonderful time reading your review. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. The single most important job that each and every one of our staff members is responsible for is ensuring that everyone is having fun. Our recreation team does by organizing fun activities and pool-side games. Many of our housekeepers do it by making animals out of towels in our guest rooms. All of us are dedicated to ensuring that our guests have a memorable stay at Pink Shell Beach Resort and Spa, and it sounds like we succeeded in that goal with you. Thank you again for taking the time to write.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Traveling with 4 teens can be tricky, but the Pink Shell has plenty of activities to keep them occupied. The semi-remote location at the end of the island makes for little traffic noise. The spa was relaxing and with 4 pools and a nice white sand beach, there were plenty of ways to get wet. The food is a bit pricey, but you are only a 10 minute walk from several dining and shopping options in "Times Square".

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulH1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Myers Beach
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,807 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
Sundial Beach Resort & Spa
#7 of 19 in Sanibel Island
2,346 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#2 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
605 reviews
1.4 mi away
DiamondHead Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,135 reviews
15.6 mi away
South Seas Island Resort
South Seas Island Resort
#2 of 4 in Captiva Island
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina

Property: Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Address: 275 Estero Boulevard, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-2012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Top Florida Resort, Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina was voted the #2 resort on the Gulf coast of Florida by Conde Nast Traveler. Book on our website and you get more than a great room or suite at our beachfront resort. Every time you reserve and stay with us, and with every hotel deal we offer, you receive two breakfasts each day, two drinks, two in-suite bottles of Voss water, a Pink Shell Resort beach bag, and daily beach lounge chair and umbrella rental. The only thing we overlook is the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Pink Shell Beach Resort And Marina
Pink Shell Beach Hotel
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing