We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Condo in Destin Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Condo in Destin Area”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Destin West is awesome! We always stay on the Bay side due to the great pool/lazy river. The skywalk makes it super easy for beach access. We have stayed in two different units, both spectacular. The location is great for other activities. I highly suggest a visit to McGuire's Pub. The staff at Destin West are extremely helpful. We had to find an urgent care, and the desk clerk was so amazing. Within minutes, he had verbal and typed directions, and called ahead to make sure they were open and ready for us. The place is always clean and maintained. I know when we go there, we are in for a truly beautiful and relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: Lanai rooms have direct access to pool. Suggest Pelican L06
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brooke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks so much for posting your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed yourselves with us while on vacation. We hope everything worked out well as far as the Urgent Care trip is concerned. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    101
    36
    27
    25
See reviews for
279
40
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pascagoula, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We ennjoyed our stay at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort. The room was nice. The employees were very gracious and accomodating. The pools were all they had advertised and more. We would most definitely recommend and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks for posting your review! We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland Center, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Absolutely amazing location and beautiful condo on the gulf of mexico. Complete family fun in the sun, surf and sand. The condo is right on the beach in Okaloosa Island and is a short boardwalk from the condos to the chairs on the beach. Our family enjoyed spending time doing nothing for a week! Destin West is a perfect getaway for families needing to recharge. HIGHLY recommended!

Room Tip: The gulf side units are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page, doesn't manage the unit you stayed in. However we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtland, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My daughter in law and i thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Destin West. The room was very nice. we stayed on the Gulf side #405. Great access to the beach and we also had access to the Bay side which included the lazy river. i would definitely recommend to anyone. Thank you again Paula Stewart for the wonderful memories we made there.
Lisa Smith
Courtland, MS

Room Tip: i enjoyed the Gulf Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are so glad you enjoyed Gulf 405! We hope to see you again next year.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. We did walk a lot but it was so worth it. Great for all kids. From our balcony you could see the bay on one side and ocean on the other. Clean very impressed. We we checked on...i couldn't find any towels. I called someone and within 10 min I got a phone call telling me where to look

. There is a gas station right next door. They sell drinks, butter, even laundry detergent.. There are a lot of kids here...so if you are trying to honeymoon with NO kids...better look somewhere else. We loved it here. Destin to many people...here was close to everything but away from crazy traffic...

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank krisrtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Destin West Vacations, the owner of this Tripadvisor page, does not manage the unit you stayed in. However, we're glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope you'll come again!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I have brought my family to Destin West for 4 years. This year I made our reservation in Feb for Osprey 503 and was placed in 305. The person made a mistake but the resort made me feel like it was me and gave a snobbish apology and said they couldn't do anything. The furniture was nasty, AC broken, pipes leaked. They did fix the items within a day. Very disappointing stay for a very loyal customer. We're looking for a new place to stay,

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmantle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review. We are very sorry to hear that you were booked into the wrong unit. It happens very rarely, but when it does we understand how disappointing that can be. I've forwarded your concerns along to the staff that assisted you during check in as well as management. We certainly want our guest's experiences to be perfect, and can't apologize enough.
We do hope that after 4 years of staying with us that you'll give us another chance.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed June 6th through the 8th, 2014 in the Villas, our unit needed updating however it was clean. We assumed that because "resort" was included in the name that there would be towels for the beach and pools, and shampoo in the bathrooms. We ended up having to purchase these items which is no big deal but be aware of this before you check in. If we careened our necks to the right we could see a bit of the gulf from our deck, not really what I would consider a gulf view.
On a positive note it was cost effective, and offers a variety of options of pools for kids. I wouldn't stay here as a couple again but would consider it for my adult children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin West RV R, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for posting your review. We aren't able to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. However we are sorry that the resort didn't meet your needs as a couple.
Our villa units are listed and sold as partial gulf view, they face east down Okaloosa Island. For a full Gulf view we recommend a Gulf Front unit in the Gulf Front building.
We offer Villa Penthouse units which are actually perfect for couples and honeymooners; they offer private rooftop decks with hot tubs and gorgeous panoramic views of both the Gulf and the Bay. All of our Gulfside units, including villas, have just been upgraded to offer free wifi and Direct TV satellite television.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,251 reviews
13.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
942 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach R...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Property: Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6822
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Destin West Beach And Bay Resort Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing