We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“careful what you wish for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Lodge & Suites
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Reviewed 23 June 2012

cheap hotel close to the beach ?you got it but beware . I spent many of nights in hole in the walls but this one takes the cake. Bring your lysol and pistol and you'll be just fine. Not a family hotel as I was scared for my 2 girls. Yearly visits to ft walton. This one is number 1 on not to stay.

Ps...did not see any hotel security.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geeves66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

A lot of the reviews on here are rated as if somebody was murdered here. It's just your run of the mill motel. It was decently clean, with a fridge, tv, and microwave. The sheets were changed daily, but the mattress cover had a tendency to come undone, so bringing a fitted sheet might not be the worst idea. Within 20 mins. of the good beaches in Destin, and plenty of places to eat around the corner. The terrible reviews of this place on here just cement the fact that many of the people who use this site are just plain old spoiled. It's not a great hotel or anything, but it is worth the cheap prices that you pay to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diveandjive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I made a last minute mistake when I booked this hotel... The smell of the room was so bad I went to the local Wal-Mart and purchased Frebreze. The towels, pillow cases, and sheets were stained and dingy. The cleaning service halfway cleaned the nasty room and did not leave clean towels. We had to wait 30 minutes for clean towels. The hotel itself was very noisy. We will NEVER stay here again.

Room Tip: A tip I can give it to book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VLAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I checked in around 11pm on a friday night and the lobby was locked so the desk clerk told me to come around to the window... The window had a 6" x 6" opening to talk through and the rest was bullet proof glass so that immediately made me feel uneasy. When I asked the desk clerk if there was a fridge in our room, he said "I dont know, some of them do and some don't" so I asked if they could bring us one if the room didn't have one. He said "maybe, just call us tomorrow!". Of course, there was no fridge, no microwave, no clock!, no shampoo or conditioner, no hair dryer (there was a stand for it on the wall but no dryer in it). There was hair stuck in soap residue on the countertop, there was also hairs all over the tile in the bathroom. Once we tried to go to bed, we realize that there was no fitted sheets, there was flat sheets that wouldn't stay on the bed so if you rolled over in the middle of the night, you would wake up to yourself laying on a bare mattress!! Keep in mind, these mattresses are at least 20 yrs old!! The pillows were lumpy and flat. I wouldn't dare to walk around barefooted, the carpet looked discusting and the tile looked even worse! When I booked it, i figured that it would be kinda decent since I paid $100/night.... BUT NO!!!!!!!!!! It was the most discusting place I have ever stayed! I should have slept in my car! I'm beginning to itch now and IT BETTER NOT BE BED BUGS!!!!!

Room Tip: DON'T EVEN BOTHER!!! you won't be able to sleep because the bed and pillows are so uncomfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fallon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We knew apon booking this hotel that it wasnt going to be anything fancy,however we were not expecting the experience we had. If you are looking for a nice quiet hotel this is not it! The hotel is mainly occupied by people who live here,including some of the staff. The hallways,stairs,and pool are used as hangout places for these tenants until 2 or 3 in the morning, and then again starting at about 8am. The staff is unbelievably rude. The rooms are semi clean, you have to request your room to be clean and stocked with towels, and when you do you are then treated poorly for the remainder of your stay. As I am writing this review in my hotel room at 9:00 in the morning someone just came and banged on my door,by the time I got to the door, no one was there. This has been the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel. I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Low rated rooms. There was no coffee pot in the room and Microwave did not work. No continental breakfast, juice machine was out of order. Holiday Inn was one of my favorite hotels “was”

Room Tip: Choose a different Holiday Inn than this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roderick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We checked in on a whim. We were on our way to Orlando and happened to stay here because no other hotel/motel had any rooms available. The room smelled gross, the carpet was coming apart, it was so dirty and my socks were black by the time we left there. The bathroom and doors were rusty and this place was awful. I have a 7 yr old and a 8 month old and I was afraid for them to catch something. The front desk clerk was never available, the cleaning crew consisted of weird, dirty and questionable people. I opted to not have them come clean our room. The pool was the only benefit. It was clean and no one was ever in it. If need be keep driving until you hit the next closest city or county.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort Walton Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Seabreeze Inn
Seabreeze Inn
#19 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites
Comfort Inn and Suites
#14 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
209 reviews
1.9 mi away
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
Emerald Coast Inn & Suites
#15 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Marina Bay Resort
Marina Bay Resort
#12 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roya Hotel & Suites
Roya Hotel & Suites
#21 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walton Beach-West Destin
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Walt...
#8 of 29 in Fort Walton Beach
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Lodge & Suites

Address: 209 Miracle Strip Pkwy, Fort Walton Beach, FL 32548
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Fort Walton Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Hotels in Fort Walton Beach
Price Range: £45 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Holiday Lodge & Suites 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Lodge And Suites
Holiday Hotel Fort Walton Beach
Travelodge Fort Walton Beach
Holiday Lodge & Suites Fort Walton Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing