We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed at this inn while we were visiting friends and very much enjoyed our stay. Our cottage was beautiful, the scenery was breathtaking and the breakfast was very nice as well. Additionally, it was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would recommend this place for sure and would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Hi, Diane! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please don't be a stranger!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Sweetwater Branch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

This place has all the Southern Charm you hear about. We stayed in one of the cottages that the Bed and Breakfast has on surrounding properties. It was an adorable rehabbed victorian that was a fantastic deal. It had antiques throughout and everything was so clean. There was not one single bug in the place and that is saying alot for Florida. They had a free breakfast at the main house which was delightful. Plenty to choose from. The grounds were so pretty and filled with pretty shrubs and walkways. The couple times we called about thing, they were handled right away and the owner was a sweetheart about it. If you want a trip to the real south, this is the place to stay. Your own little cottage for the price of a hotel room.

Room Tip: Look at all the rooms and cottages before you choose. Each has a different style to it. I would al...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Hi, Penny! Thank you for the kind words. We work incredibly hard to keep our property free of pests, and we really appreciate you recognizing it! As you noticed, our staff is very attentive - something we pride ourselves on. We hope to be at the top of your list next time you are in Gainesville :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Staying here was a completely different and worth while experience. We have been on tours of historic homes before, but had never stayed in one. The first night we stayed in Isadora. While it looked clean and was comfortable, it had a rather funky old home smell involved. However, the room was very unique with vaulted ceilings and a gorgeous sitting room complete with a window bench. The next night, we were scheduled to stay in Luisa, but she was leaking water from a pipe somewhere. Elyse was very helpful in relocating us to the Tea Rose room, and she made sure we were completely satisfied with the switch. You MUST understand that this home is probably over 100 years old and it WILL have its old home issues.

Our favorite parts of the stay were the complementary wine and cheese hour and breakfast! They served that most delicious french toast casserole and frittatas each morning. Property was walking distance to downtown. Linens were soft and cozy. Also, water and coffee are provided in both of the houses for whenever you want it. When we come back to visit Gainesville, we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MermaidGirlFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

We are so sorry about the issues during your stay, but you are right that sometimes these things cannot be helped in historic homes. Thank you for being so understanding! Even though it did not go as planned, we are glad you remained positive about your experience with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I've been staying at the Sweetwater Branch Inn now for over 20 years and it only gets better and better. Cornelia has recently added a pool to the complex of Victorian houses and quaint cottages that make up the inn. She's also hired a chef who made absolutely fabulous cinnamon apple French toast for our breakfast.

No other place in Gainesville hits the spot like Sweetwater.

Room Tip: There are no 'bad' rooms only different versions of really nice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flabuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for these kind words! We are so excited about the new pool, the renovations that were recently completed, and the addition of a seasoned chef to our innkeeping staff. We try so hard to provide our guests with the best of everything, and it is great to see it is being noticed. Please come see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at Sweetwater again after a 2 year hiatus. Previously, we had stayed in the Luisa en route to Savannah, where we got married. We decided to return for our 2nd anniversary. This time, we stayed in the Isadora and Tiffany rooms (one night in each).

The rooms were very clean and the beds are super comfortable (if you like high thread counts, this is the place for you).

I enjoy the cats outside. Butterscotch is the friendliest, but if you don't dig cats, don't worry -- they are not invasive at all.

Breakfast included: yogurt parfaits, frittata, French toast casserole, and organic drip coffee. Breakfast meats were served on the side, which is a real asset for those that do not eat pork.

All rooms have access to K-cup coffee makers 24/7 as well as fresh Culligan water.

I wholly recommend this inn and we will be back. Just minutes from downtown, but with none of the noise. Definitely walkable to hotspots such as Dragonfly, Maude's, Amelia's and The Hipp.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the Isadora. The bed is very comfortable, but rather squeaky. Room...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DetectiveMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

We are so happy to hear you will be back! And thanks for the tip about the bed in Isadora - we will remedy that immediately. Also, thank you for pointing out that our kitties like their alone time as much as our guests do :) We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Located on a beautiful property near downtown, the place offers great accommodations and peace. Because of the location, it is not difficult to find good restaurants around without even have to use any transportation.
The only problem that we had was with termites. During the night, we were able see some of them flying. On the following morning, it was possible to spot some wings on the floor...

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank repinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! Sweetwater definitely has an awesome location - so close to exciting Downtown Gainesville. We're sorry to hear you experienced indoor pest issues - we have a very close relationship with Florida Pest Control and have extensive treatments done nearly weekly. If you would, please private message us back to let us know which room you were staying in so that we can treat it accordingly. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Slept there a few nights in the Carriage house, had asked for a separate bedroom for our son but the bed was in the living, kitchen area and was an inflatable...... so we adapted...... but disappointed. The unit was clean and comfortable, with nice bath tub , but old style shower with tent. Breakfast good, but witha limited time window, so we only could enjoy it once, during our stay, but made coffee in our kitchen. Overall a nice place...but....

Room Tip: Most beds are queen size, Carriage House is nice if you plan to prepare some food on your own, as ha...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemeni58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize that it was not communicated effectively that the Carriage house is a one bedroom apartment with a queen-sized pullout bed in the living room. We do try to accommodate guest who are unable to attend the breakfast between 7:30a.m. and 9a.m. during the week by offering To-Go Breakfasts to guests who inquire. We hope you come back and give us another chance to impress you!


As a side note, so future guests are aware, we offer a 360 Tour of all of our rooms on our website, so that you can be sure the room you choose is to your liking before you arrive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 46 in Gainesville
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
3.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: £110 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville
Sweetwater Branch Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing