We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to rest and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Fort Pierce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I chose this place based on the reviews and it is a very good place to stay. My experience did not live up to the more superlative ones; but it is a very clean and well kept place and the breakfast is decent. The beach up about a quarter mile is well within walking distance. A suggestion would be to have a better quality of towel. The ones we had were very thin and small. Also, the a/c struggled to keep the room comfortable and ran constantly. But overall very comfortable, clean, quiet and restful stay. Great place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: Definitely get a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wohali50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other reviewers! I am happy to see that we lived up to your expectations and you found the property to be very clean and tranquil. I very much appreciate your suggestions, and we have recently purchased fresh towels for our guest rooms and are beginning some major renovations to include new AC units and brand new carpeting. Hopefully by your next visit it will all have been completed. Thank you again, and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

We picked this hotel as a stop over on the way from Atlanta to Miami. Never having been to the area, we were surprised at how nice Ft. Port and the hotel were. The staff was helpful and efficient, they directed us to a great restaurant very close by. We had a delicious seafood dinner and enjoyed the atmosphere of this quaint hotel on the water. The room was clean, great view of the water, the bed was awesome and we had a great nights rest. We did not have breakfast on site, but its nice to have the option to eat without leaving site. I only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy this beautiful area. I would definitely go back to this hotel and hope to do so very soon.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilligent21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Thank you for your review! I am pleased that you found us on your way travelling through the state. Hutchinson Island is a small part of Fort Pierce about 10 minutes from the major interstates. We pride ourselves on offering very clean comfortable accomodations with breathtaking views of the inlet and loads of ammenities all for a very reasonable price. We wish you could have stayed longer as well, and hope that you get to on your next visit to the area. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The review from our third-floor waterfront balcony was framed by two coconut palm trees. As boaters, watching tugs, yachts and speedboats fighting the tide under a starry sky was the best of all possible worlds for us. Breakfast was hearty, people were nice. Hitting the beach literally 5 feet from the pool made all the stress melt away. You can tell this is a place in transition, but they've fixed the most important things first. I would go back in a heart beat. It's a piece of heaven on a heavenly island.

Room Tip: Don't skimp -- choose a full view over the water. The "partial view" are balconies ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoriyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us, and letting others know how your visit was! It's great to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy the local scenary. You are correct, we are in the process of updating the hotel such as adding new carpet and curtains to every room. We have already completed many things such as new flat screen TV's, fridge and microwave in every room, and luxerious pillows and comforters. Our deluxe breakfast buffet offers a large variety of items such as bacon and sausage, yogurt, baked goods and fresh oranges from a local grower. Thank you again, we hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel for a week and was delighted that it was BETTER than we expected . The location is just right , easy access to all major roads , but far away as not to have traffic be a part of your soundscape . The water inlet right at the doorstep was very exciting . The hotel was very clean and the rooms were nicely done . All the services needed were provided . We will surely stay here again . Also plenty of restaurants and a beach in the area . But to our surprise at this nearby beach was the local museum and aquarium , a must see ! Give it a try !

Room Tip: The rooms on the SW side were good fro us . The morning sun did not disturb us and the sunsets were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZAMVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experience with other viewers, and thank you very much for the beautiful pictures too! I'm pleased to see that you really experienced alot of what Fort Pierce has to offer. Along with some beautiful beaches and a wonderful little aquarium and museum, there are plenty of delicious eateries and lounges as well as some shops and the historic Sunrise Theatre downtown. I'm thrilled to hear that the hotel exceeded your expectations, and that we delivered our main goal of providing a clean and comfortable room with a friendly and knowledgeable staf all for a reasonable price. Thank you again, we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My wife and I had to come to Ft Pierce for business/pleasure and after reading reviews of the Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites we were able to book a top floor room overlooking the water. We stayed 4 nights. The view was great and everything about the hotel was pleasant. The staff was very friendly and they recommended several excellent restaurants. Our stay was so relaxing and pleasant and the inlet water was so beautiful that we are looking forward to our next trip back to this hotel.
Ed W, SC

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor overlooking the inlet water way are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are thrilled that you made your business trip a pleasure trip as well, and that you really enjoyed the breathtaking views of the inlet. I am also pleased to hear that our staff lived up to our expectations of providing superior customer service and very knowledgable recommendations of the area. I'm glad you were able to sepnd 4 nights with us, and we look forwarding to you staying again for hopefully just a leisure visit! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We always stay at Best Western, but after disappointment at Best Western at Saint Augustine Beach, we wanted to give this hotel a try after reading high reviews. We requested top floor with water front view. We had top floor room with partial view to water from balcony. The hotel was not fully booked based on numbers of cars in parking lot. Carpet a bit old. Great breakfast bar with a very attentive server lady!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kalyann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for writing your review. I'm pleased to hear that you chose us over the Best Western and that you enjoyed our deluxe breakfast buffet. We offer three different types of rooms, our Royal Palm waterfront suite, the Majesty room with a partial view and the Sabal room with a limited view. I'm not sure of which type you booked, but it sounds to be either the Majesty or Sabal. On your next visit, be sure to reserve one of our Royal Palm waterfront suites, they are in gih demand and sell out quickly. We are in the process of doing updates including new carpet so hopefully this will be completed prior to your next trip. Thank you again, we look forward to having you as our guest in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After staying at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites in July 2013, we decided it was time for a trip back! We were very impressed with our time in the Fort Pierce/Hutchinson Island area and decided to go back for weekend stay.. We were thrilled with this hotel. Sherry recognized us from our last visit and was very friendly and helpful again! The front office staff acted that way towards each guest we saw them interacting with. We had 2 adjoining rooms: one with a King size bed and one with 2 doubles. The rooms were large and very clean. I loved that they have a flat screen TV, a fridge, a microwave and a safe! Each room also had a very spacious balcony. The bathrooms were huge as well. The pool area was great and the hot tub was nice and hot!! The view of the inlet is beautiful. My kids loved the little beach area, especially at low tide. My kids enjoyed catching crabs and wading through the water to see what other creatures they could find! There are boat docks right outside the hotel and this time we brought our fishing poles!! The surrounding area was great. Along with the inlet beaches, there was an aquarium and museum close by. We decided to visit the Navy Seal Museum and enjoyed ourselves. We decided to go back to Chucks for dinner and it was great once again!
Breakfast was included in our stay. They had a great selection of hot and cold items and we were stuffed! We had such a nice time we were sad to leave. It's a great little beachy area. Nice and quiet and I have to admit that it didn't take long for me to fully relax. Thanks for another great weekend!! I hope to see you again soon!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnkimv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Thank you so much for writing another wonderful review! I am so pleased that you brought the family to stay with us agian, and that you were able to explore some of the wonderful Fort Pierce attractions. It's great to hear that the kids really enjoyed playing on our beach, and that you were able to take advantage of one of our pairs of adjoining rooms. Thank you again, and we look forward to "wow"ing you in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Pierce
0.5 mi away
Royal Inn Beach Hutchinson Island
15.2 mi away
Courtyard Hutchinson Island Oceanside/Jensen Beach
0.0 mi away
Dockside Inn & Resort
Dockside Inn & Resort
#7 of 24 in Fort Pierce
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites of Ft. Pierce
13.5 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 1230 Seaway Dr, Fort Pierce, FL 34949-3148
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Fort Pierce
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Family Hotel in Fort Pierce
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Best Value Hotel in Fort Pierce
#2 Business Hotel in Fort Pierce
Price Range: £61 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel & Suites offers waterfront accommodations in a relaxed tropical atmosphere. We are located on South Hutchinson Island directly on the Fort Pierce Inlet. Just steps from the water and nearby businesses and attractions, the Plaza offers something for everyone with private balconies on every room offering gorgeous water views, seasonally heated pool, hot tub, private fishing dock and a Free Hot breakfast in the morning, Free wi-fi, and much, much more, we are sure to please the most seasoned of travelers. We invite you to come and discover the Hutchinson Island Plaza experience for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hutchinson Island Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhurst Hotel And Suites
Sandhurst Hotel Fort Pierce
Sandhurst Motel Fort Pierce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing