We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This was our 3rd year staying here while we were in town to watch our son play college baseball. The location is nice, right on the inlet and the staff is very friendly. The only suggestion I have is "bring back the cookies". They were so yummy. With the new ownership, I was happy to see microwaves and refrigerators in every room. Unfortunately, our son graduates this year, so I am not sure we will be down again next spring, but if we ever do return in the future, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K2414w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad to see we were able to accomodate you over the years and that you've noticed all the positive changes since the new ownership. Along with the new fridge and microwaves we've also added flat screen TV's to every room, high quality linen including fantastic pillows and have revamped out entire breakfast menu. I'm sorry to hear you may not be returning to the area, but congradulations on your son graduating! We hope you will still find the time to take a relaxing getaway down to the Fort Pierce area, and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    180
    55
    19
    3
See reviews for
182
268
22
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rose City, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We arrived early, was told to enjoy the pool area and other common areas and they would get the room ready as soon as possible. Had a nice family cookout, poolside, and even rented some fishing poles for fishing off e pier, while we waited for our room. Staff was very helpful and pleasant! In the morning, while sunning on the balcony, we watched dolphins playing in the channel, right outside our room! Breaksfast was yummy! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you so much Melissa for letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay with us! I am thrilled to see that you had a great time with your family and that we were able to check in you in early. Great customer service is at the heart of all we do so I'm glad to see you found the staff exceptional, the hotel to be clean and the breakfast to be satisfying. We take great pride in knowing that we are the onlt hotel on Hutchinson Island that can provide a realxing enjoyable stay with all the ammenities for an extremely reasonable price. Thank you again, we look forward to your next family visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We spent one night on our way up the Atlantic coast. It was almost perfect. The hotel is very well maintained and clean. We had a great room overlooking the water. Several good,restaurants are nearby. The only complaint we had was the quality of the breakfast. It came with the room like a Hampton or Holiday Inn Express. But it was really not as good as we have found most of those to be. Cheese omelet was cold - never a good thing. There was no fresh fruit, and the juice was really watered down. If you don't care about the quality of the breakfast, this is a perfect place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rdeank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and take your comments and suggestions very seriously. I am pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be clean and accomodating. The breakfast is something we are continually improving upon, however we do offer a large variety of items such as muffins, danish, bagels, french toast, waffles, bacon, sausage, yogurt, fruit cups, oatmeal, cereal and hard boiled eggs. There is fresh fruit delivered weekly from a local grower that ranges from oranges and grapefruit. I apologize if for some reason we were out of these items during your stay, I will make sure to increase the inventory so that doesn't happen during any other guests visit. We hope to see you in the near future, and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Never having been to the Ft. Pierce area we were not sure where to stay but wanted accomodations fairly close to the ocean. After searching online we decided to stay at the Hutchinson Island Hotel. We were very pleased with our choice as it was a pleasant walking distance to the beach--about 15 minutes --but an easy walk. Our room was clean and well appointed. The staff was friendly and professional. There were several nice restaurants a very short distance away. Overall a great experience and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Ft. Pierce area looking for a waterfront view at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kc12cooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers! I am ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to our hotel, and the Fort Pierce area. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and that your room was clean. We pride ourselves on being the cleanest hotel in Fort Pierce with the friendliest staff. I am glad that you had a chance to enjoy our local beach and restaurants all of which are a short walk away. I hope you enjoyed the beautiful views of the inlet from your private balcony, and from our heated pool located on the water’s edge. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wonderful accomodations & helpful staff . Great location with views of the Intracoastal Waterway. Only a short walk to the beach and a nice area to walk or bike and get some exercise. A good breakfast buffet was provided each morning and a few nice restaurants were nearby for lunch or dinner. CHERI was extremely helpful !!!!

Room Tip: Hotel suites have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tore K, Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us! I am pleased to see that you were able to enjoy some of the breathtaking views our property has to offer. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed our deluxe continental breakfast each morning with both hot and cold items. We pride ourselves on having the friendliest staff in town, and it makes my day knowing that Cherri was so helpful during your stay. We hope the next time you are in town; we will have the pleasure of providing you with another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our say at this hotel, nice room a bit of a view of the water, good places for dinner near by and beautiful walk at near by park and jetty. One of the better hotels we stayed in after our cruise, we worked our way up the coast & back to Fort Lauderdale wish we had stayed another night at this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you Kate for letting others know how much you enjoyed your stay! We are so pleased that you found us on your way up the coast. Hutchinson Island in Fort Pierce is a small area but there is lots to see and do, such as dining at one of our fantastic restaurants, visiting one of the local museums such as the UDT Navy Seal museum or the aquarium located right here on the island. I'm glad you found your room to be nice and clean and enjoyed your view from the balcony. We hope to see you again and hopefully you will be able to stay more than one night! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This small hotel lived up to the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor and elsewhere. Small but clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff complement the convenient location. Waterfront hotel in walking distance to several restaurants and bars. Highly recommend. Great value for the price.
Special thanks to the front desk, cleaning crew, and all the other staff members.

Room Tip: Book early and choose water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikial57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for writing such a nice review! I am so pleased to see that the hotel lived up to your expectations, with clean comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. We offer the most ammenities, including a deluxe breakfast in the morning, free WIFI and a fridge and microwave in every room, all for a reasonable price. We hope to see you the next time you're in Fort Pierce and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Pierce
0.5 mi away
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
15.2 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
0.0 mi away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#7 of 24 in Fort Pierce
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Pierce
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce
11.7 mi away
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
Prestige Hotel Vero Beach
#8 of 27 in Vero Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Property: Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Address: 1230 Seaway Dr, Fort Pierce, FL 34949-3148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing