We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transformers and Green Roofs with No Towels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

There is no evidence that this property's managers care about customer satisfaction in the least. As a one time customer, the Management's decision to minimize the cost associated to a comfortable stay by their guest is never more evident than the hastle I had to go through just to get more than TWO (2) towels in my condo unit for a four night stay. They verbalized their intent on two guest utilizing two towels over and over for four days. There was ONE (1) hand towel and no other Terry Linen in the Condo at all; no wash rags, no bath mats and no kitchem towels. The lady on the phone with whom I booked with said I had a pool view and gulf view. Thats hilarious, as all I could see was power transformers and the green roof of the run down property next door.
The Manager's responce; "Sir, we are booked solid and you must have misunderstood what the lady said on the phone. If I had a room, we could give you a chance to upgrade. We offer towel service, if you call us." The next morning with a loud thundering boom at the door followed by two guys opening the door came a plastic bag full of linen.

I stay in the Destin area at least a month during the summer season and I must say from my point of view this is the Motel 6 of Condo Rental Companies.

Power Transformers and Green Roofs with No Towels

Room Tip: Go Somewhere ELSE!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Since the unit you rented isn't mentioned, we aren't able to fully determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page.
We're sorry about your poor experience in any event. As far as the photo you posted, it looks like you rented a Villa unit. All Villas face due East, with the Gulf to north and bay to the south. The balconies face due East. It is difficult, but not impossible, to see power poles and transformers to you look to the extreme left when standing on the balconies of the Villas.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for Destin West Beach and Bay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Great location with access to both beach, pool and bay. Very close to shopping areas, restaurants and activities.
Condo exceeded expectations. Great views and big enough to entertain comfortably in a home-like setting.
Love the lazy river and night views

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for posting your review. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Since the unit you rented isn't specified, we are unable to determine whether you rented through us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page.
In any event, we are so glad you had a good time and hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This has been one of the best vacations we have ever had! We absolutely loved the Pelican 503. We had perfect views of the bay and the lazy river pool. If you have children, this is the place to stay. There are so many things for children to do without ever leaving the resort. We are already planning our next trip here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JuejueRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed Pelican 503. We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My Family was very pleased with the Penthouse. The most part was on the roof top on the fourth of July. Fireworks on every side of us. A great memory for my family. And of course we are looking forward to coming back.

Thanks Again,
Conrad

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Reid E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for posting your review. Since the unit you rented wasn't specified, we aren't able to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. In any event, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay on the resort.
We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Overall I would consider going back to Destin West and staying again, but I would better understand the issues and could prepare.

The first issue we encountered was that the unit was not available at the start of the check-in window at 4:00 PM. This was very frustrating as we had a car full of stuff and our plan was to unload and see what we needed so we could go to the store, then enjoy the pool/beach. Unfortunately, since our condo wasn't ready until almost 6:00 we ended up going out to dinner and basically wasted our first evening unloading and shopping. I felt cheated.

The second issue was that the top bunk in the bunkroom is un-usable to anybody who is over 2 feet tall. It was so close to the ceiling that you could not get up there and anybody who did was in danger of smacking their head when they woke up in the morning. We ended up using the pull-out couch which was less than ideal from a comfort perspective.

The beds in our unit were OK, but not great and the same with the bedding.

The positives... Our unit had a kitchen that was very very well stocked. The pools are nice and kept clean. The lazy river had plenty of tubes. They have some BBQ pits so it is easy to grill on both the Beachside and Gulfside. The location is great and access to the Ramada pool next door is also nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you really look at the pictures and read the descriptions of each unit before you reserve...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank atxg8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thanks for posting your review! Because the unit you rented wasn't specified, we aren't able to determine whether or not you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. In any event, we are sorry for your delayed check in.
We do advise our guests that not all condos are ready promptly at 4 pm, and advise folks to have alternate plans between 4-6 pm during busy season. Luckily there are many things to see and do within 5 minutes of the resort, for those who do end up waiting a bit. Later check-in times are typical of the vacation rental industry during busy season, and while it can be inconvenient, it is also unfortunately unavoidable at times.
We are glad that you enjoyed the resort and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is 2nd year in the row we went to Ft. Walton. Last year we stayed in hotel nearby. Condos much better. Able to cook and easy access to beach and pools.
Will go back again.

Only thing to know is to make sure to bring extra toilet paper & dishwasher soap (they only supply 1).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review! Since the unit you rented wasn't specified, we aren't able to determine whether you stayed with us, Destin West Vacations, the owner of this tripadvisor page. In any event, we are glad you enjoyed your stay on the Resort and hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent Rooms, Best Onsite Front Desk Staff, 5 Pools, Lazy River, shares amenities with Ramada Inn that is next which adds additional amenities. Walk across sky bridge to go between Gulf Side and Bay Side.

Room Tip: Excellent Rooms, Best Onsite Front Desk Staff, 5 Pools, Lazy River, shares amenities with Ramada Inn...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jus Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DestinWestVacations, Manager at Destin West Beach and Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for posting your review! We're so glad that you enjoyed your Villa and your stay with Destin West Vacations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Destin West Vacations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Sandestin at Grand Boulevard
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach R...
#11 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Destin West Beach and Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destin West Beach and Bay Resort

Address: 1320 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Okaloosa Island, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6822
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: £97 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Destin West Beach and Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destin West offers the best of many worlds. We encompass both sides of the island, with beautiful views of both the Choctawhatchee Bay and Gulf of Mexico from our family-friendly condos and penthouses. Tired of the sand? Relax on the deck of our large Gulf-side pool while kids enjoy the adjacent Splash Garden. Or float in the Lazy River at our Bay-side tropical pool oasis. We feature villa units all the way to 3 bedroom fully equipped condominiums, all with private balconies. Penthouses feature double decks with roof-top private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Destin West Beach and Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destin West Beach And Bay Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Destin West Beach And Bay Resort Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing