We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance and Fine Dining”
Review of Embers Wood Grill

Embers Wood Grill
Ranked #2 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegance and Fine Dining”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The service and food are outstanding. The service is good but not the best. Never had a bad meal but the steaks and seafood are among the best available. All the sides are worth a try. Mix them up and share with the table. A bit on the pricey side.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillnFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    77
    38
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in Gainesville”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have had multiple very good evening meals at The Embers. Best known for steaks and seafood. Very good bar and wine list. Complete menu with wide choice of appetizers, soups and salads. I prefer the New York Strip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Epeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food good service”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We did not have a reservation but we did get a table in the bar which was fine. Nice menu, we had grouper and a small filet. Both meals were very tasty, prepared as ordered and served hot. The sides were also very good we had lobster mash, vanilla sweet potato, tomato with blue cheese, and mac/cheese. You get two side with an entre so there was plenty to eat. Service was very professional. We especially like it when we don't have to request refills, dishes are cleared in a timely manner and the check process does not take a long time. We will be visiting Gainesville a lot in the next few years and we will definitely be going back to Embers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZippyIndialantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alachua, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love to eat at Embers”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We've been to Embers several times. Great food and service. Really enjoy every meal I eat here!
Do you enjoy a good steak? The best filet that I've ever eaten was here. It has just as wonderful each time I go. My boyfriend has had bison several times and lamb. Lobster mashed potatoes and vegetables are great. Excellent soups. Hoping to try one of their desserts next time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vduggan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Driving to Miami Fl”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My daughter Rachel and I were driving from Reno NV to Miami FL. Wanted a good meal at end of day to break up the trip. Embers wood grill fit the occasion perfectly. I had walnut crusted salmon with vegetables and Rachel had their short ribs with shrimp garlic mashed potatoes. Both meals were excellent! Our server, John H, was very attentive and helpful in selecting our wine to have with our meals. Beautiful, relaxing atmosphere. Just what we were looking for. Would go again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Embers Wood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Embers Wood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing