We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay nowhere else in Gainesville!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Will stay nowhere else in Gainesville!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Booked this hotel for a birthday weekend/football game weekend with 2 other families. We have stayed at Hampton Inns before so knew what to expect. This hotel, although a mid-priced chain, really exceeded what we thought we would get.
When we checked in late on Friday night, there were cookies and cupcakes waiting! The front desk staff is very sweet and accommodating. I got to my room (219) only to discover that it was not only next the elevator but the room right where the "happy hours" and breakfast takes place. In other words, the room was right next to the most happening place in the hotel! They promptly changed our room when I asked.
The room is your standard Hampton room. Adequate in size (we are 2 adults and 2 children) and clean. The bathroom has plenty of storage and is easy to maneuver.
The location of the hotel is THE BEST!! You are right in downtown Gainesville so are within walking distance to many great restaurants (Yes, Gainesville has those and a lot of them too!!) and a Starbucks! We did not get in our car all weekend! The hotel has a shuttle to Ben Hill Griffin stadium and they dropped us off behind The Swamp restaurant and picked us up right after the game at the Kangaroo gas station. Did not wait one second for the shuttle either!
Can't wait to go back to Gainesville and stay at the Hampton Inn Downtown (beware because there is another in town off of I-75) and GO GATORS!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benandlaurensmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're so glad that you were able to stay with us over a Gator football weekend. It's our favorite time of year and we love having a house full of Gator fans. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    181
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
250
107
34
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
traveler321
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

You really can't find a better place to stay in Gainesville unless you happen to live there. I graduated from UF several years ago and up until recently was able to stay with friends in graduate programs. Now that they've all graduated, the Hampton Inn was the next choice. The staff were incredibly helpful, the room was comfortable and clean (they even clean the duvet cover between every guest!), and the location cannot be beat - right in the heart of downtown. Walk to restaurants (may I recommend The Top?) and bars without a problem. I would definitely stay here on my next trip to the Swamp.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank traveler3217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you've found a new place to stay when you're in town. We agree, there isn't a better place to stay in Gainesville. Thanks again and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I was beyond impressed with this hotel. It was clean, friendly and the beds were so comfortable! It was in an amazing location. No need to even have a car. Everything you need is right there. The staff was incredibly friendly...Shuttles to the games, free delicious breakfast, cupcakes and cookies and drinks in lobby...I would highly recommend! I have never seen a hotel of this caliber in Gainesville!!!

Room Tip: Very busy hotel, so I would try to book a lower floor to spend less time in elevator. (Made many sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatorFan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks so much for the Outstanding review of the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown! We are so happy that you enjoyed your time here and we really appreciate the recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great experience! Clean and very helpful! The breakfast had a nice variety of fresh fruits, yogurts, egg dishes, and we could even make waffles. The bed was very comfortable. They actually wash all bedding in each room after each guest's stay...including the beds you don't sleep on.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jenevieve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We hope you'll visit us again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcadia, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have used the downtown Hampton several times while visiting our son at the University of Florida and attending the annual arts and crafts festival. The staff is pleasant and consistently displays a customer friendly attitude. The rooms are most comfortable and housekeeping maintains them very well. The breakfast is delicious and the location is in the heart of Historic Gaianesville. You step out the front door to a wonderful assortment of restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thanks so much for the great review of the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown! We really appreciate you letting us know how we're doing. We're happy to hear that you enjoy our location and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
123 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I decided to go to Gainesville for a weekend just to check it out. We wanted a hotel downtown close to all the bars and restaurants. This hotel delivers, it is clean and comfortable. Nice to get a hot breakfast included. I could not find fault with anything, almost looked like I stayed there on opening night, kudos to the Engineering staff to keep this property looking like brand new. Just needs a little more pizzaz, to make it more interesting for couples and such. Very much focused on the business traveler.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patten36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thanks so much for the excellent review of the Hampton Inn and Suites Gaineville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay. We hope you'll visit us again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend trip with my buddies to a Gator football game. I would highly recommend this hotel for it's service, location and surrounding restaurants and nightlife. Close walk (1.2 miles) to University of Florida campus is convenient on game day!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdbaker72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We really appreciate you taking time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're so glad that you and your friends were able to catch up over a Gator football game. We hope you 'll stay with us again, the next time you're in town. We love having you here! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#8 of 44 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing