We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed review” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn and Suites
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Liberty, IA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Well, I'll start with the positive:
The room was quiet, even though we were on the end facing the main road. (We were on fourth floor). We did not hear any noise from neighboring rooms. The location worked well for us. We were close enough to Destin for all it had to offer, while paying quite a bit less. The property looks nice. The halls are very wide. The staff was all very friendly.

Now, for the negatives:
The elevator beeps at every floor, and it was so loud that, to my ears, it sounded like a smoke detector noise. I had to plug my ears and let my husband operate the elevator.
The vending machines and "store" near the front office were all out of water. I didn't feel like venturing back out at that hour, so we drank tap water. I went to Publix the next morning (we were there for two nights) and bought a case for $5, which is something the manager might have considered doing to take care of the guests.
The shower had absolutely no water pressure. We were on the 4th floor, so there may not have been sufficient force. The shower curtain was too short, so we had to fight it to keep water from getting all over the floor. The toilet needs a new flapper, because it ran intermittently.
We had paid for an "ocean view suite". Well, if you see my picture, you have to look way out there behind the bay and some trees to see a tiny glimpse of the ocean. SO not worth the extra money.
The first day I just wanted to grab a yogurt at breakfast (about 7:30 a.m.) There was none in the cooler. Another guest was also looking for some yogurt. The second day, we didn't bother with going into the breakfast area. You may wonder why we stayed a second night; my husband wasn't feeling well that morning, so he didn't feel like loading up and looking for another hotel for just one night, as we were headed to Orange Beach the next day anyway.
Worst of all was the bed. We had a king size bed and kept rolling into each other in the middle. The second night, I lined up the extra pillows down the middle and it helped to keep us from bumping into one another.
At checkout, I brought up the water pressure, shower curtain and toilet issues, but didn't feel like standing there with a long list of complaints; we were just ready to leave at that point. The clerk was very apologetic, but there was no offer of any refund. They promised to get everything fixed before our next visit. hmmmmm.... don't think there will be one. But hopefully, they can fix those things for someone else's visit.

Room Tip: don't pay extra for "ocean view" get two doubles instead of a king so you're alre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rebeccapeteca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We will address each and every concern you mentioned in your post. We hope you will return and allow us a second chance to give you an exceptional stay as we always want every guest to arrive and depart happy. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    46
    27
    11
    10
See reviews for
74
40
8
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was my first visit to the Fort Walton Beach area, so I had no idea where to stay.
Unfortunately, when this happens my corporate travel agent takes over and books the cheapest room available! Which is not always a pleasant stay!!! I have to say, that for the price, and compared to what else is available in the area i would stay here again!! sure, the carpets are worn, and maybe a little dirty. As are 90% of hotels more than a couple years old. Breakfast was no feast, but for the rate I got on the room, not really an issue. Bottom line, if you are a business traveller that just needs a decent room for a good price, stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HercMech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy you chose to be our guest and hope when your business or personal travel brings you back to Ft Walton, you will make us your first choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort walton veach
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Establishment is old, dirty and items are broken. Non-smoking rooms are sandwiched between smoking rooms. There is no apparent pride by the owners. The breakfast is not worth getting up for. We booked thru expedia and was told we could cancel with a 24 hour notice motel has a 72 notice. They donot honor online policies. Donot recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Palms91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments. The hotel is actually going through some great changes and updating the guest rooms. We sure wish we were able to offer a larger variety of breakfast options, however we follow what the brand has available.
We will look into the Expedia opportunity mentioned in the post to ensure both the hotel and third party websites have the same policies. We hope you will allow us another change to give you a great stay. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Park, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I'm rating this now even tho we checked in earlier today. We called ahead for reservations for one night and was pleasantly surprised to receive the most courteous and efficient service. So when we checked in, the desk clerks were just as nice and fun to talk to. The room was very clean and comfortable. Good location with easy access to a choice of many restaurants.

Room Tip: We are a Choice Hotels member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate you and your business. We are thrilled to hear we not only met, but exceeded your travel expectations. We hope when your travels bring you back to Ft Walton, you will stay with us. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here 2 nights while property hunting and were in a top floor king directly facing the gulf. Room was cleaned well, beds comfortable and it was quite. Would recommend if you don't need beach front access

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for being our recent guest. We are glad to hear you may be making Ft Walton your new home in the near future. We hope until you find your permanent home, we will be your first choice while in the area. We appreciate your review and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Louis, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed one night on our drive through time. Called ahead and received excellent service on the phone. When we arrived, the staff was very friendly and then we found the room to be very comfortable, quiet and clean. The rate was reasonable and we would stay again if given the circumstance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear we met your travel expectations and will return to the property. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connellsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed four nights at the end of December. Housekeeping staff in need of training. After the third night we had to leave a note for them to clean the coffee pot as it had not been cleaned in days. In addition, no coffee was left for the following morning. Only two towels per room so front desk kindly provided additional towels first night. Had housekeeping been observant, they would have left additional towels. They didn't so each evening we had to request them from the front desk along with coffee. Alerted front desk that the door latch was loose and was assured it would be fixed that day. Upon check-out (3 days later) it was not. The hot tub was barely warm and other guests informed us that they complained but were told "that's how it is". Breakfast was the usual choice hotel standard fare. This hotel is just average...that's all. We will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaos202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We will bring your concerns to our management team and address each one of them to ensure we correct this for future guest. We do hope you will give us another chance, when your travels bring you back to Ft Walton as we always want our guest to leave happy. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marina Bay Resort
Marina Bay Resort
#12 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites
Address: 137 Miracle Strip Pkwy SW, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6614
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Comfort Inn And Suites Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing