We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful is just a word. This garden is so much more!”

Heathcote Botanical Gardens
Ranked #7 of 88 things to do in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
340 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Beautiful is just a word. This garden is so much more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Amazing. I have never seen such wonderful Bonsai plants or breathtaking flowers. The reflection pool was stunning. My wife and I truly enjoyed everything about this place. The Japanese garden, palm trees, pioneer house and all the rest was fantastic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFloridaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    43
    7
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, quaint botanical garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Large bonsai exhibit otherwise not so special. It gave us something to do while in the area. Fort pierce is a boating town, bistro there has a terrific salad with vanilla, champagne dressing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just visited this botanical gardens for the first time this past weekend, Easter Sunday.

I was impressed and surprised to find the huge collection of bonsai's - the biggest in south Florida, from my understanding.

The gardens, plants, creeks, and general areas are beautifully kept and the peace and quiet you find there is wonderful.

Would definitely go back again and visit when I'm in the area, and the gift shop has wonderful souvenirs hand crafted by local artists, definitely a must visit !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ksereix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Needed some tender loving care. Not what I had expected. The grounds were not very well taken care of. Although it was open there was not anyone there in the office.
Still worth the visit if you are in town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AJAARIZONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Pretty Gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

These gardens are located in S. Ft Pierce area. It is on Savannah Dr between Hwy 1 and Indian River Dr. It is not very large botanical garden. There is a gift shop at the entrance. They do advertise that they have the largest collection of tropical bonsai plants in the US. They also have several different gardens to walk around and admire. It is very peaceful and relaxing. There were a few gardens that needed tending, but it may be that winter was just ending and they were getting ready to work on them.
Being that this was a small garden, I am not sure that I would have wanted to drive a long distance to just come here. But I think if you live or are visiting in the area, you would be pleased that you paid them a visit. Great for nature, or photography lovers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank maxona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Heathcote Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing