We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sweetwater Branch Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gainesville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Staying at the Sweetwater Branch Inn was a last-minute decision and a great one. I was planning a one-night stay in Gainesville and decided to arrive a night early. My hotel was booked so I found this place online. I wish I could have stayed both nights here. Located downtown, the Inn was quite charming on a beautiful piece of property with a koi pond. I was travelling with my young daughter, so the Cornelia room was perfect with a queen bed for me a twin sleigh bed for her. Breakfast was fabulous--homemade frittattas, a wonderful french toast (for which I got the recipe), fruit, yogurt etc. the innkeeper was warm and gracious. We loved our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fivez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2009

I have stayed at the Sweetwater twice. Both times the staff was courteous and allowed us a late check out. The breakfast was excellent-french toast, sausage, quiche, fresh fruit, etc. My one qualm about this hotel is that I didn't get much sleep because of all of the creaking (that is what you get when you stay at in a refurbished 19th century home I guess) and the rather uncomfortable bed. Overall, it was an enjoyable trip however and I recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Couldn't ask for much more. Reasonable price, food great, wine/cheese in the evening gives opportunity to mix with others. Then just go and relax on the porch or take a short stroll up the street to Leonardos 706 for dinner and some jazz. The staff was very helpful, courteous and inspiring. "It's a great day!" Thanks!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frunzenskaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Our stay at the Sweetwater Branch Inn was delightful. The Inn is beautifully decorated and very cozy and comfortable. The rooms well appointed and beds and linens very good. The wine and appetizer in the evening was very delicious. Breakfast was fantastic. The innkeeper is a wonderful chef and the ultimate hostess. The inn is intown so we could walk to dinner. We would happily stay there and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babagran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

We stayed in Lilly Cottage for our anniversary in December. The staff was extremely friendly at check-in and during our stay. Our cottage was immaculate and so charming. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LucyGus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2008

We love staying at B & B's and Inns. Have stayed in many all across the country. It was our 16th anniversary. We booked the "romantic" Honeymoon Cottage at Sweetwater Branch Inn. The place was dark and drab. Not enough lighting in the cottage or outside. "Tiny" TV.....not convenient to watch from anywhere in the room. Mattress mushy.
In the morning we decided to get in the jacuzzi. Not enough hot water to fill the tub! Not even enough to run the jets! Then not enough hot water to take a shower, even after waiting over 35 minutes. When we reported this, the staff only said they would tell the maintenance man.
Shower was so small it was hard to bend over. The decor was not attractive. Dirty looking sofa. Not updated at all. NOT WORTH THE MONEY! This place has potential. The grounds are pretty, but the buildings need updating and they NEED more lighting outside and inside. Go somewhere else until they get it together.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TippyandDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWB_Management, Sweetwater Management at Sweetwater Branch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2009

Thank-you so much for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate when customers take the time to let us know how we can improve our Inn.

Based on your review, we have completely revamped our Honeymoon Cottage. We have made improvements to decor, furnishings and fixtures. We look forward to your next visit and we are confident you will like the changes we have made.

Sweetwater Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

My husband and I took our son to U of F for his junior year and wanted a place to stay for a brief respite from our normally very hectic lives. Sweetwater Branch Inn was just what we were hoping for and more. We actually stayed in two different rooms because we called to reserve our rooms at the last minute. The Blue Room was small but lovely. The Isadora Room was more beautiful and incredibly large! Their breakfast was delicious. We sat outside near the small fountain on the patio, and even in the hottest month of the year we were cool. There was a wedding right below our room on the second night and we didn't hear a thing until the very last minute when everyone raised their voices to wish the bride and groom farewell. Restaurants abound in this area and are only a 5 minute walk from the Inn. This is my first review that I've ever written but I felt compelled to extol the virtures of this place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KatieSue62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn University
Comfort Inn University
#8 of 47 in Gainesville
456 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
#19 of 47 in Gainesville
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
675 reviews
4.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetwater Branch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetwater Branch Inn

Address: 625 E University Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gainesville
Price Range: £115 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetwater Branch Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweetwater Branch Inn features 20 spacious guest suites and cottages just blocks from the University of Florida and hip Downtown Gainesville. All of our guests are welcome to a delicious full breakfast spread in the morning, as well as a complimentary wine and cheese hour in the evening. Each of our rooms feature a private bath along with a king or queen size bed, while some rooms have additional beds, Jacuzzis, fireplaces, and extra sitting rooms! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sweetwater Branch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Branch Hotel Gainesville
Sweetwater Branch Inn Gainesville, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing