We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Canoe Villa is Outstanding!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Flowery Branch, Georgia
1 review
“Big Canoe Villa is Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

If you want to spend some days in peace and quiet in a wonderful villa in the forested mountains of north Georgia, this is the place. The furnishings are wonderful, the kitchen well equipped and the view just wonderful!! This is a 5-star accommodation!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
99
134
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Always a pleasure... Home away from home.... Impeccable breakfasts and super comfortable beds! Gotta love this place. In Gainesville the place to stay for a unique experience. Don't miss the opportunity if you are in the area. Great for romance or families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjord014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We love to stay at Magnolia Plantation because it's a step back in time. Very private cottage with lovely fenced courtyard and fountain. Jessica's Cottage is always our choice because of the wonderful sun-room, cute kitchen to prepare our own meals and cozy living room with the most perfect appointments...games supplied in T.V. entertainment unit. The two bedrooms are beautiful with Plantation shutters and the bathroom has a large Jacuzzi-tub. If we needed anything Kim was always around to accommodate us. Joe and Cindy were out of the area, taking a well-deserved break. We really could stay there as a Winter home away from home! B&J P.S. We love the fact that our small dog was allowed and even had her own blankets left for her!.


.

Room Tip: Go on-line to website and chose according to needs. The cottages afford much privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyjann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed in the Cinnamon cottage for three days (July 26-28). The cottage was clean, cute, and stocked with all the necessities. I am very hot-natured and once I reprogrammed the thermostat (sorry Cindy), I was very cool and comfortable. We had guests in the second bedroom on Saturday night and they enjoyed the property as well. The location is convenient for all we wanted to do in Gainesville. We hope to stay here whenever we visit. I'd really like to see it in the winter to take advantage of the fireplaces.

Room Tip: I was hoping to see the interiors of some of the other cottages but they were mostly booked and we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamandRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Haven
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

The best Bed & Breakfast we have ever stayed in and we have stayed in many wonderful places. Joe and Cindy were so warm and real. We just didn't want to leave.It was so nice to be able to bring our little dog Tarah with us and she was welcomed with affection and her own special dog sheet. We were celebrating our anniversary and were made to feel like royalty.We were allowed to look at all the unoccupied rooms and take pictures of the house which we included in our album. We especially enjoyed seeing the before and after pictures of the mansion's renovation. Our meals were wonderful, and it was great eating outdoors overlooking the lovely gardens.We stayed in Jessica's Courtyard and had a private courtyard, eating area and water feature. The inside of our spacious cottage was decorated perfectly. The spa tub was so soothing after a long trip, and the bed was more comfortable than my own at home with it's freshly pressed sheets. Joe even went out of his way to give us a map of all the attractions in the area, as well as the restaurants. I just want to thank you for preserving a little piece of history and putting your own special touches on it. We look forward to coming back soon to enjoy your hospitality.Kudos John and Camille.

Room Tip: Check online for great pictures
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

This is a fabulous jewel in downtown Gainesville, close to many good restaurants. You feel as those you have walked back in time, as Cindy and Joe have left the landscaping very natural to central Florida. I stayed in the Carriage House (above the Summer Kitchen) and it was sumptous to say the least. The breakfasts are marvelous and Cindy and Joe are friendly and gracious hosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had a small wedding (under 30) and are so glad we chose to have our special day here! It was everything we had hoped for. The grounds were beautiful, even guests said it was like an enchanted garden, everyone loved the food Cindy and the crew there prepared and my husband and I loved everything about the Cottage House where we had our honeymoon. If you are planning a small wedding, this is THE place!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salina w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#26 of 45 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 309 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Plantation is a 5 room Inn with 7 private Cottages all located on almost 2 acres of landscaped gardens with pond, waterfall and water features throughout the property. Breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and beverages are served in the evening. Walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Plantation Bed And Breakfast Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing