We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Upon check in I was greeted with a smile and some information about local businesses. Then I was told about the complimentary amenities (Wifi/ethernet in every room, free HOT breakfast with bacon and eggs included along with a variety of pastries, cereals, yogurts, juice, coffee, tea, waffle station). I was also informed that if you forget to bring an essential item like toothpaste or a razor, they will give you one at no charge. Once I got into my room (a king suite on the 4th floor), I was impressed with the size. The room featured a large TV, sleeper sofa, tons of storage, plenty of workspace (I was visiting for an interview at University of Florida so I didn't need it but it was ample), a huge king bed with four pillows that was very comfortable, and a lovely bathroom/changing area. The room was very well maintained and the hotel itself was clean and comfortable. I stayed for 2 nights and would absolutely stay here again. The staff are professional and willing to help with anything you need. Two thumbs way up for this Hampton!

Room Tip: King Suite is huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guitarman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the area. Thanks again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 783 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

Hotel very nice and clean. Restaurants near give discounts and are great. Close to anything you need and service great also. Breakfast and coffee in morning would please anyone. If not for business ask for room without long table.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We hope to see you again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

If you're looking to be within a few steps of a number of great restaurants, right in the heart of Gainesville, then this is the hotel. As a matter of fact, it appears to be the only lodging in the immediate area. The hotel appears well maintained, and I found our room, a double queen, to be very clean and well appointed. The hotel features complimentary internet, wi-fi and wired, in the rooms, and it worked well. Of course, Hampton's feature a complimentary breakfast. The breakfast area is on the second floor of this six story facility. It was also well kept and well stocked during our 3 days there. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
My only hang up here was how much this property was per night. It is the most expensive Hampton I have ever stayed at anywhere. Other than location, I can't think of a reason why it's a high as it is. There were no special events in play during our stay, and the facility was far from sold out. In addition to the room rate, if you arrive by car, valet parking is highly encouraged, at an additional charge per night. There is a parking structure just a building away, and, because of my own laziness, I opted for the valet rather than determine how easy it would have been to be in and out of that public structure. Maybe next time I'll do a little more investigation of it before opting for the valet.
All that said, I guess it is about location. I would indeed consider staying here again for that reason. A decent walk, but walking distance nonetheless from the U of F campus, and, as noted, there are a ton of great restaurants surrounding the hotel. If you're willing to pay for it, then this is your spot.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_5595_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience. Our guests really enjoy our location and it's close proximity to many wonderful downtown restaurants and bars. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Hotel is in downtown Gainesville walking distance from several restaurants. Rooms and public areas are noticeably clean and neat. Front desk staff were polite and welcoming. There was a wide variety of breakfast items, and the staff person in charge of breakfast made sure the guests were well taken care of.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thanks so much for posting a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit again, real soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Right in the middle of Downtown. Valet parking, comfortable beds. Staff very helpful. The suites in the back were huge for only slightly more and they are quieter as they do not face the street where the restaurants are

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Travellover321_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks so much for the excellent review on your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. Your feedback is very much appreciated. We hope you'll stay with us again, the next time you're in the area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We recently celebrated a wedding in Gainesville, and since we were all coming from out of town, we blocked off quite a few rooms for the weekend. EVERY request we made was met with a smile and handled efficiently and courteously. Our guests had nothing but good things to say about this gem. The location is ideal -- a five minute drive to campus and walking distance to all the best restaurants and night spots. The rooms are comfortable, spotless, and beautifully appointed. We had a wonderful experience and will definitely stay here next time we visit Gainesville.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizMiami2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you and your group had an excellent time during your stay. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope you'll visit us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the Hampton Inn with a group of friends and had a great experience! The people checking us in were pleasant and easy to deal with, and they informed us of all of the amenities and the surrounding neighborhood. The room was spacious and well-suited to all of our needs, and some of the restaurants around give discounts to people staying in the hotel. Breakfast was good too, but the big standout was the customer service and the walking distance from restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate your feedback and we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again real soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
666 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 47 in Gainesville
611 reviews
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £104 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing