We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed in a one bedroom suite for two nights with my family. It was a very expensive splurge for a large family at $269 plus fees and taxes per night! I was disappointed as the room was run down and outdated. I believe that the facility manager is not carefully inspecting the property on a regular basis. This hotel stays busy because of its great location--the beach is amazing, and I appreciated the easy beach access, pool activities, tiki bar, and free chairs/umbrellas. But that does not make up for things like the bottom of the bathroom door was cracked and moldy. The tile grout was dirty and stained. The living room rug felt "damp" as if the room needed a dehumidifer. Both the bedroom and living room are very dark. The straw that broke the camel's back was when my family went to the pool at 430 in the afternoon, and there were no pool towels. I asked the girl on duty for some, and her sassy response was "YOU" can check the other pool. I did, and no towels were there as well. I then went inside and asked the front desk for some towels and they said they would bring some out. They did not. My children and I stayed at the pool, ate, and played until it closed that night. Still no towels--for anyone. Many guests were requesting and looking for towels. Surely a beach hotel would plan ahead for the busy summer season and keep towels coming to the pool. Like I said before, the managers are not closing watching this property and holding it and its employees to high standards. I am a priority club member, but this hotel is off my list forever.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, it is worth the extra money to have a room facing the ocean with a balcony. The...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewelbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Priority club member;

Thanks you for sharing our feedback with us. On the other hand, we apologize for disappointing you. As I mentioned before, we have been aware our property needs some renovations. That's was why we took some initiatives to start some work including replacing the tiles and doors, which you mentioned. We already finished one building. Repeat and new guests are giving us great feedback. Unfortunately, you were not in that building as it was full. We want you to be aware that all your issues will be taken care starting mid-August. Thanks again for survey!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,797)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,581 - 1,587 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

A definite place to stay again and again. We had a fabulous time, and the location is gorgeous!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandakcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear our value guest;

Your business and feedback are very invaluable to us. We also appreciate that you took time to share your satisfaction with others. We are happy that your stay was enjoyable and fabulous. Indeed,we are very fortunate and honored to know you are planning on coming back. Your survey is well considered as we continue to measure our improvement. Thanks for your patronage and great comments!

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My family and I are leaving in the morning. Overall, it's been great. We would come back, might choose to stay elsewhere, checked out other properties close by, for the money, we could stay somewhere nicer. The staff were all friendly. Great access to the beach. Our one bedroom suite was great, just could use some updating/cleaning. It was a fun trip.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlw2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear our value guest;

We appreciate your patronage and the time, which you took away from your agenda to share your experiences with us and other prospective and repeat guests. We are glad to know you had fun during your stay here at the Holiday Inn Resort. As you addressed the updating of the rooms, we want to know that the suites have been in the process of being updated. We finished one building. The building in which you stayed has been done yet. We will continue our renovation during the fall. We profoundly appreciate your feedback as it is very invaluable to us. We thank you.

We hope to see you again as you will be able to see how much improvement we make in the suites.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I am a platinum member and when I arrived I asked for a upgrade they said they had rooms avalible but I would have to pay 100 extra a night also I was not allowed priority check in or anything. When we ariaved to our shoe closet room I asked for a rollaway bed they said they did not have any even though there was one at the bottom of the stair way for the whole trip. They finally found one and wanted 20 a night this hotel is very small outdated smells and really just nasty and I am not one to leave reviews or complaine but this hotel is all down hill if you want to stay at holiday inn you should stay at the one in destin. very disappointed in you holiday inn

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

Dear our loyal platinum;

We would like to apologize for not having been able to meet your needs during your stay with us. Around this time of the year, we are 100% full. As result, complimentary upgrade is not possible. That's why we charge a fee to upgrade fee of 50.00 of $100.00 based on the type room which you want. On the other hand, when are not full, we are always pleased to upgrade our platinum guests without being asked. Also, we always block the platinum guest's rooms as soon as they are clean. It was unfortunate, during the time of early check-in, there was no clean room.

We should have been able to offer the roll away bed with no charge due to your status. For, we want to express again our apology. Your survey is well considered as a tool of training to ensure we well accommodate platinum guests like you by rolling our red carpet service.
We thank you for the business and your feedback. Please accept our apologies.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

When we arrived we had been told our rooms would be together they were not, and staff advised me that it was impossibly for someone to tell me that
Then our toilet ran constantly
Sink was stopped up
Our Friends sink was stopped up and the aIr went out the last night and they made no effort for any accomodations
The Beach Chairs and umbrellas were not placed on the Beach until 9am, all other Hotels were out by 7 AM
One Elevator for 7 floors of rooms
Could only locate 3 Luggage carts for 7 floors of rooms
The walkway to the beach was so slick two of us fell and we were told of many others, the staff did not even attempt to fill out an accident report and never called for a Manager
We heard Many Many other guest complaining daily
I filled out a Complaint with Holiday Inns official website and was never contacted!
Not a $300.00 night place for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valeriej175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holidayinnresort, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2012

Dear Ms. Valerie;

We would like to thank you for your business and the time you took to share your feedback with us. On the other hand, we want to apologize for not having met your expectations. Due to a lot of requests and stayovers, we never guarantee connecting rooms. However, if they are available at check-in time, we will do our best to accommodate guests like you. Our beach chairs and umbrellas are ready at 9:00 AM. Nonetheless, during set-up time, guests can use them. Indeed, based on your observations, we will try to start the set-up earlier as possible. As for the toilet running issue which you mentioned, we will ensure the maintenance department is aware it so they can take care of it despite no other guest mentioned it to us. Your comments are taken into great considerations as we continue to improve our service and product. Again, thanks!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Nice location for a family vacation. They have activities for kids all day long. Free beach chair and umbrella's on the beach. Good selection of resturants close by too.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach in one manor or another.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Mr Brian;

We would like to thank your family members and you for having chosen to stay with us. Additionally, we want you to be aware that we appreciate the time which you took to share your great experiences with others in the web. We are delighted to know that you all were happy with your stay. Your survey is very invaluable to us. It is a motivational tool toward our efforts of continued improvement. It 's also a testimony of our progress.
We are happy to be your host.

We are looking forward to seeing your family and you again.


Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We booked 3 suites for our family vacation. When we arrived, the staff was very nice but also very slow. When we entered the room, I felt like I was time warped into the 80's. It was not at all like the pictures I looked at online. The room was outdated and very cramped. It did have a full kitchen but you could not fit two adults in it without banging into each other. The room really looked dirty and I could tell it was because the bottom of my kids feet were black before going outside. I will not be staying here again because I can get a nicer place for the same or less money.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 July 2012

Dear Mr. Kevin;

Thanks for giving us your feedback on your stay. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. On the other hand, we would like you to be ware that we are in the process of doing some renovations. Unfortunately, the building in which you stayed has not been done. That's why you can see that we have had some great surveys regarding our improvement. We appreciate your business and the time you took to write such a survey about your experience. Thanks!

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#6 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: £82 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing