We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Plus+ Gainesville(Gainesville)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gator Town Inn(Gainesville)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$176
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
287
54
19
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
54
19
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheesethe cottageshoneymoon cottagesweet teahomemade granolakoi pondvictoria cottagebed and breakfastvictorian stylefront porchreception hallrose roomfully equipped kitchensouthern charmeach morningking size bedthe main house
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Sweetwater Inn, Gainesville Florida last week. The place was referred to me by a colleague who has stayed there before. It is one of the nicest places I have stayed, any where in the world. The property is quaint, a few cottages that have been restored. The rooms are very large & nice. Even the bathrooms are large. Rooms are well furnished. What really sets this place apart is the people & their warm hospitality. Very very friendly people. I got home cooked breakfast & it was a really tasty meal. The property is well located, about 12-15 minutes from Gainesville Airport, easy access to the downtown area etc. Only minor problem is that the Inn does not have laundry in the property, so you need to make your own arrangements. I stayed in the Julia room & it was excellent.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Julia room, in the Mackenzie hall. It was excellent. Bed was really comfortable. Wifi worked well. Very comfortable furniture.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rostow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is so exciting to hear from such an established traveler that we are one of the top locations they have stayed in. Whether business or pleasure brings you back, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We were so happy with our accomodations at Sweetwater Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were able to walk to the area around the college and enjoyed all the sites and coffee shops. The location is perfect. Our room was super clean, decorated beautifully, spacious and a most comfortable bed. Wine and cheese at 6 pm was an added treat. Breakfast was perfect. The Grounds surrounding the Inn are charming. Can't wait to go back/

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minpooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello!

We are so happy to hear all the wonderful things you had to say. The prime location and ability to walk to many great shops and restaurants is such a great addition to everything going on in the Inn. We hope on your next stay that you can explore even more of the unique town of Gainesville!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I just spent one night at the Sweetwater Branch Inn, but what a delight! The place is adorable and very clean and the breakfast is really beautifully done. Fresh squeezed OJ, homemade everything. Yum! The location is convenient to downtown. We walked to dinner and a show. I will say if you are in a room close to the kitchen, you won't sleep in. Preparations start early and are noisy. If you like to sleep in, choose an upstairs room.

Room Tip: Upstairs, away from the kitchen if you want to sleep in.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Sarah,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review the Inn. We take the time to make all of our breakfasts homemade and as fresh as possible, so we are excited to hear that you enjoyed this feature. If you are looking to sleep-in on your next stay, we'd suggest the rooms in the McKenzie House or a cottage as a great option since it is not in the same building that breakfast is prepared in. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Sweetwater Branch Inn. The rooms are all unique. We got our exercise climbing the stairs to the Isadora Room on the 3rd floor of the McKenzie House. There were only two rooms up there so it was very quiet. The breakfasts were delicious and served buffet style. On Sunday morning they had a guitarist playing soft music. The grounds were lovely and the staff was friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Isadora Room on the 3rd floor of the McKenzie House. It had lots of beautiful stained glass windows and a separate room with a desk and a wonderful window seat.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryWiegandTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hello Mary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything and we invite you to come back to try the phenomenal breakfast creations of our newest breakfast chef. While the isadora Room is on the third floor, it does provide an opportunity for privacy - and the chance to work off the amazing breakfast! We look forward to you staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I rally enjoyed my stay in the Tiffany Suite. It was spacious, had a lovely large bath and a good sized bed. The buildings and rooms are very quaint. The breakfast was lovely - French toast casserole, frittata, potatoes, sausages and bacon was a great way to start the day. The real joy in staying at Sweetwater, though, is the people. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Each evening there is a cheese and wine hour so you get a chance to meet others staying at the B&B. It therefore felt a very sociable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Hi, Jasmine. Thank you for the kind words! Our wine and cheese hour brings people together from all over the globe, and we think that is really special too. We hope you come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews