We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, property needs a renovation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 19 June 2014

You cannot beat the ocean views provided by this hotel property. However, the interior of the rooms is very outdated and in serious need of an update, especially the bathrooms. Our sink was chipping, the shower handle was broken and there was soap scum covering most of the shower surfaces. My overall view is that you don't go to the beach to stay in your hotel room, but for the cost, I feel that this hotel is overpriced.

Pros: There are several restaurants and bars on the premises, with reasonable prices and pretty decent food selections. The hotel is child-friendly and offers shallow areas in the pools and splash park with sprinklers for younger children.

Cons: Cleanliness of the bathrooms as previously stated; difficulty turning left out of the hotel due to high volume traffic; limited hours of restaurants being open.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor as all rooms have exterior doors that open to the outside for safety reasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miranda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the suggestions for improvement and hope that the positives outweighed the negatives for you. We will use your feedback to make this resort a better place for our guests and hope you will visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,541 - 1,547 of 2,438 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location is great and grounds well kept. For families, great pool and water playground. Gorgeous ocean view and live music from cabana that we could hear from balcony. Parking crowded but has additional parking deck. Stayed here before about 10 years ago.....won't stay again because at $300 per night, the property needs an update... Small rooms and very little counter space in room and bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Martha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We appreciate your compliments on the location and grounds. We regret that you found the value of our resort lacking. Hopefully you will visit in the future and find a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I asked for a room on the 1st floor and thwy said I couldn't for my mother who had a broken foot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Tammi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

I apologize that there was not a first floor room available at check in to accommodate your mother's special need. We do our very best to honor requests whenever possible and regret that this was not possible for your stay. We hope that if you visit the area again you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The service was miserable. When we called from the road about the chances of checking into our room a little early, a disinterested voice passed the buck and shared that she would not know until we arrived. Useless.

After checking into our room, all seemed fine. We went on to a social event and returned well after dark to our room. With the ambient noise of the pool and people moving up and down the hall, we cranked on the AC to damped the noise and grab some sleep. The sounds from the Mechanical Room were aggravating - as if someone was turning on a vacuum intermittently every 45 seconds or so. I called the desk, and they were useless - there's nothing we can do and we don't have any other rooms. Click.

We loved that the deck off of the back of the room led right into the pool! Very cool. Other than the noise, the room was mostly fine for a hotel room, but did not live up to the "resort description." Maybe it did once, but it needs updating.

The pool was fun, but filthy. In the day light, we could see foot prints in the scum on the pool's bottom.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room at check-in. Pool-side was fun, but the noise from the mechanical room was ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveHinTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for telling us about your stay. Your feedback has been shared with the maintenance department as well as front office staff to better serve our guests. We hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to show you a great experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,336 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#10 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Walton Be...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
333 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin

Address: 1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: £76 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Ramada Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Ramada
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing