We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation in Walton Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    723
    437
    215
    137
See reviews for
1,093
474
47
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I'm pretty easy to please but this place was not at all how it was represented online. It's obvious they built a pool facade to look good online, but in reality it's a dirty pool with a big fake rock waterfall. The building is an old, ugly motel so they need something to post. At check-in nobody explained how the beach chairs work. They have some workers line the front row of the beach with chairs and umbrella's very close together. So close the umbrella's touch each other. Then they charge you $30 per day if you want to sit in them. If you have your own chairs your view will be partially blocked and you'll have to disturb people by walking right over them to get to the water. The biggest let down was the window a/c units that sounded like an airplane when they kick on. We were woken up all through the night. The noise and heat from these outdated a/c units is emitted onto your balcony so to enjoy that space you have to shut the unit off. These a/c units do not remove humidity so the rooms are damp feeling, even the sheet's and your clothes. The pool had leaves in it every day so we never even swam in it. Beach bar was a nice touch and the proximity to the fishing pier and other restaurant's was a plus. Jet ski rental guy's who also handle the chair's are swindler's! We paid $100 to rent a jet ski for an hour and never got to ride. Long story short..he told us to come back the next day and he'd either do a jet ski for an hour or a paddle board for a half day. When I came back he said sorry no refunds and you have to ride on the day you rent it. My cc company refunded the money anyway- PUNK with the chest tattoo cleshay and lip ring.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel, not this Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
We appreciate you taking time to tell us about your stay. We apologize that you did not have a great experience during your visit and hope that you will give us another chance. All A/C units are being replaced with brand new ones to avoid any disturbance from noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed here three nights for a convention for my husbands work. The beach was beautiful and spacious, so it was not overcrowded. The location is great. It's walking distance to some restaurants and the pier. The amenities are what make this place ideal for families. It is located directly on the beach so no roads to walk across. There are multiple showers for rinsing off so we never had to wait. Also there is a hotel bar on the beach which is convenient. The pool area is very large and has a large waterfall which of course kids love. You can pass under the waterfall and get to the grotto bar, which also serves fun tropical drinks for kids. Of course there is a hot tub nearby, but they also had a "quiet pool", a baby/wading pool, and a great splash pad/waterpark area for kids. There is an Alvin's Island gift shop on site which is convenient. The grounds and landscaping are nicely kept. There is a small hotel restaurant onsite with a cheap breakfast buffet which is convenient but its just ok. The only type of room service I saw was pizza from the hotel.

The problem with this hotel is the rooms need serious updating. We had two double beds in our room which were very hard but I like my super soft pillow top mattress so I may not be the best judge of this. The pillows and comforter were fine. The room had a microwave, mini fridge, and a safe which was nice. The space wasn't terrible for a short stay. Overall the room felt decently clean just old. The décor is old, the carpet is old, everything in the bathroom is old. The toiletries they provide seem cheap. We were on the ground floor in a building facing the pool area. We did not have a private patio or balcony but many other rooms did. That is definitely a feature we like so would request that next time. Some rooms had patios with pool access. You could literally sit on the edge of your patio and put your feet in the pool or hop in.

In the end I believe you are paying for the location and amenities, the room itself is not worth the price they charge. We enjoyed our stay and didn't experience any problems. I would recommend this for a short stay but not for a week long vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbbeyRoad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. We are so glad that you found our resort to be family-friendly and kept busy with the numerous amenities available to our guests. If you come back to Fort Walton Beach, we hope to see you all again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Everything was close by. The beach was a short walk pools were nice. The pools are open late which was good for my ten year old. He could swim after dinner. Housekeeping was great, but wish housekeeping spoke more English. HUGE language barrier. I would love to know what type of mattresses they use as I am in the search for a new one. This one was GREAT!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinaco9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thanks for telling us about your visit. We're so happy that you loved our new mattresses so much. They are Simmons Beauty Rest - Cape Breton. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

It was not clear at all from pix online that this is a motel with rooms exiting on a parking lot. I once stayed in a Holiday Inn in Lakeland where a neighboring guest was murdered, so I would NEVER book a room in this kind of hotel had I known. Too late - room already paid for - so I asked for a room NOT on the first floor facing the parking lot, explaining my experience. You would think I asked the clerk to give me the moon! After much fuss, and demands for extra dollars, we were moved to a courtyard room. Promptly went to beach and was waited on by a cabana boy who refused to give me a receipt for my credit card purchase, and was later accused by his coworker of not having paid for my beach chairs! I can honestly say this was the worst service I've had in some time, very disappointing, would never return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yield-ramadafwb_123, Manager at Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin, responded to this review, 6 December 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our resort. Thank you for telling us about your stay. We will use your feedback to improve the quality of our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort Walton Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfront
BEST WESTERN Ft. Walton Beachfro...
#2 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Inn Resort Fort Walton B...
#1 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- Ft Walton Beach
Four Points by Sheraton Destin- ...
#7 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Courtyard Fort Walton Beach-West...
#9 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
Hampton Inn Ft. Walton Beach
#5 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#3 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin

Property: Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin
Address: 1500 Miracle Strip Pkwy SE, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548-6213
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin 3*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Beach Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Ramada Fort Walton Beach
Fort Walton Beach Ramada
Ramada Plaza Fort Walton Beach Resort/Destin Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing