We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Property. Would be better with more shade for pool areas.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Austell, GA
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Property. Would be better with more shade for pool areas.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Four Points in Fort Walton Beach June 28 – July 3, 2014. We stayed on SPG Rewards Points so our stay was virtually at no-cost. Our daughter and Son-in-Law stayed in a separate room for a part of our stay. Overall, we had a good experience with few exceptions…

We stayed in room 214, a courtyard-view room. It was spacious for two persons with a pull-out sofa bed if we needed it (we didn’t). The rooms were recently renovated, and were kept clean and stocked with towels, soaps, etc. My main complaint about the room is we didn’t receive in-room coffee every day while we were there. If there is an in-room coffee maker, then why not give us coffee every day? Otherwise, we went to the lobby to get coffee each morning, but it would have been nice to have coffee first thing without having to get dressed and go downstairs.

The maintenance service was responsive to our needs – John was quite helpful when our AC was not working upon our arrival. He tried to reset it initially… and when that did not fix it, he replaced the entire unit. Took under an hour to do, and it worked fine throughout the remainder of our stay.

The grounds were well-kept and the facilities were updated. The pools were nice though may have needed some additional TLC as they received a lot of use and the water became dirty towards the end of the day (though I did see a pool guy cleaning the courtyard pool each morning). Also, there are not enough areas of shade – several additional umbrellas or canopies would be a great addition to both pool areas as the sun is intense and one can get sunburned without realizing it.

The property had direct access to the beach as it sits right on the gulf. You are just steps to the shore and surf!

The prices for food were decent. You could text your order to the Kiwi Bar of food or drink, and they would bring it to you, even to the beach if you wanted it brought to you there! The drink prices were steep, but that is to be expected. Just don’t order the Dreamsickle drink – it tasted bland and had little to no alcohol in it.

We were fortunate to have stayed through the evening of the Manager’s reception where free food and beer were served from 5pm – 6:30pm. The staff were helpful and friendly, and it basically helped put a dent into our dinner expenses for that evening.

The breakfast buffet was also reasonably priced at $10.50 per person which included food and drink ($11.13 with tax). We ate the day we left, which fueled us up for the trip home.

All in all, a great stay. But please get more umbrellas and/or shady areas for both pools, and the property would rate Excellent!

Room Tip: Book early and cross your fingers... courtyard rooms are quite roomy, so you cannot go wrong with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayGee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We just received 2-3 other requests for the pool umbrellas all at once so I will make that happen very soon. Thank you again for your review and please come back and see us again soon. Regards, Jeremy Skinner – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    307
    127
    61
    51
See reviews for
305
257
48
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anderson sc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

We had an issue after we arrived with how we were charged for the room. Went to customer service and Brandy handle the issue excellent. She made sure it was taken care of immediately. Would stay there again. Beach was quiet, rooms were clean, beds comfortable, guest services excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrskolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad to hear you were taken care of. I will make sure she hears about it. We look forward to your next visit with us. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

2.5 wasn't an option, but that is how we would have rated our stay at the Four Points by Sheraton at Ft. Walton Beach. Most hotels have rooms ready around 2:00 p.m., and sometimes sooner. This hotel does not guarantee a room until after 4:00 p.m. Despite the late check-in time and pre-booking, our room was not prepared for our arrival at 5:00 p.m. Their front desk seemed understaffed (although the staff member there was very polite), and they turned two other groups away that had pre-booked while we stood in line waiting. We were shoved into a hotel room facing the parking lot - which we were alright with - but the hallway outside of our room smelled like dirty feet, similar to a McDonalds playplace, and there was construction just outside of our room and in the room above ours during the day (you can forget hanging out in peace or taking a nap). The shower was poorly engineered and leaked water all of the floor, but otherwise the hotel room seemed clean and nicely furnished. The pools and courtyard here are enjoyable and well-kept. Ordering room service may take you between 5-20 minutes - we were placed on hold for over 15 minutes - but we had placed our order it arrived within 20-30 minutes and the food was good and well-priced. Don't bother with the $10.50 breakfast buffet - it is essentially the same continental breakfast that many other hotels offer for free. You should also know that if you opt into their green program where your towels are not replaced, your garbage will also not be checked on. That may be common, but the hotels I've stayed in by Wydham and Sheraton have usually emptied trash and straightened up with the green program, they just haven't replaced bedding or towels.

Our biggest complaint was that this hotel didn't seem to have their act together due to inadequate staffing. They appeared to have a lot of people working there, but not many that seemed to be able to assist guests. We found that there was frequently a line at the front office with 2-3 people behind the actual desk, but only one staff member would attend to guests. The hotel rooms in the building that we stayed in were middle of the road. We have stayed at many better (and more affordable) hotels and even more affordable/comfortable condos in Destin. We will not be returning to the Four Points.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard or the ocean. Book well in advance and call to confirm that a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize you had some problems during your stay. During the summer months it is difficult to honor any early arrival requests. We try and let all of our guests know if they are arriving before 4:00 pm to make sure and pack a day bag so they can enjoy the resort amenities while we are getting rooms ready. Also, our “Make A Green Choice” program states that we do not enter your room if you opt into this program. However, upon request, we are very happy to empty trash, refill coffee, etc. If you would like to give us a try in the future perhaps you would be happier with one of our beachfront rooms. The room you booked this time was the least expensive room type which has no view. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

This was a nice little last minute find. The rooms were big, the bed was VERY comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The only thing that we considered a negative was that it only had a stand up shower(nice though), because we have an 8 month old baby. Great location, on the beach!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. In the future please ask about one of our rooms with a tub instead of the shower-only rooms. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We booked our room over the phone. We payed for a King, non-smoking beach front room. Don't bother trying to check in early, we got our room after 4 after waiting 3 hours. We were told to keep checking back with the front desk, but again didn't get the room until after 4. Our room was beach front but 2 queens, not a king. We tried to sit on our balcony, but had smokers next to us and above us. This is a non-smoking hotel, tried calling front desk but our phone didn't work. We told front desk and we did have a workman try and fix it but they decided it was an internal problem and it was never fixed. They gave us 2 free breakfast buffets, which was as bad as a gas station breakfast. There is no amount of salsa to make it edible. When calling the front desk later that day only cell phone to ask about update on fixing the phone in our room, I was put on hold, but after 5 min their mute button was pushed and I was now privileged to all the front desk interactions with all check ins. I now had to walk to the front of the hotel to make them aware of this blunder. No manager was around and finally had to flag down someone to help me. I was on hold for 23 min. No phone, smoking, terrible breakfast, and the free BBQ and beer is as nasty as you can get( tough spare ribs and some Sausage with slimy onions and peppers), only 4 umbrellas for the pools, and if you want to set up your own umbrella on the beach you have to walk down the beach to get up to the water because the rentals take up the front of the beach front. We didn't go in the ocean because of the algae and dead fish. We will never stay here and for the 260+ a night I will go back to the Marriott brand and never be duped again by the Starwood properties.
PS.. When we asked the front desk what was the plan if there was an emergency to evacuate the rooms how were they going to let us know without a phone? Never got an answer. They did give us a discount but not enough to ever go back. If you want front beach with Motel 6 quality and pay $$$ this is the place. And my apologies to my husband for terrible accommodation on your birthday and anniversary. Next year marriott only!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank stephanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
My apologies for the multitude of problems you experienced during your stay. We normally receive very good feedback on our food and beverage here at the hotel so I was disappointed to hear about your experience. This is not the typical experience guests have at our property and I hope you will give us another try in the future. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was at this hotel for my friends' beach wedding. It was very beautiful to see their ceremony on the beach on the property behind the hotel. The tiki-bar had great drinks and the bartender and cook who were working at the time, were helpful and friendly. When the guests arrived before the ceremony started we were directed to the bar. All of us were thirsty and we were all taken care of in a speedy but courteous amount of time. Now for the reception --which was beautiful, great space for about 50 people in a family-style table setting shaped as a "T" so the head table was the top of the "T" and the rest of the family, friends and colleagues were at the bottom long, long tables of the "T". When we were asked to come inside and look for our names mine was no where to be found. I later found out the wedding party did not set the tables up with the name setting, it was the hotel staff to which that was a little snag in the night overall but to me that is just terrible. I didn't let it ruin my night but it something that really should be taken into account. I would say for weddings/events they were unorganized and if I were to have a wedding/event in the future planned I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cupcake0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed Kiwi’s beachside Bar & Grill. I apologize for any confusion regarding the wedding reception. I checked with our wedding coordinator and there was someone from the bridal party assigned by the bride doing all decorations and place card settings for the seating of guests. I’m sorry that there was not a place card for you. I am glad that you enjoyed yourself here at The Four Points. We try our best to go above and beyond for all guests who attend any banquets, wedding receptions, and meetings on property. Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is our 2nd time to visit. This year they improved and updated and improved quite a bit. Pools are great. Very close to beach (short walk over board walk). Kids program and Carrie were great. Bar service was excellent and Jessie took care of us. Great for families with kids. Best value hotel in my opinion in the area.

Room Tip: Note that not all rooms are beach front. You have to book an ocean view room to be beachfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JSLATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4PointsbySheratonGM, Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the many renovations and updates we completed around the hotel. Our kid's program has been a big hit this year as well. We hope to see you for visit number three soon! Regards, Jeremy Skinner - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Walton Beach
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#8 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
70 reviews
14.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Destin - Miramar Beach
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Address: 1325 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Points Destin-Fort Walton Beach is a tropical retreat on the beautiful beaches of the Emerald Coast. Friendly service and a relaxed setting in the Florida panhandle will ensure a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Sheraton Fort Walton Beach
Four Points Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Four Points
Fort Walton Beach Sheraton
Four Points By Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing