We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Merritt Island, Florida
2 reviews
“Consistently nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stay here regularly when visiting our children at college. It is always clean. The staff is always friendly. The breakfast is good, quick, convenient, and suits my needs.
The cookies in the evening are a nice touch.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyB410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    133
    45
    9
    6
See reviews for
221
129
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Front desk was very friendly and accommodating. Helpful when finding a place to eat. Staff was friendly when we checked out. Room was clean. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed overnight on this hotel for a doctor’s appt. at SHANDS. We were pleasantly surprised. They actually have a popcorn machine and you can help yourself with some popcorn for the kids or a nice cup of coffee or tea. The staff is nice and helpful. We had trouble with internet connection on our floor and they went the “extra mile” to help us. Even gave us the password so we could use the secure connection from the 1st. Floor (Reception area) and offered to change us from our room to another location where the signal was strong. We declined but it was nice to know that they would accommodate our needs. It looks like it is a recurrent issue, tough. Our room was on the 3rd. It had a mini fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, coffee maker with plenty regular and decaf coffee. Beds were comfortable and clean and room was also very quiet. I was especially impressed with the Bathroom. Clean tile floors, large granite sink, the tub walls were made of granite. There were plenty of towels available. We didn’t use the pool but it seemed to be well cared for. Breakfast was ok, they offer hot and cold items, I didn’t see any fresh fruit or bagels, but it doesn’t mean they wouldn’t offer. It is served in a relatively small area but we didn’t have trouble getting in and out. The hotel conveniently located just off I-75 and is surrounded by restaurants, gas stations, fast foods, and shopping center not to mention less than 10 minutes from the building where I have my appt. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

This is a very nice Sleep in convenient to anybody staying off I75 or visiting UF. It sits southwest of the campus and is close to stores and restaurants. The staff was courteous, especially in the breakfast room to two mornings I was there. Everything was clean and the rooms relatively quiet. The bathrooms are large and taken care of. The room had a working microwave and fridge. the only issue was the wi-fi, which would not connect in the evenings. Morning's connection was ok but for some reason it did not work at night at all. A stop at the front desk taught me that it is a recurring problem, that I could get a better signal from the Motel 6 across the street and they could call over to get me the password for it if I wanted. I declined and used the computer room off the lobby. Probably the difference between my "4" rating instead of a 5.
I'd still recommend the place as clean, friendly and for the most part functional.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkrchrds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Have stayed there twice already last stayed June 9 2012 and booked again for August . Bruce the manager and front desk staff (Cheri) are awesome and the staff are always friendly. Young man in the breakfast area was providing great customer service . Not the fanciest but always clean and friend and comfortable. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sleep Inn & Suites in Gainesville, Florida for 2 nights in June 2012. The location is just off I-75, close to Univeristy of Florida and in the middle of hundreds of stores, gas stations and restaurants. I reserved our room on-line at a guaranteed rate -- when I got to the front desk to check-in, they pushed a credit card receipt across for me to sign at a rate that was $10.00 per night higher. Thank goodness I had printed my online Confirmation and had eviidence that my rate was supposed to be lower. The clerk went in a back room for 5 minutes, then came out apologizing saying that it was a computer glitch. One other issue -- the toilet seat in the bathroom was broken on one side. We reported it to the front desk within hours after check-in. We were told that it would be repaired the next day while we were out -- we stayed in that room for 2 days and it was never repaired. The good things: The room was clean and comfortable, there was a hot breakfast with a nice selection of choices -- the food was good and the breakfast room was meticulously clean-- the young man who cooked breakfast greeted everyone and made it clear that he was there to please and accommodate, plenty of parking, quiet (even though the location is in a very busy area), we enjoyed a swim in the pool, and there was popcorn and fresh baked cookies in the lobby during the late afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryA2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed at this hotel with my son's basketball team for Sunshine State Games two years in a row. The rooms are always clean and well supplied. The staff is friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is also a plus. The location is convenient to everything. Each room is supplied with a microwave and mini-fridge. My only complaints are that the wi-fi does not work and the pool is small.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sminman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#4 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
2.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Recently renovated, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, Complimentary Shuttle Service (based on availability), and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing