We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beachfront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DiamondHead Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Fort Myers Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2008

First, can I just address a lot of the negative reviews about this place? If you read them, the reviewers liked the Diamondhead, but didn’t like Fort Meyers. Well, if you wanted Naples but were too cheap to pay for it, don’t complain about it. Fort Meyers and Naples are two distinct places and if you didn’t know Fort Meyers is a little more of a down and dirty party beach, that’s your problem, not the Diamondhead’s.

Second, as far as this hotel, it was a very nice place to stay. Right on Fort Meyers Beach and in easy walking distance to bars and places to eat. Of course, you can also walk to the touristy t-shirt shops and what-not that abound in this area. Rooms were extremely spacious suites, with a large living area with fridge, microwave, etc. There was a clean bathroom and a large bedroom with its own separate TV. The huge screened-in balcony, which was accessible from both the bedroom and living room, was equipped with two sun chairs and a table with four additional seats and makes for a great place to hang out.

The staff was very friendly and note that they do allow for a complimentary late checkout, if your room is available. You have to call the morning of, to see if they need the room sooner. You also have the option of paying $50 and staying until 4 pm the day of checkout. Something to take advatage of if you want one last trip to the beach before its time to go home!

Note, we were there in January 08 and the beach had a lot of seaweed, so I am not sure if this is an isolated problem or not. Not really swimming weather when we were there, so it didn’t matter, but would be a problem if you intended to take a dip. I’d stick to the pool!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank baxwelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2008

We had a beach-view suite on the 3rd floor. The room was very nice and clean. The view was awesome from our screened-in deck. We were able to watch both the sunrise and sunset from our deck.

I wouldn’t recommend any room except the beach-view rooms, because the view of the water and beach was so unobstructed and no one from other rooms can see on your deck. The other rooms, overlooking the pool, are in an L-pattern, so all the other decks face each other. If privacy is a concern, such as walking around with the doors open to your deck, then the beach-view room is the way to go.

Just before sundown each evening, we were entertained watching the very competent beach boy, clean up and put away all the umbrellas and chairs. It seemed he had to argue with some lingerers every night in order to get their chairs. He was a very hard worker and probably underpaid. The beach area was well maintained and they kept “interlopers” away from the paid chairs. So we were able to go in the water and not worry about someone taking our spot.

The food in Chloes restaurant was excellent. There are two nice dining areas, one in the small dining room and the other on the outside deck.

But here is where we found fault. The service in Chloes was about as bad as it gets. Even though there were plenty of workers, they were unable to clean tables or even bring food and drinks in a timely manner and constantly mixed up orders or forgot to order items.

One evening the bartender told us that if we put in our name she could get us the last table at the outside dining area. At that time, there were 3 occupied tables, out of 20 tables. The entire time we were outside that night, (until 9PM), only 4 tables were occupied at any one time.

The staff constantly apologized and said how busy they were because the opposite seating area was taking their attention. One evening I finally got up and checked on the opposite seating area and confirmed my suspicion…there were hardly any customers in either eating area. I did this on 3 different days; there were only a few tables occupied in any area. So I have no idea what the staff was doing.

Once the manager of the hotel gets the service issue in Chloes corrected, there will be nothing to complain about with this location.

The Bell captain was very helpful and was always patrolling the parking area to keep out non-customers of the hotel.

The hotel location was very good considering the island circumstances. We were less than a half mile from the Times Square area and so walking everywhere was just fine. Driving was another issue. There was a constant stream of cars coming over the bridge to the island; most of the time the line of cars barely moved. So driving anywhere was not recommended. But this isn’t the fault of the hotel, just a fact for the island in general.

We would strongly recommend this hotel for staying on Ft. Myers Beach.

Tom & Cindy Lynch
Cedar Rapids, IA
aegwell@mchsi.com

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank aegwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2007

DiamondHead was in a great location. 10 minute walk down Estero Blvd or on the Beach to Times Square. Many bars/eateries to stop at along the way. Check out happy hours-usually from 3-5 or 4-7. Times Square has all kinds of shops & restaurants/bars to enjoy. I recommend Gulfsore Grill-all you can eat shrimp,ribs & king crab for $24.95-Really!
Head south on Estero Blvd for fabulous italian food at Anthony's or great grouper tacos at the Fish House. Each room at Diamond head has a kitchen equiped with a small fridge. Topps Market, 7 Eleven within walking distance. We stocked up on Beer, water & soda. Winn DIxie & Publix easy to get to with a car.
Buy your own breakfast stuff because I wasn't impressed with any breakfast. The hotel is only $4.95 but not very good.
If you have a car, make sure to drive to Sanibel & Captiva Islands-only about 30-45 minutes away. Beautiful beaches-Sanibel with lots of shells. We also took a day & drove south to Naples & Marco Island. Naples is only 1/2 hr away & has wonderful beaches and Marco Island is another 1/2 hr further.
The bell man at DiamondHead was very helpful with information about the other beaches & Island.s We just loved Ft Myers but those "Love bugs" were a bit annoying at times.

The Grady's From Chicago Illinois

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank oldladygrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2007

My wife and I and our 2 kids, ages 12 & 10 just returned from a week stay at DiamondHead and could not have had a more positive experience. The room was well kept and featured a dorm sized fridge, coffee maker, dishwasher and utensils. It had king size bed in the bedroom (all rooms are 1 bedroom suites) and a queen sized pull out in living room. There was a large screened in balcony and an excellent A/C unit.
The staff was great and the location cannot be beat. It is less than a mile from the Times Square area and all the restaurants/bars/shops that you could want. The beach was beautiful and clean and the pool decent sized.
Some quick grades on local eateries and bars:
Matanzas Inn-B+ Good seafood, nice ambience (Marina)
Anthony's on the Gulf-C Mediocre & high priced Italian
Gulfview Grill-B+ Good seafood and nice ocean view
Beach Pierside Grill-B Good sports bar food and prices right on the beach.
Wahoo Willies-B+ Times Square area great value food and drinks. $1.49 for 16oz draft beers all night.
Parrot Key Grill-A+ Went there twice and was great both times. It is just over the bridge on San Carlos Island. It has a great marina location and vibe and superior food/service. Reasonably prices for the quality. Note: we took a cab from the hotel and it was only 5 bucks (they charge per zone not on a meter) and they gave us a card to call them back and were prompt both times. All the cabs hang out by the 7-11 a block north of the resort.
Beached Whale-fun bar that has a rooftop section overlooking Estero Blvd
Barking Shark- bar right on the beach $3.50 a beer
Cottage Bar- attached to the Gulfview grill and also right on the sand, has nice atmostphere (strictly flip flop casual as opposed to the much more formal (tuck your shirt in) Gulfview. Beers were $2.75

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank yannarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

My husband and I celebrated our 3yr anniversary at this hotel and We were very pleased with the accomodations and staff. Everyone was friendly and seemed genuinely concerned about our stay. The spacious room and the amenities made us feel at home for the few days we were there. The sunset views were outstanding to watch on the beach and at the Cabana Bar. We would recommend this as a great, clean hotel with more to offer than a regular hotel. Worth the stay and then some.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pktsiz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

The hotel is very nice! If you are going to stay at Fort Myers Beach, stay here at Diamond Head or at the Edison Beach House (it looked real nice from the outside).

The staff at Diamond Head was very nice and helpful. The room we stayed at was Premium Gulf view on the 4th floor. That means that you get a room with updated appliances, and granite counters.

The room we stayed in was clean, and had a view of the beach and the pool. The bed was okay, the shower was small - but with good water pressure, bathroom was nice, and the front room and porch also nice. Furniture and TV was little dated.

The pool and the beach were nice. We walked from the hotel to the pier on the beach, bring your flip-flops.

Food at the hotel was okay, but on the expensive side compare to the quality. Go to the grocery store, and buy your food there. Important note for coffee drinkers: the coffee was not good; I went down the road to the Dunkin Donuts in the morning for my coffee needs. It's about 5-10 minute trip from the hotel, but worth it.

The town is little rundown, but here are some noteworthy places nearby the hotel: the McDonalds is okay (it also little rundown), Hooters was good place to watch the game, the Lani Kai was just experience walking by it, and the Tiki Bar was fun (I would go there again).


Would I stay at this hotel again? Yes.

Will I come to this town again? No.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank davidkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

The Diamondhead hotel is a gem in the middle of the filthy, run down area of Fort Myers Beach. We choose the Diamondhead because we have a 2 yr old and needed a suite on the beach that was affordable. We wanted to stay in Naples, but everything that met that criteria was too expensive. The hotel is nice, the room was clean and had a terrific view of the ocean with a lanai. The pool was nice and the beach in front of the hotel was clean and there were toys for our son to play with. We had breakfast at the restaurant in the hotel every morning and the service was VERY slow. We did ask for a crib in the room, which was there upon our arrival, but it was very small and our son was almost to big for it. That is where my good review ends. We walked down to the Fort Myers pier one afternoon -- not worth the walk, the restaurants were dirty looking, there are cigarette butts and litter everywhere and the other hotels along the beach looked very run down. We went into Naples at night to eat at nice restaurants and the traffic was terrible and you couldnt get in to eat during the hours of 5-7 when the older locals go out to dinner. It was difficult with a child.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eviltwinfawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Myers Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
Best Western Plus Beach Resort
#4 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,831 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
Wyndham Garden Fort Myers Beach
#13 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
1,664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edison Beach House
Edison Beach House
#3 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pierview Hotel & Suites
Pierview Hotel & Suites
#18 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
399 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lovers Key Resort
Lovers Key Resort
#5 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
Pink Shell Beach Resort & Marina
#6 of 47 in Fort Myers Beach
3,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DiamondHead Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DiamondHead Beach Resort

Address: 2000 Estero Blvd, Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931-3215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Fort Myers Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Fort Myers Beach
Price Range: £145 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DiamondHead Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DiamondHead Beach Resort is a landmark beach resort in the entertainment district of Fort Myers Beach, featuring spacious 1-bedroom suites, Cabañas Beach Bar & Grille, Chloës Seafood & Steaks, spa services, beachfront pool, guest bicycles, fitness centers, and endless recreation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your DiamondHead Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamondhead Beach Hotel Fort Myers Beach
Diamondhead Resort In Fort Myers Fl
Diamond Head Beach Resort
DiamondHead Beach Resort Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing