We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A good place to stay, good prices, friendly staff and very nice rooms. Close to interstate and lots of good restuarants , shopping and movies within a mile of the hotel. Close to Shands hospital if that is your destination. A little bit difficult to find since the road to the hotel is so close to the interstate exit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Doug K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I am a patient at Shands and stay at this hotel on a regular basis. They are ALWAYS so friendly and accommodating. It is CLEAN, quiet, and love that it is 100% non-smoking. Staff actually care about you and the manager, Bruce Cribbs, was in at my last stay and even took time to introduce himself and thank me for staying there. The breakfast in the morning is very nice and the staff person is also very pleasant and goes above and beyond to make sure you feel welcome and that you have what you need. I have never had a bad experience here, even having stayed here after surgery, it is quiet, comfortable, and the staff goes out of there way to make sure you have anything you need. LOVE this hotel!!! It is clean, clean, CLEAN!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCorne1052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you're tired from a long drive, or if you need rest, this is not the place to be. After traveling all day,my husband and I searched online for a bargain before going back home. We called ahead to check the rate and availability and were quoted one price, but once we arrived, it had gone up $20..The service desk person seemed nice so despite the inconsistent pricing, we stayed. Apparently, they allow kids to have parties because next to our room, several teenagers began arriving back to back, talking loud, playing music, and using profanity. After 2 calls, and an ultimatum, the front desk person moved us to another room and we thought we were better off except..we don't know what was next door OR directly above us, but whatever it was there was constantly beating and it sounded like something was being drug back and forth over our head. HAD TO SLEEP WITH THE TV ON otherwise I would have been looking around and jumping at every loud thump! IT WOULD HAVE BEEN WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY TO HAVE SLEEP AND NOT THESE PAPER THIN WALLS....when you walk down the hall, it feels like the floors may collapse at any moment. AND THAT MUSTY SMELL...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tootiepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatorFan49, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hi, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review. I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. That specific group of college kids will not be allowed back as I had to threaten to throw them out several times. Again I apologize. Please contact me so that I can discuss further with you as we would like to ensure these issues are addressed. We are very proud of our customer service and take it personally when we fail to properly take care of our guest. I can be reached on my cell phone at 352-316-6311. Thank you , Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked a room after reading all the positive reviews, but now we wished we had stayed somewhere else. We checked in right before 11pm and quickly went up to room 211 to get our kids to bed and settle in for the night. However, after we put the kids to sleep in their bed and got into our bed, my husband and I saw visible blood stains through the bed sheet. We pulled off the sheet and found several blood stains on the bed liner. I went downstairs and spoke with the night staff person and he gave me another bed liner. However, when I brought the bed liner to the room, I found stains on this liner as well. I went down to the front desk for the 2nd time and asked for a clean bed liner. The night staff went to the back and after awhile came back and told me that he couldn't find any clean ones and offered to switch us to another room. As it was midnight by this point, I told him that I did not want to wake our kids up to move to another room and that there was no guarantee that the new room would have clean bed linens. He looked in the back again and told me that the only clean bed liner he could find was for a king size bed. I took that up to our room and used the liner that was too big for the bed but at least did not have blood stains on it, and remade the bed. The next morning I went downstairs to ask to speak with the manager to alert him to the problem with our bed linens. The woman on duty at the desk told me that the manager was not in and gave me his business card to contact him. She did give me 50% off the room rate but did not say anything about speaking with housekeeping or what they were going to do about all the dirty blood stained bed linens that the hotel was using. I offered to show her the photos we took of the dirty linens but she refused to look at them. After we checked out of the hotel, I emailed the manager, Bruce Cribbs several times and included the photos of the dirty bed linens, but he never emailed me back. I guess they don't care about the blood stained bed linens...

The one positive of our experience is that the guy who manages the breakfast buffet is great! He is the best hotel breakfast bar attendant we have ever met. He went to each table to ask the guests if they needed anything and even made waffles to order. There is a tip jar on the counter so please tip him as he is as service oriented as any good wait staff at a restaurant.

That is if after reading this review you still decide to stay at this Sleep Inn location, despite the fact they don't seem to stock very many bed liners that are not blood stained. My recommendation is that you stay at another hotel if you are in Gainesville. Or at the very least check your bed linens before you get in bed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank TarheelTravelsAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GatorFan49, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hi, I am very sorry for not responding, I promise you I did not get the email. I am very sorry for that I allowed you to get a room that was less than perfect. This is absolutely inexcusable at my hotel. Please call me so I can talk to you personally as I would really like to make sure this never happens again and address everyone involved that should have prevented this from happening. We pride ourselves in having the cleanest rooms around and when we do make a mistake, that we provide legendary customer service to rectify the problem. I am very disappointed and embarrassed for our actions. Please give me a call, my cell # is 352-316-6311. Thank you, Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a chance to stay at this location and the staff are wonderful. I was pleasantly suprised to see employees that enjoyed their positions and made guest feel like they were number one. I am also very happy with the location because it is so convienient to everything, but super quick!! TRUE Hospitality without paying HIGH PRICES!! Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HAMPTONUNIVPIRATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We usually stay at a different hotel in Gainesville but found this for about $30 less and with great reviews so thought we would give it a try. Friendly staff, clean hotel, good free breakfast -- will be staying here from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaci D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

hotel was convenient to I-75, clean, comfortable and quiet. WE ESPECIALLY LIKED THE FACT THERE WAS NO SMOKING AND NO PETS ALLOWED. the pool was small but we enjoyed it with our 6 yr. old grandson. the rooms were clean and spacious, the bed was very comfortable and clean. the breakfast area was a bit tight but functional and the breakfast was ok but not great. the staff was accommodating, we told them we liked it quiet so they put us in a room that was farthest from the interstate and the traffic noise, and it was very quiet. we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howardorsusan_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville
#14 of 47 in Gainesville
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Gateway Grand
Best Western Gateway Grand
#4 of 47 in Gainesville
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands

Address: 4110 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gainesville
#4 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#6 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £63 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn & Suites of Gainesville Florida is situated at I-75 and Archer Road. Very convenient to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, VA Hospital, shopping, dining and entertainment venues. Recently renovated, this 100% Non-smoking hotel offers Complimentary Hot Breakfast, Free In-Room Internet, Business Center, Complimentary Shuttle Service (based on availability), and Guest Laundry Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Gainesville
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Gainesville
Gainesville Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing