We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful environs, wonderful food, genuine hospitaltiy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2006

While trying to book a hotel room for a business appointment and discovering a major convention was going to be held in Gainesville, I desperately searched for alternatives and discovered a place far above a hotel room: Sweetwater Branch Inn.

My husband and I have stayed at bed and breakfasts before, but always as a vacation or celebration, due to location, costs, and time elements. As it turned out, the Sweetwater Branch Inn is conveniently located to downtown Gainesville (walking distance of fewer than eight blocks), Shands, and UF. The cost was competitive, if not less, than some of the hotels. The homemade breakfast was one of the best that we have had (hope that you get there when Cornelia makes cheese grits!). The room was charming with firm bed, warm quilts, updated plumbing, enchanting gardens and lively conversation if you desire!

For dinner, we walked downtown through a lovely city park, found a variety of restaurants, enjoyed a sumptious meal, and meandered back to our room.

One of the best business weekends we have enjoyed!

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2006

I was in Gainesville on business and had reservations at the HOliday Inn, however upon arrival was dismayed at the premises (Lots of construction, room had an odd odor). I called Sweetwater Branch Inn and fortunately they had availability. This place is extremely nostalgic. Gorgeous grounds and gardens. The breakfast was all homemade goodness with a slight European flair. The hospitality was 5 star (NOte: Don't expect formality, they make you feel at home). I was sad that my business only required me to stay for one night! THe downside of telling everyone about this place is I hope I am able to obtain future reservations should I ever need to return to Gainesville. One more thing, don't think just because you are on biz you cannot stay in such a vacation like environment. They had free wireless high speed internet thru out! Beds were awesome. I slept like a baby!

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cocoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2006

I recently stayed at Sweetwater Branch Inn in Gainesville Florida to celebrate Valentine's Day. Once me and my husband arrived we were in awe of the Inn's charm and surroundings. We were checked in by the sweetest person we have ever met and shown to our room. My husband made plans with the innkeeper prior to our arrival and she made our room a romantic retreat. The rooms are beautiful on thier own but with the roses, petals on the bed and tub and homemade chocolate covered strawberries, that she prepped per my husband,the room was breath taking. In the morning we had the most delicious breakfast we have ever ate. The whole expierence was one I will never forget. We even heard someone proposed that evening! Sweetwater Branch Inn is the most romantic getaway and I recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Traveling_PR_Chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
555
Reviewed 27 May 2005

What a pleasent surprise when I attended my nieces wedding reception April/05 at the Sweetwater Inn. Guests of the wedding stayed in large rooms decorated in authentic Victorian style rooms.The inn is well maintained--restored antique furniture,a beautiful garden setting with ponds,flowering vines and thick lush trees.There are several houses each having there own character.One can stay in a large room or an effeceincy apartment.The inn is close to the historic area of Gainsville and the University. It is a great place to hold a wedding or family get-to-gether with the reception hall being right there.The wedding event was very well organized by staff and the food was great.There is a cute little honeymoon cottage right there.One can view this Inn at --------

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
27
Reviewed 27 April 2004

Recently stated at the Sweetwater Branch Inn and had a very nice stay. The breakfasts were delicious, the bed was comfortable and the accomadations were great. It is well located near UF and downtown restaurants. Just one suggestion, get a room towards the back of the property, where it is quieter. The inn is located on a busy street. Traffic noise is bad in the morning during the week and there are occasional sirens during the night. Otherwise we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chantal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephenie B, Public Relations Manager at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrsSpring62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
3.5 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
1.8 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
477 reviews
2.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
Wyndham Garden Gainesville
#29 of 47 in Gainesville
1,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: £108 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville
Sweetwater Branch Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing