We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean food, great flavors”
Review of Civilization

Civilization
Ranked #24 of 574 Restaurants in Gainesville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Civilization is a cooperatively run restaurant in a historic building near downtown Gainesville Florida. Our menu emphasizes foods from all over the world. In 2015, 67% of entrees sold were Vegetarian and 14% were Vegan. In that same year we purchased $23,047 worth of produce and breads from local farmers and bakers, $28,548 worth of sustainable fish and local clams, and $26,435 of non-produce organic ingredients. We are committed to composting and recycling.
Keystone Heights, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean food, great flavors”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

It is hard to find "clean" food these days . . . no preservatives, additives or steam tables!! Here you have it . . . great menu with a variety of vegetarian delights and a wide selection of wines and beverages that goes beyond the regular tea, coffee and coke. This location is an historical site reclaimed from the old days. Built in 1929 by Gulf Oil Company as a terminus for their rail-delivered petroleum. To quote their website this effort is to create a stable and prosperous business where management is democratically elected by all worker owners and everyone shares in the responsibility and the profits. The Civilization/Terranova Cooperative is dedicated to sourcing locally, operating sustainably, and providing great food in a relaxed atmosphere. You won't find better for miles (maybe never).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 78Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    36
    14
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot with Outdoor Seating”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great tasting food with more variety and healthy options than most lunch places. They also have plenty of parking and this place was hopping at lunch time. We had great service and everyone in the group took advantage of the ethnic options on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apopka, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Dancing Flavors!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The building, the food, the service....all of it made for a unique and wonderful experience. My wife and I travel a lot and it is hard to find food that is healthy, reasonably priced and prepared properly. Civilization does all that and more. Care is taken in preparing and presenting their dishes. The drinks are wonderful and reasonably priced. The roasted carrot bisque soup was very, very good. The fritters were absolutley the best ever....cheese and shredded zucchini lightly fried to crispy perfection. The terranova spreads were the best we have ever had. The blueberry crisp was the perfect dessert. All of that was only $41. We were full, had some leftovers to take home and had delicious flavors dancing in our mouths on the two hour drive home.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IAMAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for Brunch but SLOW service”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We go to Civilization at least once a month for dinner. We've always had excellent food and service. A few weeks ago we went for brunch on a Sunday and it was like the wait staff had turned into zombies! It was a beautiful day so we wanted to sit outside. There was a table available, but they couldn't seem to get it cleared and set up. Servers walked past the table multiple times. It got to be funny after a while.

The food is usually good here and our brunch was no exception. I had a sweet potato, ginger and carrot soup that was delicious. My husband had the Southwestern Black Beans and rice with 2 poached eggs. He loved it. My basil, goat cheese and red pepper omelet was great.

We over heard several diners say that orders had been forgotten, soups delivered after the meal, etc. The servers were nice about it, but it seemed like they just couldn't get it together. We had time for a leisurely brunch, but if this had been dinner we would have been there until midnight!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susanhgainesville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh and satisfying for vegans and all the test of us”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Lucky for us we did not have to wait long for a table. Good staff. So great potatoes app and guac too. Main coutses very well prepared and flavorful. Best to ask about possibly spicy plates when ordering. All ingredients are responsibly grown, mostly locally. Locals flock in and especially the youth. Go for it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stannie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Civilization also viewed

 

Been to Civilization? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing