We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed one night right before the Memorial Day weekend. The room was very nice. Surprised that there was no bottled water in the room, but not a major deal.. A tad on the expensive side. Nice area with lots of restaurants and nightlife within walking distance. Felt completely safe the entire time. Good breakfast, which I usually skip in hotels, but made the room rate easier to take.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We love having you here and we hope to see you again the next time you're in the area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Josh and the rest of the front desk staff were amazing! Felt very safe. Also valet is excellent and super duper fast! Rooms were clean and quiet. Coming back for sure. Favorite place to stay in Gainesville.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank kbren88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay with the Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown Gainesville. We're delighted to hear that your stay was excellent and that the staff was amazing! Thanks again and we hope to see you real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The downtown Gainesville Hampton inn is a nice hotel. The hotel is in a great location, close to many fine restaurants, shopping and excellent walkiing opportunities. The pleasant staff are always there to help and provide for the needs of the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Earl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed some of the wonderful restaurants and shops that surround the hotel. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I was in Gainesville recently for a friend's wedding. As a result, we had a pretty decent wedding rate and stayed two nights.

First off, you cannot beat this property's location. It is within walking distance of everything that matters in Gainesville (restaurants, bars, etc). Also, downtown is a 5 min drive from UF.

Our room was spotless, shower and beds were great per usual Hampton style. This Hampton runs on the expensive side of the spectrum, but it is worth every dollar.

PRO TIP: If you arrive on a weekend, don't pay for parking. There are many parking spots around and parking is lifted after 6pm on Fridays.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubilantjesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're happy to hear that your room was spotless and that you loved our location. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the area. Thanks again for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Thanks Hampton Inn Downtown Gainesville for another great stay for our family! We stay here on the way to the beach every year. Consistently encounter friendly staff upon check-in and check-out. The breakfast is well stocked and plenty for our family. Did not mind at all paying the $12 valet fee. The two valet attendants were very friendly and professional. Our rooms , as always, were very clean and everything was in working order. The park across the street is indeed crowded with the homeless, but at no time did we feel unsafe in the hotel. Glad to hear the city is helping them beginning in July. See you guys next year!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of our property. We're glad to hear that you always stay with us when you're traveling through the area. We look forward to seeing you again real soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I would like to respectively question using the phrase from the General Manager regarding the comment/feedback on a review from 5-24-14. “the incident you refer to regarding an individual getting into the hotel was due to the fact that they obtained a room key from a guest” The guest did not freely give the man a key, the key was either stolen from the guest or lost by the guest. In either case someone should be aware that there was someone (i.e. a homeless person) in the hotel in the halls after hours that did not belong there and was going door to door trying to enter rooms. Also, having researched the police reports for this address over the past year there have been a multitude; from trespassing ( good catch) to robberies, assault, battery and vandalism. I would have preferred to see an acknowledgement and comments on what Hampton Inn would do in the future to protect guests, i.e. better training of staff, better surveillance etc. Also in reviewing TripAdvisor the probem
with the vagrants/homeless has existed for a few years. The hotel is very nice, but the safety issue is of concern

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler7619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Love the location! There are so many GREAT restaurants within walking distances (from 10 feet to a few 100 yards). Another great asset is the valet parking! If you don't want to park your car, you can have the convenience of valet parking. I have stayed on the 3rd, 4th, 5th, and 6th floors. Even with my room facing the street, I have never had street noise. The cooling/heating system doesn't make noise cutting on and off all night long. LOVE this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank donnal361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you'll visit us again the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#11 of 47 in Gainesville
675 reviews
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Address: 101 SE 1st Ave, Gainesville, FL 32601-6819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range: £104 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing