We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Front desk staff was very friendly, especially Marcus, who made our check in extremely easy. The hotel rooms are adequately large and quiet, but there was no bathtub in the bathroom, only a shower. I would recommend this hotel to couples, families, and business travelers. The parking garage is a walk from the hotel, but it is well lighted and the path easy to follow. There are numerous restaurant and bars within walking distance of the hotel, so you can definitely park your car for the evening!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmrouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown. Thanks for letting us know how wonderful Marcos was in assisting you with your check in. We love hearing about positive experiences our guests have with our staff. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (817)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 817 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise. I wasn't sure about staying at the downtown Gainesville Hampton Inn, although the reviews at Tripadvisor sounded good. We just needed a place to sleep for the night, and I didn't know how easy it would be to get in and out of town from the highway. But following the hotel website directions it was simple. And by chance we arrived on a Wednesday afternoon in March when the weekly farmer's market was going strong in the park across the street (recommended).
For a very reasonable price we reserved a King suite, which was a large room on the top floor. There were lots of restaurants all around the hotel, and it was fun to walk around the neighborhood. The usual breakfast is available at the hotel, a little better than usual really, with good oatmeal. Starbucks is about a block away, if you care about that kind of morning coffee and a good newspaper.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better. Next time I might try asking for a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusticee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

We're so glad that you decided to venture into the downtown Gainesville area on your recent visit. We appreciate your patronage here at the Hampton Inn & Suites. We also appreciate you taking time out of your business schedule to write a review regarding your visit with us. We hope to see you again, when your travels bring you to the Gainesville area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Even though we were with the "rival" team, this wonderful place made us feel very welcome. Beginning to end, check-in to check-out...a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastalTeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love having rival teams and fans stay with us. Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review and we hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I enjoy staying at Hamptons simply because they have reasonable rates and are usually very clean, safe and have comfortable rooms. This was a very nice Hampton, and it was in a convenient location. I chose this one because I was seeing a concert over on UF's campus and needed somewhere decent to stay.

The parking situation was a little precarious. You have to park in a parking garage that's about a half a block down the street and follow the signs to walk around to the hotel. I felt a little unsafe at times walking alone back there to the garage, although at the end of the day I was fine and nothing happened. You do have to pay for parking but the cost is minimal.

The location, as I said above, is very convenient. It's located in downtown Gainesville near all sorts of restaurants all of which are within easy walking distance. The woman who checked me in a the front desk provided me with a few coupons for said restaurants and a map of where they all were in relation to the hotel and what kind of food they all provided.

The breakfast was your typical Hampton breakfast, which included eggs (powdered, I think) in omelet form, potatoes (home fries, whatever), and then various cereals, pastries, fruit and yogurt, along with juice and coffee. This is always perfect for me as I'm usually not a huge eater in the morning anyway, and it's FREE which is the best thing! This is another reason why I love Hamptons!

The other reason why I usually choose Hamptons is for the free WiFi! I've found that in some hotels the WiFi can be spotty, but it most certainly was not in this one. It worked very well and never went out on me. That made me VERY happy.

The staff was also very friendly and helpful.

All in all, this was a clean, comfortable, convenient Hampton Inn in a great location. I would definitely choose this hotel again if I'm in Gainesville in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmLovesCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2012

I appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our hotel. Should you stay with us in the future, I wanted to let you know that we do have transportation to and from the parking garage. So, if you come in late at night or have to leave early in the morning, just contact the front desk and let them know you would like a ride over to the garage. We value your business and want to ensure your comfort and safety during your stay. Thanks for choosing the Hampton Inn and Suites in Downtown Gainesville! We love having you here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Definitely better (and more pricey) than your average Hampton Inn. Friendly front desk upgraded us (unsolicited) to a King Suite with a sofabed, which we needed. Clean and comfortable room with wet bar and fridge. Hotel is in a perfect location to visit the restaurants and bars Downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWMETROLFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

I'm so glad that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed the room upgrade. We try to make every guests experience as wonderful as possible. We hope you'll visit us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Clean, friendly staff, quick check-in, breakfast ok. Location awesome for restaurants, bars, etc.Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mghollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

We're glad that you had such a great experience at our location. Thank you for sharing your comments and we look forward to accommodating you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel. Good service, great location, nice breakfast area, clean and in close proximity to the start of the Hawthorne Biking Trail - a 16 mile one way bike trail through beautiful scenery. Also, very convenient to UF, especially if your kids live on the East side of the campus.

We would definitely choose it again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seetheworldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our location does play a part in the fabulous experience at our hotel, and I'm thrilled to hear that it was very accommodating. Please visit again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#10 of 47 in Gainesville
701 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gainesville University Center
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £107 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing