We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We recently spent one night at the Sweetwater Branch Inn. We enjoyed our romantic and charming but also nicely outfitted (coffee maker, TV, etc..) room in the McKenzie House. And from the fresh- baked brownies that greeted us at check- in to the delicious breakfast the next morning, we were very well fed. We also appreciated Christina cheerfully accommodating our late check-in when we arrived later than expected. We'll be back!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AETampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hi, Andrea,

It was my pleasure and thank you for your kind review. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you'll be able to spend more time the next time you come see us!

Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Sweetwater Branch is appropriately called an “inn” rather than a bed and breakfast (although they do serve a very nice, large cooked breakfast). A B&B is typically one house and you meet the owners. Sweetwater Branch is more of a large business concern. There are two main houses plus several cottages in the vicinity. There is also a very large added reception structure for large weddings and similar parties. We met a variety of hired staff who were all very pleasant. But it did end up feeling like we were staying in a busy business.

The rooms are quite pleasant and well outfitted with everything we could need. There are lots of signs around telling you what to do and what not to do which adds to the business-like air to the place. Breakfast was large and tasty with several options.

Ultimately, we did have a very nice stay and we would recommend it. Just be aware that this isn’t a quaint situation, but rather a busy business.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Hell, Keith.

Thank you for taking the time for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and would love for you all to come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our second visit to Sweetwater. First time we stayed in Sarah's cottage and were very pleased with all the amenities, including the working fireplace since it was winter. This time we stayed in the Cushman house and found it very comfortable and quiet. The wine and cheese hour was delightful and no one can say enough about the quality of the fabulous breakfasts offered. We are inveterate B&B folks and this is one of the best we have ever found -- in the U.S. or abroad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sorceress144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We truly appreciate you coming back to stay with us again and for the taking the time to write your positive feedback about your experience here. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My family of four and my in-laws traveled from Michigan to Florida to see family. We were looking for a place that all of us could stay in for a reasonable price. Gainesville seemed to only have cheap hotels (scary) or really expensive ones. I found Sweetwater Branch Inn on Trip Advisor and decided to give a B&B a shot. We rented the whole Nora Belle Cottage and it was amazing. Full kitchen, living room, dining room and two full master suites. The breakfast was first class and the grounds were beautifully kept and the salt water pool was great as well. The staff all seemed to really care about our stay and were very friendly and helpful. We will most certainly stay here again when we come down for another family visit.

Room Tip: Check out their website and review all the rooms. I emailed them questions and they responded quick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Hello, Eric!

We're happy that you and your family had a wonderful time here. The Nora Belle's Cottage is ideal for guests who want to stay together but have their own bedrooms and bathrooms. Having the shared kitchen, dining room and living room area is great for getting together.

Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay with us and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I stayed at Sweetwater for six months on an extended business contract. I wasn't interested in the standard executive stay hotel, so I decided to think outside the box. I'm extremely well-traveled and don't put up with poor service or uncleanliness, so I was skeptical of finding a really great place to stay in Gainesville.

The Sweetwater management truly loves this property and wants you to love it like they do. Cornelia, Elyce, Christina, and the rest cared for me like family. You're not getting a full-service hotel - no gym, no room service, no desk staff after hours - so you can't go in expecting that. What they do, they are clear about, and they do it beautifully.

PROS:
* Charming rooms
* Great food - I gained 10 pounds in six months (not a pro)
* Nightly wine and cheese - even when I was the only one staying in the inn, maybe on a Wednesday night, I was catered to like it was a full house
* Near to downtown and easy access to UF campus

CONS:
* Neighborhoods is just a tiny bit sketchy - it's fine to walk downtown at night during summer months when it stays light out longer, but singles may want to drive downtown after dark - and I'm a New Yorker
* No fitness facility, but Alter Ego Gym is a five-minute jog away and has day passes and monthly memberships

Room Tip: I prefer to be in the main house on the second floor - easy access to the kitchen and breakfast, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Hi, Brian!

It was our pleasure having you stay with us. As you know all of our staff takes great pride in their work and understands that the guests are why we're here.

You've become part of the family and we want you to visit us the next time you're in town. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write this glowing review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I've never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast, let alone for almost a week. Sweetwater Branch Inn was a pleasant introduction into Bed & Breakfasts accommodations! The Victorian style decor is well kept, clean and comfortable. The daily home cooked breakfast was awesome!!!!!! The staff was very friendly and pleasant ;-). Bill drove our group around and he was very friendly and helped make our stay enjoyable!!! You can tell he loves his job!! Overall, pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PharmDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and our bed and breakfast. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The service at the Sweetwater is very good, the rooms are clean and comfortable. However the location is in an iffy part of town, especially at night. Make sure you are familiar with your destination if you go for a stroll. We visited on a groupon deal and were more than satisfied with the stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Front Office Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2015

Hello! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a good experience on our property. I apologize the neighborhood did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we are only five minutes from downtown and located next to a park, so we do experience foot traffic that is out of our control. However, we have never experienced any safety-related issues concerning our guests coming into contact with the public, and often recommend they take the five-minute stroll downtown to enjoy the great food Gainesville has to offer. We hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: £114 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville
Sweetwater Branch Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing