We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well situated; good work environment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, United States
1 review
“Well situated; good work environment”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is well situated near several good restaurants, two coffee places. Hotel accommodations were surprisingly good to conduct business (in room) and on second floor. Found room clean; bed very comfortable and quiet to conduct business.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We really appreciate you taking time to post a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the great coffee shops and restaurants in the downtown area. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    184
    54
    27
    15
See reviews for
259
110
34
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

We went here because our hotel of choice was full. Service was excellent, rooms were clea but basic, breakfast left a lot to be desired. Pool closed too early and next time we will call ahead to stay at Country inn.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithsnumber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We really appreciate you posting a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We love having you here and we hope you'll visit us again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basseterre, St. Kitts
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The location was perfect, right in downtown Gainesville. Even though we had to pay for parking, it was a reduced rate, and a guaranteed spot, so didn't mind that in the end. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank winddolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the downtown area. We love having you here and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern US
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very nice Hampton in Downtown Gainesville. Easily walkable to many restaurants, and staff gives good recs. Even though we were fans of the opposing team, we were treated exceptionally well. Fun game day reception with complimentary cocktails and snacks. Hotel was clean and staff was professional. Hotel provides a free shuttle to stadium on game day and Roberta, our driver, was friendly and fun – she went above and beyond. Only complaint, no shuttle service to airport and cabs are pricey and slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iPhoneFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We really appreciate you taking time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We're glad that you enjoyed all of the special festivities that we have during our football weekends. Gator or not, we love having you here! Thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is the only hotel I now consider for business stay in Gainesville. My firm spends a lot of time recruiting at UF, so the location -- less than 2 miles from campus -- is ideal. (And no running into students at dinner/drinks!) The downtown area is safe, and provides entertainment and food. The hotel is clean and quiet, and the staff make the visit a breeze. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thanks so much for the excellent review on your recent stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you'll only stay with us when your business brings you to the Gainesville area. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is beautiful. It is impeccably maintained and staffed with great people. We stay at this hotel several times per year, during football season, and couldn't be happier. The hotel is situated downtown, very close to quaint shops, several lovely restaurants and an array of bars that would fit anybody's taste.

We are recurring guests, and as such, have gotten to know many of the staff members. They couldn't be any nicer and couldn't go more out of their way to make sure your stay is a great one. I can't say enough about the friendliness of the staff. Exemplary from top to bottom.

A few things to note (just in reviewing reviewers comments): (1) The location is right in the middle of downtown Gainesville. As with many downtown areas, there can be some "unsavory types" that tend to wander the streets from time to time. This has nothing to do with the hotel and I believe the hotel does all they can do to insure guests (and their guests, alike) are the only ones with access to the hotel - especially at night. In the evenings, the streets are alive with locals, college students and visitors, alike. I have never felt unsafe coming to/from the bars and restaurants - even late into the night.

(2) The pool is small - the location is very limited. I would describe it as more of a "relaxing" pool, by no means large and/or entertaining for small children.

(3) There is not an onsite bar/restaurant, but (a) the complimentary breakfast spread is always good and (b) there are more restaurants and bars within walking distance than one can imagine.

(4) Parking is next door in the garage. If you pull up to the front of the hotel - you will be assisted with parking (at least during "game weekends" - the hotel offers valet parking), including instructions.

Kudos to the staff. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We usually a book a corner suite - HUGE and very, very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeresaFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to post a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate our devoted Gator fans. Football weekends would not be the same without you! We LOVE having you here and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 September 2013

room was very small, clean but small and the price was crazy expensive for the services offered. will not stay at this location ever again. there was no restaurant or bar. I should have done more research before making the reservation. I blame myself for paying to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks so much for posting a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We actually have a restaurant in the hotel, and they offer room service. I'm sorry that this information wasn't relayed to you. There are also numerous restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing