We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
New City, New York
1 review
“Will stay here again”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I can not say enough great things about this hotel! The staff was pleasant (Rosa at the front desk is a doll), the room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, the complimentary breakfast was delicious, the valet attendants were friendly, accommodating and helpful, and I came and went about 30 times in 2 days. The lobby was inviting and friendly and every amenity I needed was right there. I will be coming to Gainesville for the next 4 years and will definitely stay at this hotel. The downtown area had so many great restaurants within 2 blocks of the hotel, yet the room was quiet and I never heard a peep from outside.

I will be coming back to Gainesville in June and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're happy to hear that your experience was great from top to bottom. We look forward to seeing you many more times over the next 4 years. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    189
    57
    28
    16
See reviews for
271
113
35
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Oh my GOODNESS! Talk about friendly and accomodating staff! The room was spotless, the staff was ever so friendly and helpful. Valet parking attendants were spot on and quick to get our car no matter how many times in a day we came and went. I was honestly blown away by the exceptional quality of this hotel.

At breakfast I was sort of wandering around looking at the selection. The kitchen supervisor approached me and asked, " would you like a fresh, warm biscuit?" and handed over one from a tray she had just taken out of the oven. Mmmmm. Coffee 24/7 was a huge benefit. Breakfast was moderate but well done.

The pool was a bit small and the jacuzzi was not open, but we had no plans to use it anyway.

Only negative is that the heating unit in the bedroom was very loud. I would have gladly turned it off at night but my sister (who weight 90 pounds soaking wet) was "cold".

Over all the BEST stay I have had at a hotel in a long, long time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thanks so much for the great review on the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and we hope you'll visit us again real soon. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel in March, 2014. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was very clean, friendly and in a great area. I loved the happy hour, breakfast and breakfast on the run if you don't have time for a full meal. Very accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

2nd time staying here. Felt more like a boutique hotel, rather than a "normal" Hampton Inn. All aspects of the service were great and the condition of the property was predictably clean. Complimentary breakfast was great. Insider tip: There should be free parking nearby (I arrived Sat and departed Sun) if you don't mind walking a block or two, although weekdays you might as well just valet or be prepared to walk a few extra blocks. Great restaurants/bars close by, yet the room was very quiet!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're glad that you decided to visit us again! We really appreciate the great feedback about our property and we look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is a nice little gem in the heart of Gainesville. It is nice to be in the middle of good restaurants and entertainment. There was a bike event happening when we went and the hotel was very busy but it was very quiet in the room. We enjoyed everything from check in to check out! Very polite staff, very clean room with a great view! If you need to stay in Gainesville for a game or whatever, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our property and it's close proximity to all the wonderful downtown restaurants. Thanks again, we really appreciate the positive feedback and recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Averill Park, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I recently stayed in Gainesville for business - the company made the reservations (the main reason for why I was staying in the Hampton Inn). That being said, Hampton Inns are usually pretty reliable and this one was no different.

Firstly, the location is great! It's in downtown Gainesville and relatively close to the airport and hospital. It's surrounded by lots of dining establishments (lots of variety!) and is not far from the Hippodrome. It's a busy area, but there was virtually no street noise to speak of.

The hotel itself is clean and well-maintained. The front desk staff were very helpful and quite friendly, and I have no major complaints about the room or my stay. The hotel was very quiet and I got a very comfortable night's rest. One perk (for me): free internet. And for me, at least, the internet was very reliable and had good connection, so no complaints there, either. I also appreciated the continental breakfast.

If I'm in the Gainesville area in the future, I'd be willing to stay at this Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdoc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thanks so much for the great review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you letting us know about your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed everything about our hotel. We look forward to your next visit. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

After my first stay at this hotel, I thought I found my go to hotel in Gainesville, things have changed in the short time that I last visited. The hotel now charges for parking, which I hate. They did not have my room ready when I arrived, despite my Hilton status and the person who arrived after me was able to get their room. When I finally got my room, I showered and changed for a very important meeting only to find that the first towel I grabbed was stained.

I am going to reevaluate my hotel choices next time I am in Gainesville

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sbkfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
We really appreciate you letting us know about your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. Parking is a premium in the downtown area and due to the feedback we've received from our guests, we've added valet parking to make it easier for our guests to get in and out in a timely manner. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and will address these issues with our staff. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#9 of 44 in Gainesville
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 44 in Gainesville
566 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing