We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff Makes the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I would recommend this hotel. We have stayed there two years in a row. The staff bends over backwards to do anything they can to assist you. They have fresh popcorn and cookies in the lobby. The rooms are simple and clean. And there are plenty of restaurants and shops nearby. If I visit Gainesville again, I will make a reservation here.

Room Tip: I personally like to stay in rooms away from the elevator and ice machine because they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stemardoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

I came in town late with no reservation and stopped in with hopes of finding an affordable room for the evening. I was greeted with a smile and such sweet/amazinf service (and a cookie) before quickly heading to my room. Thank you Taylor! The next morning before heading off to my business meeting I utilized the fitness room then enjoyed a yummy breakfast with the same great service I experienced upon check-in. Demetri gets an A+ for customer service. Checking out was no except to what I had experienced during my stay as Lacey quickly, professionally and with a smile got me checked out and on my way.
Thank you all for your outstanding CUSTOMER service!

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor and couldn't have asked for a better room. There wasn't a "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

This was an OK property but needs a bit of care. Bathroom ceiling needed painting, A/C loud, elevator was pretty rough riding. Nice breakfast room and good assortment. Convenient to interstate. I would stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rivrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatorFan49, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Bruce Cribbs
GM
Sleep Inn & Suites Universty/Shands
352-316-6311

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I chose this hotel mainly because I had points to use. From check-in to check-out we were treated like royalty. Taylor, at the front desk, was pleasant and helpful. There were assorted cookies in the lobby. The room was spotless and nicely decorated. I slept so well that I had to ask what brand the mattress and pillow were. There was no noise from the hallways indicating good insulation. The following morning we had complimentary breakfast which included eggs, meat, waffles and many other delightful goodies. The breakfast host said good morning to everyone and actively assisted with the waffle maker and directing people to what they needed. We will stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor which may have been more recently updated. The carpet appeared very recentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanci_h_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This hotel is one that we stay at each year when we attend an event in Gainesville. It always seems to be brand new and clean. The breakfast is on time and frequently set up early which helps us a lot. I definitely recommend this hotel if you are in Gainesville.

Room Tip: Top floors experience less noise from those above but this normal for most places
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MICHAEL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

I had to come to Gainesville for business with no notice. I flew in to Fort Lauderdale ( only flight I could get from where I was on vacation) and had to drive 325 miles to hotel. Upon arrival Miss Joy welcomed me at 2AM with a smile and offered to help me with luggage- and offered me late checkout. Later in morning Miss Rae helped me with late check out-- then held the room in case I needed to stay an extra night, and even though breakfast was over officially got me great coffee. They have a business center with computer and printer and wifi -- free of charge. Though this is not a new building, everything is updated and it appears brand new. My housekeeper was lovely and kind when I met her as well. Free nice breakfast, free parking--- and with a genuinely kind staff! Very convenient to I 75, right down from the university. Many restaurants and Walmart nearby. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank EpicuriousTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

When we travel we look for hotels with 4 travel ratings by guests that are as reasonably priced as we can find. This fit the bill and it met our expectations. It had good freeway access, it was clean and had plenty of space, the breakfast was typical for hotels of this type and the person at the desk was very helpful in making recommendations for places to eat. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#15 of 47 in Gainesville
578 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
878 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £66 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm up in sunny Gainesville, FL when you stay at our Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands hotel near Oaks Mall. This quaint city has big attractions with the most popular points of interests located near our smoke-free affordable hotel in Gainesville: Ben Hill Griffin Stadium, Kanapaha Botanical Gardens, Stephen C. O’Connell Center, City College – Gainesville Make your Florida vacation as memorable as possible by taking advantage of the amenities at our Gainesville hotel like:Free breakfast, Free WiFi, Outdoor pool, Fitness center All spacious guest rooms come with microwaves, coffee makers, refrigerators, TVs, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms even feature whirlpools. You'll love our cozy, modern rooms and great value at our Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands hotel. Gainesville, FL hotels like ours are the perfect locations for any guest. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing