We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRIED TO SCAM US TOO - Avoid this place”
Review of Super 8 Ft. Pierce

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Ft. Pierce
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed there for a couple of nights and the manager suddenly accused us of having a pet. I just saw another review where they were also accused of having a pet (wish I would have seen that before we stayed there!) They started saying they had "pictures" but when I asked to see the "pictures" or talk to the "witnesses," they couldn't produce anything. I think this place must just try to scam people to make some extra money. What I don't understand is if they believe someone has a pet, why they don't just come and knock on the door and ask to look in the room while you're there, or even have the cleaning people check it out when you're not there. I mean, it would be easy enough to prove if they really thought you did have a pet, wouldn't it ? It's strange that they just accuse you of something with no evidence whatsoever. Very strange indeed, and especially when I see another reviewer had the same issue. The office staff was unprofessional, unfriendly and rude - and they do not speak or understand english very well either, so be careful of what you say because they will misinterpret it. I had to repeat things several times over before they really understood what I was saying (which also goes back to the other reviewer saying that they said the word "kids" and the manager thought they said "kittens."). It also wasn't the cleanest place I've ever stayed and it was in a very industrial part of town - a bit "shady" looking. Let's just say I wouldn't want to go walking after dark in this area (would barely want to walk in daylight hours). The "breakfast" was awful and the office always had a funny smell to it. Needless to say, we will absolutely NOT be staying there ever again. It's the first time I've ever had a hotel try to scam a fee out of me - I hope this place doesn't speak of all Super 8's or we won't ever be staying at a Super 8 ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

Booked at 1am for 2am arrival, reception guy was very helpful and even volunteered to let us check out a little late. Rooms were not fancy but clean and included a fridge & microwave.
Breakfast wasn't impressive, but not bad.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caseynshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

After we had been there for 5 days, my husband tried to extend our stay by 1 day. When he went to the office, the manager suddenly started claiming we had a pet and tried to force us to pay $250 for a "pet fee." If he really thought there was a pet, why didn't he come to our room to talk to us or see if there was a pet ? I mean, we had been there 5 days. As my husband was talking to him, the manager began pointing his finger in an accusing manner at my husband and claimed my husband "just said" he had "2 kittens" when in fact my husband said "2 kids." The man obviously didn't speak or understand english very well. Then he claimed he saw us "carrying a bag in and out every day". My young children and father were staying at a relative's house nearby, but their luggage stayed with us so I could pick out their clothes. Each day I carried clean clothes/snacks/beach towels to them. And each evening, I came back with their dirty clothes. So, that was his "proof" of a pet - the fact that we walked in and out with a bag ?? We begged him to come to the room and show us any evidence of a pet - any hair on the beds or carpet. Conveniently, he said the linens had already been taken. I asked him to retrieve the dirty linens or find any pet hair on the carpets. He could produce no evidence, yet said his "staff" were witnesses to pet hair on the beds. Hmmm, the same staff that is on his payroll are going to be "witnesses" -- I guess so !!! How many other guests has he tried to pull this on?? And although in light of everything else, this is a minor issue to mention, but the "continental breakfast" was awful and the front office always smelled of Indian food. Many times, the doors were locked and you couldn't even get into the office. I saw people trying to check in that had to wait for someone to come to the door, and it was in the middle of the day ! Our room didn't even have a remote control to the TV. My husband had to ask twice over 2 days before they ever gave us one. And although on my reservation, I stated there would be 2 adults and 2 children, we only had 2 towels in the bathroom !! It was a good thing that the remainder of the evenings my children stayed with a relative because I would have had to beg for more towels ! The staff was rude and unprofessional. I won't ever make the mistake of staying there again. Absolutely THE WORST hotel experience we've ever had. We left without staying the last night, even though we paid for it. Don't EVER stay at the Super 8 hotel in Ft. Pierce Florida !!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tidefans14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FtPierceGM, Manager at Super 8 Ft. Pierce, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Thank you for staying with us.
We do remember your stay in the room directly across from our lobby. An independant contractor (painter) called your animal cage to our attention, asking if we allowed pets.
We do not, but since you did have cats in the cage, you should have been charged. the cleaning fee
Several staff members also saw this, and one took a phograph.

We make great efforts to keep the rooms clean and comfortable for all guests, which is why we cannot allow animals.
As a final note, you may remember you were not charged for these pets in the end.

There was no scam involved, and I regret your untrue comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Clean room, reasonable price, get a room away from US 1, less road noice. Near shopping and area attractions.

Room Tip: Get one in the back, less road noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jay34144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Quick stay, easy check in, clean rooms. Good value!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SPXW_CL_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Worst hotel experience ever!!!

We arrived there at night, had mentioned a late check-in with reservation and called them maybe 20 minutes before our arrival, still had to wait 10 minutes before someone came to the night desk after we rang the bell.
We were welcomed by an intense odor of indian food and spices coming through the little hole in the night desk we got the room keys through. I can only imagine how it is when you're inside and have to eat your breakfast there...

We went to the first room they offered us and came into a sauna. It was hotter inside than outside because the A/C was turned off. We turned it on but I guess it would have taken hours to cool down the room from over 100°F.
First thing I always do is inspect the beds...and here the bed was extremely dirty. There were brown stains all over the linen and long black hair in the bed and on the pillows.
We complained and got another room with two beds this time. Same thing, A/C was turned off, around 100°F in the room and both ! beds were dirty. There were dark stains and yellow stains like urine in the beds.

We ended up cancelling our stay there, had a 20 minute discussion with the lady at the night desk but got our money back from expedia where we booked the room with.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marsu12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 October 2011

We apologise that you were not happy with any of our rooms - The problems you mentioned are not typical.
We take pride in keeping our hotel clean, and hope you give us another chance to meet your lodging needs in Ft Pierce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My family and I stayed at the Super 8 in Fort Pierce last week and it was a wonderful stay. Very impressed with how clean the rooms were compared to other Super 8 motels that I have stayed in. The manager was very friendly and courteous. I will recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Fort Pierce.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danpage06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 20 October 2011

Thank you for your kind review, we certainly appreciate your business.
Please stop and stay with us again when you are in our area.
We look forward to seeing you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Pierce hotels
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ft. Pierce
Red Roof Inn Ft. Pierce
#13 of 24 in Fort Pierce
63 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Fort Pierce
Comfort Suites Fort Pierce
#9 of 24 in Fort Pierce
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#12 of 24 in Fort Pierce
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce
4.8 mi away
At Home Inn & Suites
At Home Inn & Suites
#10 of 24 in Fort Pierce
109 reviews
4.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ft. Pierce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ft. Pierce

Address: 612 S US Highway 1, Highway 70 E. to US 1, Fort Pierce, FL 34950-8304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Price Range: £49 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ft. Pierce 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Super 8 of Fort Pierce is located within walking distance of Downtown Fort Pierce, a unique area offering a variety of different dining and shopping experiences! The beach is a brisk, five-minute drive away! Located within close proximity are the Indian Hills Golf Course, the Heathcote Botanical Gardens, the Navy Seal Museum, the Fort Pierce Marina, the Manatee center, the A.E. Backus Museum, the St.Lucie County Aquarium, and many, many other local attractions! The property features a pool, in addition to a coin-operated laundry facility and vending machines. Our standard amenities, among many others, include a microwave-refrigerator unit, an iron and ironing board, a coffee maker, a television package that includes HBO, free high-speed wireless internet access, and a complimentary continental breakfast to start your day. Book your stay today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Ft. Pierce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Fort Pierce
Super Eight Fort Pierce
Fort Pierce Super 8
Fort Pierce Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing