We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing -- Nice and Friendly Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gainesville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Daytona Beach
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Relaxing -- Nice and Friendly Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2009

We stayed at the Magnolia Plantation for a short get-away weekend in Gainesville. Joe and Cindy made us feel right at home. It is obvious that they love what they do and they go the extra effort to make everyone feel like part of the family. Cindy hand-irons all the bed linens and that feels soooo luxurious at the end of a day of hiking at Paynes Prairie. We stayed in the Gardenia room which has a wonderful, light-filled reading nook and a working fireplace. Early evening wine and snacks provide a nice way to relax before going out to dinner. The Inn is within walking distance to some outstanding restaurants in downtown Gainesville. Breakfast was delicious and it was so nice to sit around the table and talk with Joe about as he shared stories with us about "Gator Nation".

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daybreak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    26
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
99
134
27
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

Found getting around outside at night was challenging...needs more ground lighting along pathways. No matches (at least in Nutmeg) yet there were many tea cup candles. These are really only minor things however...we found the accommodations very charming, comfortable and exceptionally well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

The Magnolia Inn is a wonderful place to stay. It is beautiful and set in a warm, inviting and peaceful part of Gainesville. The different cottages allow for a varied experience depending which one your choose. One thing you can always count on is a friendly welcome from the innkeepers, Joe and Cindy, and their assistant, Blair. Every time we visit Gainesville we look forward to our stay at the Inn. We especially enjoy the mornings, with the delicious breakfast that they cook up, the great conversations at the outdoor dining area and then the evening wine and snacks in the main house--I look forward to our next vist with such caring and gracious hosts.
Linda and Peter Sanchez

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esancfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2009

We stayed at a cottage with our beloved beagle and felt at home right away. Cindy and Joe were great to talk to and were eager to help us enjoy our stay at the inn and in Gainesville. They thoroughly enjoy running their B&B and their enthusiam enhances their guests' experience. I would not hesitate to recommend the inn, which is within walking distance of downtown and in the new B&B district of Gainesville, The lush grounds alone are worth the stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaglesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, FL
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2009

The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn was truly a delight! My husband and I chose a small cottage as opposed to staying in the main house, which also looked very lovely. The cottage was simply adorable, with a fireplace, cute little bedrooms and adorable furnishings. The hospitality was superb and the breakfast delicious. We will certainly stay again during our next trip to Gainesville.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2009

We stayed at Magnolia Plantation for two nights when the temperature dipped into the 30s. Although it was cold outside, we felt warm and welcome inside. Our room had a charming fireplace and our hosts, Cindy and Joe were gracious and informative. The grounds were unique and rustic in comparison to the cookie cutter hotels in the area. This was our first experience but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2009

I have stayed at the Magnolia Plantation 6 times over the last 8 years and have always been impressed by the quality of the accomodations and the friendliness and helpfulness of its staff. This completely and beautifully restored 1800's built house and surrounding cottages and natural landscaping of large magnolias and oaks provide a welcome and serene atmosphere for all travelers. Breakfasts are wholesome and nutritious and provide the opportunity to meet and converse with many fellow travelers around the breakfast table. Truly a wonderful place to stay and a hidden gem.

Jim Phillips
Los Angeles, California

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernCalifGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Gainesville Lodge
Gainesville Lodge
#26 of 44 in Gainesville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 309 SE 7th St, Gainesville, FL 32601-6831
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Magnolia Plantation Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Plantation is a 5 room Inn with 7 private Cottages all located on almost 2 acres of landscaped gardens with pond, waterfall and water features throughout the property. Breakfast is served in the morning and snacks and beverages are served in the evening. Walking distance to historic downtown. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Magnolia Plantation Bed And Breakfast Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing