We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beach can't hide age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Willis, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Beach can't hide age”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The beach is what it is, great! We had our 30th High School reunion, stayed there. It seems no real upgrades since the parking garage. Its time to upgrade, especially for the room rates, we stayed 5days

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
It was such a pleasure to have you here for your 30th reunion. Thanks for telling us about your visit. We hope to see you for the next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    780
    480
    239
    152
See reviews for
1,207
506
50
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Center
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Although the rooms themselves were average at best, the resort overall was wonderful! Great location - just before the bridge that links Fort Walton Beach to Destin! Private beach access so we didn't have to get sand in our vehicle! Great pools - one huge cool pool with swim-up grotto waterfall bar, one large heated pool, huge hottub, small kiddie pool, and a really awesome splash garden for kids! From 5-10pm, you can order homemade pizza from downstairs .....we had it TWICE from Monday night to Friday morning, it was delicious! Would've eaten it every meal! Wish I had pizza that good here at home! Garden buffet breakfast was yummy! Plus super yummy poolside BBQ place, with the BEST burgers! Maid service was great! Rooms were clean, just small and crowded for a family of four! Walking downstairs out of the elevator, you turned left for pools, right for beach! Very close to the water compared to other nearby hotels! Sugar white sand! Very clean walkways, multiple outside showers to wash sand off! Although we would've liked a BIGGER room, we loved the resort! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shellyhugheswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for the compliments! We are glad you enjoyed our Dine In Chef brick oven pizza so much, as well as the Garden Cafe breakfast and the Bayou Country BBQ outside near the pools. If your travels bring you back to the beach, we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We LOVED our stay at the ramada. Our kids really enjoyed the pools and the splash zone. It was really cool how one door of the hotel opened up 2 the beach and the other side door opened up to the pools. We had a pool side hotel room on the 5th floor and loved our balcony. They even had bottom hotel rooms that connected 2 the pool! The beach was wonderful! White sugar sand and emerald green/blue water. We walked the beach 2 the boardwalk and ate dinner there almost every night. We highly recommend the black pearl. We walked on the pier that's walking distance from the hotel and looked down at dolphins swimming. Our room was standard but when your at the beach who's going 2 stay in your room all day?? The hotel was a little out dated but again we were barely in it! My family and I have decided to return to the ramada every year for a summer vacation!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank amynewton1593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for your review! Our first floor Pool Deck rooms are truly unique. Give us a call directly if you would like to stay in one of those for your next trip. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Front entrance is great but wait till you see the rooms would be great for 1950!!! Outside entrance to all the rooms nothing nice here at all!!!! The shower backed up with water knee deep called and they sent someone over they worked on it and said it's just a old hotel but still knee deep in water. I had my wife and two girls and they had two hair dryers going at once and all the lights go out they send someone and reset breaker and talked to my young daughter in a bad manner!!! Just beware there is a lot better in this beach area then you will find here!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for telling us about your stay. I apologize for the maintenance problems you encountered and hope that you will give us another chance to show you a great visit to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The good:
The pools are great, the separation of kid pool vs mature pool were nice, bars - they've got several, bartenders were generous, beach access, beds are comfy, staff is friendly and helpful, room service was delicious, decent WiFi, surf shop on site, the location to the boardwalk pier is a short walk.

The bad:
You will walk a mile because of the lack of parking, you can hear your neighbor and if they have a screaming baby that wakes up every 2 hours - you'll hear it, the rooms are beyond dated, the bars close very early, no chairs at the beach, no pool/beach towels.

Maybe I am used to "resort" style locations, so I have standard expectations. Would I stay there again... Possibly, but I wouldn't pay top dollar knowing it's not a true resort.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We appreciate you telling us about your experience. Thank you for the compliments and constructive criticism. Feedback like yours helps us see where we can improve our property to give even better service and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place is pretty deceiving when you look at pictures. It's true that the swim up bar is pretty cool, but this place is a lot more trashy than the pictures show. I was talking to a regular and she said this place was built in the 60s or maybe even before then. It seems as if they haven't done much to the place since then. I paid for a beach front room, which was really outdated and desperately needs to be remodeled. Our room was pretty noisy and you could hear children screaming, parents talking, and teens partying in the hallways.

However, the staff was accommodating to our needs. They let us check in early and held our luggage before our room was ready. The BBQ hut served pretty good food. I had the pulled pork sandwich and my boyfriend had the grilled chicken sandwich. The location was close to the Crap Trap restaurant and The Swamp, which was nice. My boyfriend and I walked on the beach to dinner at the Crab Trap.

Also, the bars close when there is a teeny bit of rain. And, the lifeguard was sleeping when there were a lot of kids in the pool. The lifeguards were more worried about texting than doing their job.

I wouldn't stay here again and would not recommend it to any friends.

Room Tip: Walking distance to restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We wish that your experience had been better but appreciate that you have identified areas for improvement. Thank you for appreciating our staff who assisted with your early arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My husband highly recommended the Ramada Beach Resort as he stayed here Nov 2013 and May 2014 with family while visiting his sister in Ft Walton. I was not so concerned by some of the negative reviews. For the price you get the most bang for your buck and situated right on the Gulf! All staff were friendly, helpful and down right fun! Loved all the amenities from the Grotto and Tiki bars, BBQ hut( YUM!), pools, tropical feel of the courtyard and a quick walk to the white sands of the Gulf! Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a first floor room in the courtyard. Which was beautifully maintained. We live on the Delmarva Peninsula and we have our fair share of beaches in Delaware to Ocean City Maryland and we visit regularly since it is a quick drive..and the price to stay on the water can be double to triple the amount. The Boardwalk next door was unique and fun. Not quite the boardwalks we are use to but I will take it! We are planning our next trip for the Fall 2014!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieQ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thanks so much for your review. It sounds like our resort suited you perfectly. Fall is a beautiful time to visit, with comfortable temperatures, warm Gulf water, and less crowded beaches. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
589 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfront
Best Western Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
1,285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#4 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
698 reviews
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#6 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin

Property: Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Address: 1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Ramada Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Ramada
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing