We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!! The room was extraordinarily clean & the staff were so courteous & went above & beyond to make sure the guests had everything they needed. We plan to return next summer & will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGardenFwb, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking time to provide such wonderful feedback on your stay! We are happy you found our rooms to be extraordinary and that our staff was attentive to all your needs. We look forward to your return next summer!

Kind Regards,

Wesner St. Vil
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,796)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,796 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I decided we needed a break from work and took a quick weekend trip down to the beach. We have stayed in Destin the past few years but chose Fort Walton over Destin this year because we could get a hotel directly on the beach for less than one off the beach in Destin. We were not at all disappointed in Fort Walton or this hotel! Service was above and beyond. We arrived Friday afternoon and check in was extremely busy but all the front desk employees were very friendly and attentive and were even able to get a beachfront hotel with no extra charge, what a treat! Had a wonderful view with a balcony. Room was clean and included a small fridge which we used for snacks and drinks. Our first morning there it rained so we ordered room service for breakfast and took advantage of the free DVD rental to watch a movie. After that we checked out the free bicycles and took a cruise around the area. By the time we got back the sun was shining and we hit the beach. Very clean and complimentary umbrellas and chairs were much appreciated. We grabbed lunch at the hotel grill and it was pretty good, not wonderful but cooked fresh and the bartender (Dougie Fresh) was very friendly. Saturday night they showed a movie at the pool along with popcorn. My husband and I do not have kids but greatly enjoyed it, even if we weren't the "target" audience. Would I stay here again? Absolutely! We are already planning to come back again next year. For the price, location, and added amenities that are provided, you just can't beat it!

Room Tip: Request ocean view and highest floor if available. Avoid ground floor if possible
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mlk676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGardenFwb, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for providing feedback on your stay. We are very pleased you chose us for your quick weekend getaway. Thank you for pointing out the great value in what we offer. We are glad you were able to obtain the room you wanted. We will let Dougie Fresh know your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again on your return trip; we will have an umbrella and chairs waiting for you when you get here.

Warm Regards,

Wesner St. Vil
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for our Anniversary weekend, and it was so nice! Told this to the manager and he sent up a gift bag for us AND free breakfast down stairs for the next morning! It had a beautiful view from our balcony, room was very modern and clean, A/C worked great, and bed was comfortable! Next time we will bring our 3 children, because they would have so much fun here! Saw the game room, crafts, 2 pools 1with slide, they even played Disney movies on big screen TV's for the kids in the afternoons! So neat! This place is great for couples AND kids! Oh and the beach is perfect, clean white sand and blue water, also get 2 free chairs and an umbrella every day from the hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGardenFwb, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Happy Anniversary! We are pleased to have been your hosts for such an important moment in your lives. Thank you for depositing your trust with us; come back and see us and bring the kids as I'm sure they will have a wonderful time here at the Wyndham Garden.

Warm Regards,

Wesner St. Vil
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WyndhamGardenFwb, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We got the suite with gulf view, we had 3 adults 2 children and was very comfortable, we went though a lot of towels, and the staff was fast with more every time we called. We ate only once at the hotel (like eating at the local places) but the food at the pool side bar was great the kids really liked the bacon rapped hotdog and the service was fast and friendly. the kids loved the pools and slide but are not really for adults, The beach, we all loved with the free umbrella and chairs, the waves were a little rough so not good for swimming. Over all it was prefect room for a family of 5 with great view and lots of room, had full kitchen with dinning table and free Wi-Fi, the maid service was great and very friendly only down side 1 bathroom in the room and 1 elevator in our building.

Room Tip: go ahead and rent the suite it's worth the extra $10 a night
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGardenFwb, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

A perfect room for 5 merited a perfect review and we sincerely appreciate you doing so. We are glad you enjoyed our suites, a very unique room in our market. We apologize it only offers 1 bathroom, but I want to point out that we do offer a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom Penthouse at our property. We are happy the kids enjoyed the pool. Thank you for your fantastic feedback and room tip and we look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards,

Wesner St. Vil
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We got to Wyndham after a long drive, all we wanted to do is have a quick check in and relax for a bit. That didn't happen it took the front desk girl and guy 20 mins to check us in. It was obvious that they were newer and didn't really know what to do. Thankfully another person came from the back noticed there was a problem, she jumped in and and had me checked in immediately. Think her name was Seville, like the Cadillac. Why didn't they just get help in the first place instead of letting me stand there for 20 minutes!?! So please Wyndham have employees at the front desk with a proper training . We stayed in building A, and had a room with ocean view that was spectacular . The room doesn't come with breakfast but it comes with free beach set up which made up for the breakfast .Pool areas were fine, clean stocked with towels .They don't have towels for the beach, you have to bring your own . They have a tiki bar at the pool which was great, Doug was very friendly and makes great drinks.However, this is not a place we'd recommend to someone that is used to receiving the Wyndham accommodations. It's a outdated 3star hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Papa445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGardenFwb, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. It is very important to us as it helps us improve our product and services. We apologize for the delays you experienced during check-in. We are diligently training our staff to improve this experience for our guests.

We are glad you enjoyed your room, your view, and your beach chairs. Moreover, please accept our apologies for not being able to offer free beach towels; it is not a common amenity in our market, however we would've gladly obtained one for you at a convenience fee. We will share your kind comments with Doug.

We are confident in being among the best choices in our area and will only continue to get better on our never ending quest for improvement. I can guarantee you that, should you chose to return, your experience will only get better and better. Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have any future inquiries. We truly appreciate your business.

Respectfully,

Wesner St. Vil
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I used my Wyndham points to book this stay. The best thing about the stay was the ocean view from our room. The hotel was otherwise very average, with an above average pool with a water slide for the kids. We ordered room service one night and were totally disappointed- the food was not good and was not a value for the price. While we appreciated the beach chair set up, the representatives setting up the chairs were understaffed and overwhelmed and had no system that we could distinguish to assign chairs and umbrellas. The housekeepers came early on the day we were checking out, waking the sleeping baby prior to our checkout time, which was really annoying. The housekeepers also came at inconsistent times throughout our week long stay, which made laying the baby down for naps challenging. The view was nice and the beds were adequate while not being overly comfortable. There were no bellmen available to assist with luggage on the load in or load out.

We were fortunate to receive an ocean view upgrade. When I called to book the reservation on Wyndham points I was told that I was unable to request any sort of upgrade to the second floor garden view room that was offered. I felt like the Wyndham in general did not value it's rewards guests, and that will impact my decision on where to stay in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WyndhamGardenFwb, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your stay at the Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach and for being a valued Wyndham Rewards member. We are happy you enjoyed the views of the ocean from your room but sincerely regret the inconveniences you were subjected to.

Firstly, please accept our apologies for your inconveniences on your check-out date. We will use your feedback as a training tool to better serve our guests in the future. Secondly, we apologize a member of our staff was unavailable to assist you with your luggage. We proudly offer this convenience to guests who inquire about it.

Lastly, we greatly value our Wyndham Rewards guests, thus the reason we provided you with an ocean view upgrade. We apologize if we gave you a wrong impression. Since these are offered based on availability, they are unable to be guaranteed prior to your arrival. Based on your feedback, we fell short in meeting your expectations. However, we invite you back in the future so that you can experience our improvements. We appreciate your business and loyalty to our brand.

Warm Regards,

Wesner St. Vil
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,323 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#6 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin

Address: 573 Santa Rosa Boulevard, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6912 (Formerly Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: £86 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach/Destin, Florida is a family oriented beachfront hotel tucked away from the Destin traffic on Okaloosa Island. No other location compares to the world's whitest beaches and emerald green waters. With fishing, golf courses, shopping, and other attractions nearby, you are sure to find a way to pass the sultry Florida days. Our full service resort features all the helpful amenities needed for a comfortable stay, including luxurious penthouses and one bedroom suites with kitchens. Romantic getaway? Our fabulous honeymoon suite presents cozy bedding in a warm setting and a deluxe view of the Gulf of Mexico from the Jacuzzi tub. Visit the Crab Island Cafe specializing in seafood entrees, or our seasonal poolside Manatee Grill & Bar. We haven't forgotten the business traveler or conventioneer. With 3,500 sq. Ft. Of meeting space, we are ideally suited to accommodate any function from a business conference to a wedding celebration. Relax, our professional event and catering staff can offer creative, budget-conscious ideas for a successful event. Want to add some fun to your day on the beach? Take advantage of all that is offered for free - bikes, ping pong, bingo by the pool, beach service with chairs and umbrella. Our Dive-in movies deliver drive-in quality in a wet atmosphere as our main pool becomes a cinema. Guest under the age of 24 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Holiday Inn
Wyndham Garden Fort Walton Beach Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing