We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic, relaxing property and bring the dogs”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Romantic, relaxing property and bring the dogs”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed with our dogs over the Memorial Day weekend in the Secret Garden cottage. The cottage has 2 bed rooms, full kitchen, living room and sun room. The antiques and décor were charming. The secret garden was a brick walled garden area with a table and chairs sitting area over looking a fountain. We loved it as did our dogs who could explore all the wanted. The Magnolia Plantation is a water themed property with a fountain or pong near each cottage. There is also a large house for guests without animals. The inn keepers, Cindy and Joe and their dog Abby, are very warm and helpful hosts.. Cindy makes a great breakfast.
The property is 4 or 5 blocks from the old town that has some great places to eat. The Hippodrome is also there. We walked to shops and restaurants every day.
We will surely be back to enjoy this friendly inn.

Room Tip: The cottages were great for those with animals. They have a July cottage special for $99 without bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lektor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
99
136
27
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Joe and Cindy went above and beyond for my wife and I during our stay. Great people; great place, great food. We stayed at the Secret Garden Cottage with our dog; it was a charming little home like you might see in Carmel, CA.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

6 family members stayed together; we loved the cottage and the outdoor patio. It was a great place to stay, the cottage was really cute. We rented it through VRBO so we did our own cooking and things couldn't have been more convenient. Host was great to work with. Convenient location for walking to campus and restaurants. When we mentioned to locals where we were staying, they said we had chosen wisely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotraveljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobe Sound, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We recently spent two nights in Beth's courtyard cottage. It was very comfortable and the owners could not have been more helpful.
It is convenient to restaurants and other downtown activities.
We will return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWILSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Port Richey, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hubby and I enjoy frequenting BNB's but none moreso than the Magnolia Plantation in Gainesville, Fl. What's the difference that makes going back here an anticipated pleasure each time? Engaging inn keepers Joe and Cindy, chance meeting of short-cationers from close by, an old downtown within walking distance with an eclectic variety of restaurants to choose from adds to the charm of this unique place. We always feel like coming here grants us "permission to put away cell phones, turn off TV's, and walk softly" on wooden floors in the main house. Making our own home feel like the paradise we visit upon every visit here is a personal goal. And to all of my friends up north who need to get away from the snow and cold, this is your destination for a recharge.

Room Tip: Try a new room on every visit. None are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My boyfriend (Mike G. the review below this one) and I stayed here together last weekend. We forgot to mention that we did not use our vehicles once we parked at the B&B because the location is perfect for walking to local coffee shops, a corner market, parks, and a ton of restaurants downtown. We also wanted to say that the food served for breakfast was top notch! The young lady (Abby?) who is working in the kitchen and serving bfast is very sweet to guests and she definitely knows what she is doing regarding cooking up some good food. We could have sat outside on the breakfast deck all day.....very relaxing and quaint! We truly loved everything and we plan on making this one of our local florida "stay aways"! Thank you to all of the staff at Maganolia Plantation! See ya again sometime soon!

Room Tip: The Secret Garden cottage is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmrh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first time here and we loved it!!!!! We were a late arrival but there was no issue at all finding our cottage. We stayed in the Secret Garden cottage and even though it is connected to another cottage the privacy is perfect. Breakfast was delicious and very quaint! The staff was very friendly, helpful, accommodating, and understood our need for a late check out with no additional fees! The property is beautiful and well maintained. Very historic and interesting to explore! We will be back! Thank you for everything Cindy and Joe!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#24 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 309 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLAN YOUR GETAWAY FOR THE MONTH OF JUNE! FROM JUNE 6-30 YOU CAN BOOK ANY COTTAGE OR ROOM FOR 25% OFF. JUST USE THE CODE "GETAWAY" AT CHECKOUT WHEN YOU BOOK ONLINE. Magnolia Plantation is a 5 room Inn with 7 private Cottages all located on almost 2 acres of landscaped gardens with pond, waterfall and water features throughout the property. Breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and beverages are served in the evening. Walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Plantation Bed And Breakfast Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing