We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cucumber water!”
Review of Cafe C - CLOSED

Cafe C
Price range: US$7 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe C is a small local Cafe that serves amazing fresh salads and sandwiches, as well as homemade soups and the best homemade double chocolate brownies you have ever tasted! We have the best staff in town and our place is colorful and cozy. We add a Buffet on Wednesdays that's loaded with soul food, barbecue and other delicious lunch goodies! We are owned by Celebrations Catering, and we are able to rent our space after 3pm for parties, meetings and events.
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

As always, I use tripadvisor to locate new and unique places as my wife and I travel. This place had my wife from the moment she stepped into the door and was offered cucumber water and lemon. Great food, great customer service!

Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Sounds like the cucumber water with lemon was a great start to a great meal with us, Danny. I'm really glad to hear that TripAdvisor led you to our cafe as well. Hope to see you two back next time you're in Gainesville! -- Best, Leah, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

The location of Cafe C, across the street from the Police Station, might be described as a less-than-ideal neighborhood, but the food is tasty. The house Club sandwich is an unusual take on this classic, and one of our favorites. The service is quick and friendly, and the menu extensive. We must go again soon to extend our experience with the range of dishes available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank George E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Glad to hear you like our spin on the Club Sandwich, George. What are you looking forward to trying next time? We can't wait to welcome you back for another bite! -- Best wishes, Leah, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I had heard great things about Cafe C from friends, but do not get to go out to lunch very often. I got the opportunity to go and am glad I did. I had the meat me for lunch sandwich and my wife had the walter smith ciabatta. They both looked so good that we shared half with each other. The meat me for lunch had a spicey mustard on it that was excellent. The walter smith came with apples and cinnamon. They were both wonderful. The people at Cafe C are friendly and helpful. It is a locally owned small restaurant that has indoor and outdoor seating. The food was great the people were local and friendly, and I will go back as soon as I get the chance

Thank fozzybear10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

We're glad you decided to go out for lunch too! Sharing is always a great way to go, so we're glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed the Meat Me For Lunch and Walter Smith sandwiches. We're already looking forward to your next visit -- can't wait to make some more delicious sandwiches for you two! -- Best wishes, Leah, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We were so disappointed that we couldn't get into another popular Gainesville restaurant for brunch. But, a member of our group suggested Cafe C. What a great idea. We absolutely LOVED Cafe C. Not only was the all you can eat brunch buffet AWESOME, the ambience was great, and the staff were the friendliest ever. We stumbled upon a real jewel. We are looking forward to our next trip to Gainesville so we can return to Cafe C.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roxieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Sorry your first plan didn't work out, but I think we'll both agree that it worked out in the end! Happy to hear you enjoyed the Sunday brunch. Was there anything in particular in the buffet that stood out to you? We're looking forward to serving you on your next trip to Gainesville! -- Warm wishes, Leah, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Best Sunday Brunch in town. The food is delicious, good variety of items and friendly service. Outside seating is available to enjoy our beautiful Florida weather while dining. If you are looking for a great place to bring family and friends, this is it !!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MMWIZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leah S, Owner at Cafe C, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

You've done a great job of capturing the experience of our cafe -- thanks for sharing it on TripAdvisor. Sounds like you've been to the Sunday Brunch a few times. Got any favorite brunch items you look forward to each week? The weather's looking pretty good this Sunday, so we hope to see you on our outdoor patio this week! -- Until next time, Leah, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe C also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing