We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choice on campus”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Had a very nice room
only issue was a small ledge at the entrance of the bathroom ( definitely a toe stubber )
excellent facility located directly in the middle of campus.
small complimentary breakfast
well-priced

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Front desk was very pleasant and accommodating. Accommodations were not ritzy, but were expected for price point. Room was clean but dated. A fresh coat of paint would go a long way. Parking access is inconvenient, especially if you have heavy luggage and arrive late, since stairs are the only option when the Bookstore is closed. Very quiet. Typical student fare, fast food dining options are convenient, but more substantial dining requires off campus travel. Complimentary wifi and continental breakfast were nice. Campus activity/business would be only reason to book the Reitz Union.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
Thank pharmertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

If you have ever been to Gainesville you would know hotels around campus are few. The Hilton is over priced and the holiday inn is worn out so the union is your only choice without having to stay at the highway. The room is clean and bed comfortable. The furnishings are nice as well. The room smelled a little musty from age. My guess is the aging ac needs to be replaced. The bathroom while cleAn could use an overhaul . Stairs are an issue once you park. When parking in the garage you will have no choice but to use them. The patio is great. After all is there anything more wonderful for a gator then a view of the stadium or campus? If you think it would be great to be near the union food court for meals remember they operate on student hours. I'm currently sitting in my room at the union typing this because the Starbucks doesn't even open till noon.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloridaTourist_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Stayed here one night while visiting UF. Hotel is right on campus in the Reitz Union Student Union building.
Pros:
- clean room with spacious balcony and view of UF stadium
- comfortable beds and pillows
- excellent location if visiting UF
- parking is free
- includes continental breakfast (but was limited with only coffee, juice, bagels, and yogurt)
- lots of food choices in the Student Union (Starbucks, market with frozen yogurt and sushi, Panda Express, salads, subs, etc.)
- staff are very helpful and friendly
Cons:
- parking is confusing but that really can't be helped
Tip: Don't try to park in the parking garage before checking in. Park out front in the 1/2 circle loading zone in front of the Reitz Union, go in to the desk to check in, You may want to unload your luggage before parking in the garage -- there are ramps and elevators from the front loading area to your room. If you go to the parking garage first, you'll have to carry your luggage up a flight of stairs.
Note: students do not have access to the hotel floors. You must use your room key in the elevator to access the hotel floors.

Room Tip: Tip: Don't try to park in the parking garage before checking in. Park out front in the 1/2 cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed for one night so my son could visit U of F. Check in was friendly and helpful and the location can't be beat for doing things on campus. As the hotel is in the student union you have access to the food court and bookstore. Room was very basic but clean and it had a nice balcony facing the football stadium. Free breakfast was decent served in a hallway. Once you get the hang of the confusing access to the garage, it's an easy process. I paid $99 for the room and that is a fair price for the location.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raincheck10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The views of campus are amazing. We had a corner room on the 6th floor looking the Swamp and Century Tower - awesome! The room was very clean with nice furniture, but a little small. There is a complimentary continental breakfast which was good, but a little limited on selection. They only had yogurt, oatmeal, cereal, bagels, coffee, tea & OJ. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 171PickyTraveler171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights this past weekend to attend a Florida Men's Basketball Game. We had a Deluxe Guest Room with 2 queen beds. The room was clean and spacious. We were able to walk to most anywhere on campus. Parking in the attached garage was included in the room rate. The complimentary breakfast consisted of bagels, cereal, oatmeal, juices, and coffee. Perfectly fine for our needs. Our only disappointment was that there were very few places open on the weekend to eat at the Reitz Union. The Starbucks was closed the entire time we were there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARMYG8R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.7 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites University/Shands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#9 of 47 in Gainesville
461 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 47 in Gainesville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus

Address: Museum Road At 655 Reitz Union Dr, University of Florida Campus, Gainesville, FL 32611-0001
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Price Range: £74 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the center of the University of Florida campus, the Reitz Union Hotel offers comfortable and affordable accommodations for the UF community. Located atop the UF student union, our 36 rooms come in various configurations from Standard rooms with 2-double beds, to Suites with living room areas. Complimentary amenities include continental breakfast, Wi-Fi Internet service, mini-refrigerators, local telephone calls, and reserved campus parking. Please visit our website or give us a call, and a student front desk assistant will be happy to answer any of your questions, 24/7! Go Gators! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Reitz Union Hotel - UF Campus Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing