We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little museum”

Florida Museum of Natural History
Ranked #2 of 63 things to do in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Native American and natural history exhibits in this museum at the University of Florida.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great little museum”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Try to go when they are having a special exhibit, but even without that there are caves simulating natural Florida, giant shark teeth and lots of things to touch and explore. The butterfly garden is amazing... well worth the extra fee. You might also want to go next door to the art museum to enjoy the art and have lunch in the cafe. The food is great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank to2to2too2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    132
    21
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun for kids and parents alike”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Visited here with my grandchildren and they loved it. The play space for the kids was also a lot of fun. There was plenty to see and it was very educational..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruisequeengoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Worth it”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

It's a great place to visit. Especially on hot or rainy days when outdoor activities are not possible. Take you time . and return often. There is so much to see!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank VAO352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We enjoyed visiting and visited the rainforest and the wolf wolf exhibit while we were there.Most def somewhere to visit with a family so much to see we spent 3 hrs in here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank family335002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise. Don't miss the American Lion Fossil”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Amazed. I could not believe the expansive content housed in this museum. From the exterior, one would never guess all the treasures held within. I had traveled to Gainesville to see the REAL skull of an American Lion found at Ichetucknee Springs State Park. Who knew that North America had lions??!! I ended up spending all afternoon admiring the numerous skeletons of the MASSIVE ancient creatures that used to roam Florida. One of the docents told me that about 90% of the skeletons were real (although composites of several creatures) and were literally found within a 150-mile radius of Gainesville. Exhibits included: fossils, botany, Native American cultures, Butterflies, plus much more. No admission, but donations accepted. An additional Butterfly exhibit was available for a fee. I highly recommend a visit to this outstanding museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank OHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida Museum of Natural History also viewed

 

Been to Florida Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing