We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed at all!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Stockbridge, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not impressed at all!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We normally like to stay at Hampton Inns, I was skeptical about staying here due to the mixed reviews that we saw, wished that I had gone with my gut and stayed else where. The valet was not there when we came, so we had to wait, the clerk was not at the desk so more waiting. I was tired and waiting just makes me grumpy. The homeless are not very visible during the day but at night, they are everywhere, now I understand why they have valet parking. The room was not very big and smelled musty. Breakfast was ok, standard hotel setup with waffles etc, and the cookies in the evening were worth snatching. But as a whole, just not worth the money at all. Stay somewhere else if your looking for nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you had to wait on the valet service and front desk. We take great pride in our customer service and I sincerely apologize that you didn't have a great experience. I hope you'll give us another chance to make your next stay a more pleasant one. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your experience so that we can address these issues with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    177
    53
    26
    15
See reviews for
244
105
32
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the recommendation of someone and were skeptical that the hotel would be as nice as they said. They were right! Clean, large suite rooms and great breakfast. Valet parking is the easiest because of the location, which is the only part that was a little annoying. Overall very pleased and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised during your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We're so glad that you enjoyed our fresh clean rooms and that you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast. Thanks so much for posting a review and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned yesterday from a business trip to Gainesville. Had made a reservation at the downtown Hampton Inn close to my meeting. Pulled up tired after long drive, the valet greeted me and directed me to the desk. Joshua was on the desk and welcomed me to the Inn. After a long drive, the room was cool, very clean - when I came down I was told of the farmer's market (Wednesday) - was given a coupon for a free appetizer at a local restaurant (which there were many of within walking distance)....a good hot breakfast (as well as yoghurt and cereal) was provided each day and a wine/beer and munchies each day in the lobby at 5:00 p.m.....

if all the Hampton Inns are like this one, I will stay from now on: professional, courteous, helpful staff - Thank you all....Dorothy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonder experience at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. Thanks so much for letting us know about your stay. We're glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience when you arrived after a long day. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the Gainesville area. Thanks again for posting a great review of our property. We love having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I am not big into chains, so likely my review is somewhat tinted by that. I find them boring.

The location of the hotel is great. In the thick of everything, restaurants and shops. Also, they have free access to computer and printer at the lobby, which is nice. Free fast food/cheap type breakfast. Happy hour at the lobby in the eve, with free wine and beer.

The price, around $150/night, seems expensive for Gainsville and this hotel. I picture something classier for the location. Also, the walls are paper thin, it was pretty loud during my stay, and I had requested a room at the end of the corridor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aconcagua2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown., We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and our evening managers reception. We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you are in the area. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san bruno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

this hotel was clean, well kept and the staff was GREAT! The complimentary breakfast was good with the fresh fruit and egg dishes. Staff went out of their way to meet their customers needs and the rooms were clean and updated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are happy to hear that our staff went out of their way to ensure you had a great stay. We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're in the Gainesville area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful wedding weekend in a beautiful downtown hotel! The hotel location was perfect, within walking distance too many great businesses. The staff was professional, courteous and friendly.
Quickest valet service! The facility was modern and well maintained with many amenities. I would recommend this Hampton to family and friends!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful stay during such a special event. We hope you will visit us again the next time you're in the Gainesville area. Thanks again for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel was very nice, besides a slightly musky and humid room. The smell could only be avoided by making the room too cold to enjoy. All in all though it was very clean and nice finishes. The fitness center was nice. The location great for a visit to Gainesville. Very close to the best restaurants in town and night life venues.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HISGNV, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thanks so much for letting us know about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites Gainesville Downtown. Unfortunately, being in Florida during the summer time comes with extreme heat and humidity. I'm sorry that you had issues with making the room comfortable but I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us otherwise. Hopefully when you visit again the weather will be a bit more cooperative. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gainesville hotels
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Gainesville
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gainesville
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton University of Florida Conference Center Gainesville
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
SpringHill Suites Gainesville
#2 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Gainesville
Hampton Inn Gainesville
#7 of 45 in Gainesville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Address: 101 SE 1st Avenue, Gainesville, FL 32601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Gainesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gainesville
#5 Business Hotel in Gainesville
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gainesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville Downtown is situated in the heart of Downtown Gainesville's Historic District, and close to the University of Florida and Shands Healthcare. Our well-appointed 124 guestrooms including 27 spacious studio suites featuring the famous Cloud Nine bed, 37" HDTV in guestrooms & 42" HDTV in studio suites, and complimentary: high-speed internet access, "On the House" hot breakfast, local calls... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Gainesville-Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Hotel Gainesville
Hampton Inn & Suites Gainesville-Downtown Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing